We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Place Ever”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wonderful location right on the beach; Courteous and efficient staff; Extremely clean and well kept; Elevator for those l-o-n-g trips upstairs; Indoor pool; Free internet connection; What more could you ask for???

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lea061973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort, and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly looking at ways to improve the experience for our guests. The addition to the elevator in the Driftwinds building has been a long time coming, and we are happy that you were able to take advantage of it. Looking forward to hosting you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently returned from a four day stay at Lafayette's in Wells, Maine. We stayed in the Oxcart Lane section. The rooms in this section are not updated, but are always clean and well equipped. The updated bathroom is nice, but should have a ceiling fan installed for moisture issues. I have one complaint and one other suggestion. The beds need replacing. They were very hard and uncomfortable. I would suggest a microwave be put in the room. I am not sure if the stairs at the entrance to the beach are the property of the Hotel/Resort or the Town of Wells, but they are in need of repair and rocks should be removed at the base of them. It is a hazard for elderly or for people with small children. Our daughter had her son in a stroller and it was very difficult to get it and him up and down the stairs. Maybe a ramp could be built on one side to accomodate elderly, disabled or families with little children. The pool, the employees and the rest of the resort was terrific. Thank you again for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ledgeview are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are constantly striving to update and refurbish the property. Since this is a seasonal building we do not have fans, rather there is a small window to allow for ventilation in the bathrooms. We do plan on adding microwaves, however we must first accommodate for the extra electricity in the infrastructure. Many beds are replaced every year as part of plan of constant refurbishment. Again, thank you for your input and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great little resort with access to the beach. However, the balcony rooms need to fix the railing; two rows of pipe railing is not safe for kids of any age. Fix that before something bad happens. Otherwise, for the value not too bad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I would NEVER come here again!

1. We were promised an oceanfront room, showed up and got a parking lot view room. They did nothing about this besides to say, "we would never have promised you that."

2. Went to go to bed the first night and our bed was covered in sand. We asked them to change the sheets the following day: they were still covered in sand.

3. Went to take a shower the next morning, the water came out brown. Their response, "just let it run and it will be fine." Fabulous.

4. Room barely went below 78% humidity the entire time we were there.

We would immediately leave if we were not in town for a wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cswartz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, General Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

I am so sorry that you are disappointed in your room. We have a variety of room types here with many different prices. Some of our rooms are on the water and others are in the back without a view. I checked with the front desk and you were offered a different room but you choose not to change.
I checked with the housekeeper who cleaned your room each day and she has changed the bedspread, the blanket and the linens every day. I do not know why there would continue to be sand in your bed.
As you know, the weather has not been great the past two days and the humidity has been high because of the rain and the temperatures. The air conditioner in your room can help to control the humidity in the room. It is a new air conditioner with a temperature setting that you control. If you should need assistance operating it, please call the front desk and let us know.
I checked with maintenance about the water and the water company had done some work in the area which caused some water discoloration. Usually, running the water allows it to clear and we have been assured by the water company that it is safe.
We saw many of the wedding guests getting ready to leave for the wedding and everyone looked beautiful. We hope that everyone had a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The room is nice and comes with a reasonable number of amenities. Kudos to Maria from housekeeping for an excellent job. This is not a five star resort. It's a well run beachside hotel and you're paying for the easy access to the beach and the sound of the waves right outside. We've been coming here for years and have another stay scheduled for mid-August. Room rates seem to be getting a bit out of reach (300 bucks a night) so we'll probably have to look for different accommodations next year.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Ima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We do appreciate your continued patronage throughout the years. Our nine buildings offer you a wide range of options including the oceanfront, to economy-sized room in the back. In our off-season our rates are much lower and the experience is the same. We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I can not understand how this resort is not the #1 in Wells. This has been a wonderful experience all around. It started with calling for reservations. The woman I spoke with was so kind and suggested the perfect room for my family. We had room 258 in the Ledgeview building. Balcony overlooking the ocean. I sat for hours enjoying the view and listening to the waves. Easy access to the beach for long walks. The room was recently remodeled and was very nice and welcoming. Elevator in the building. Large indoor pool and hot tube also in the building. The hot tube was incredible with waterfall feature. The whole family enjoyed the pool. Very quiet premises. And for exploring all the area towns the trolley ran by the building every 20 minutes. I absolutely hate to leave but know that this is a place I will have to return to. Thank you to all the wonderful staff we met here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoiaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff strives to make your vacation a full experience and give you memories to last a lifetime. Thank you for your stay, and we hope to be part of your future travel plans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Loved the view. Listening to the waves at night was great. Room was just what we needed,shower and beds that were very comfortable. I can't think of anything alse we needed,there were alot of great resturants in close distance.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view if you can!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us on Wells Beach. Our goal is to make sure that every aspect of your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to hosting your vacation in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
883 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 29 in Wells
440 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 29 in Wells
369 reviews
0.9 mi away
USA Inn
USA Inn
#17 of 29 in Wells
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range: £37 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing