We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Stay Here Again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never Stay Here Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed here from June 13th to June 15th and found the location of the resort to be great (right on the beach!). The pool area and hot tub were nice. However, I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone or ever stay here again. The people working here (possibly the owners too) were very rude. It seemed difficult for them to crack a smile! This is your livelihood! Time for a change!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the service at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. The owners do not work on property, however all the staff members do want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I will make sure to speak with our staff and find out where our service fell short. I do hope that you give us another chance to meet your lodging needs in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    110
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
136
126
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just spent four day over Memorial Day weekend. Can let older children play on beach and watch from balcony. Peaceful, staff friendly, housekeeping could have been better - towels not replenished adequately and very important to me, coffee and cups not replenished daily. Plan to go again - very few places where you can stay right on beach in Maine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. I apologize that the towels were not replenished adequately. In our rooms we leave one towel per person, however extras can be requested from the housekeeper or the front desk staff. If the towels are hung, then they will not be changed in accordance to our “green” policy. The coffee cups should have been replaced daily and I apologize for the oversight. There are extra supplies at the front desk and we are happy to deliver if you find you may need anything in the future. We look forward to hosting your future stay with us, and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

just came back from our third time staying at the Lafayette Hotel. It is such a special place. Clean simple room. nothing over the top. friendly staff. amazing views. The water comes right up to the building at high tide. Fall asleep to the sound of the waves and wake up to beautiful sunrises. You can bring you bike and ride along the hard packed sand or Sit on your patio or balcony and watch your kids play in the sand. We love going in the early fall or late spring when the place is empty and we have the beach to ourselves. Also tons of great restaurants within a 10 min drive. Ogunquit or Kenneybunkport. In short its a great little hotel on a great little beach.

Room Tip: anything that faces the water. same view 2nd floor or ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. Our housekeeping staff strives to provide the cleanest room possible for our guests. We are happy that you enjoyed the area and look forward to hosting your for your fourth visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been going here for years, and it just gets better. They are always improving the rooms to make it more enjoyable , although I think it's perfect as is. My only hotel I will stay in. Love it. The views from the balcony is breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbiLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to hosing in you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

For three spring days and nights we enjoyed staying at the Lafayette, a complex of buildings on Wells Beach. The second story waterfront room was comfortable, updated and clean and offered expansive views. Soundproofing could be improved. It was a good location for a spring getaway and the offseason discount made it affordable. Summer rates would be much higher though would be worth it, great place for families. I could easily return.

Room Tip: Second story is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freerider49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. Our nine buildings offer you a wide range of options including the oceanfront, to economy-sized room in the back. We will look into additional sound proofing for future renovations. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We like to stay at the Lafayette not only because it's right on the beach but because it is central to places we like to go. We like to eat at The Steakhouse, Congdon's Doughnuts, and The Maine Diner. We like to drive the scenic route through Kennebunkport.

Room Tip: If you're tight on money, you might consider staying in one of the two rooms below ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Lafaytte’s Oceanfront Resort. 9B and 10B, located in the Annex are good options for those traveling on a budget. These two rooms feature a queen sized bed and Kitchenette. They are located on the lower level, but have easy access to the oceanfront patio. Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we look forward to hosing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starksboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I spent our first vacation together at Lafayette's 14 years ago. 10 years ago in September we celebrated our honeymoon, and 7 years ago we began visiting with our children. We love it here and will continue to visit each year. Most recently we stayed the weekend of May 17th and will be going again Memorial Weekend.

We have stayed in several different rooms/buildings over the years. They all are very different. Some are more updated than others but all are clean and comfortable. The staff has always been pleasant and willing to help with what ever we need.

For the first time last year we rented one of their houses. We loved it so much we will be renting it again in September for a week.

You couldn't ask for a better location. The beach, arcade and playground (which could use some work) make it the ideal place for families to visit. My children (ages 7 and 3) love it as much as I do. For those with kids the close vicinity of everything to the rooms is an extra selling point with kids.

While I would like more upgrades to the rooms (some of the bed linens really need upgrading), the hotel works on something every year.

I highly recommend this hotel to everyone, singles, dating, married and families alike.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your continued patronage to Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to provide you with the best possible service as well as a spotless rooms. As for our bed linens, we are in the process of replacing all bedding in all buildings. The Deluxe building received upgraded linens last year and the Ledgeview building will be getting new linens for this summer. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to hosing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
10.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Property: Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing