We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Footbridge North Hotel(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elmwood Resort Hotel(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacoast Motel(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USA Inn(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Rose Inn(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village by the Sea(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
214
120
26
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
120
26
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh tideoceanfront roomoff seasonwells beachpanorama buildingdifferent buildingsocean viewindoor poolmain buildingtidal poolshear the wavesopen year roundgas fireplacebeen coming here for yearsslidershot tublove this place
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

it was great to be right on the beach. The pool was nice and relaxing! parking was great and we didn't have to walk too far to get to our room.The room was very comfortable and we were glad to have internet connection.The staff was very courteous and friendly! We have stayed here several times in the past but the beachfront lodge was the best! See you next year

Room Tip: Choose the beachfront lodge because you're right on the beach
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort, and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly looking at ways to improve the experience for our guests. The addition to the elevator in the Driftwinds building has been a long time coming, and we are happy that you were able to take advantage of it. Looking forward to hosting you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wonderful location right on the beach; Courteous and efficient staff; Extremely clean and well kept; Elevator for those l-o-n-g trips upstairs; Indoor pool; Free internet connection; What more could you ask for???

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lea061973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Public Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort, and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly looking at ways to improve the experience for our guests. The addition to the elevator in the Driftwinds building has been a long time coming, and we are happy that you were able to take advantage of it. Looking forward to hosting you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently returned from a four day stay at Lafayette's in Wells, Maine. We stayed in the Oxcart Lane section. The rooms in this section are not updated, but are always clean and well equipped. The updated bathroom is nice, but should have a ceiling fan installed for moisture issues. I have one complaint and one other suggestion. The beds need replacing. They were very hard and uncomfortable. I would suggest a microwave be put in the room. I am not sure if the stairs at the entrance to the beach are the property of the Hotel/Resort or the Town of Wells, but they are in need of repair and rocks should be removed at the base of them. It is a hazard for elderly or for people with small children. Our daughter had her son in a stroller and it was very difficult to get it and him up and down the stairs. Maybe a ramp could be built on one side to accomodate elderly, disabled or families with little children. The pool, the employees and the rest of the resort was terrific. Thank you again for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ledgeview are nice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are constantly striving to update and refurbish the property. Since this is a seasonal building we do not have fans, rather there is a small window to allow for ventilation in the bathrooms. We do plan on adding microwaves, however we must first accommodate for the extra electricity in the infrastructure. Many beds are replaced every year as part of plan of constant refurbishment. Again, thank you for your input and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great little resort with access to the beach. However, the balcony rooms need to fix the railing; two rows of pipe railing is not safe for kids of any age. Fix that before something bad happens. Otherwise, for the value not too bad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I would NEVER come here again!

1. We were promised an oceanfront room, showed up and got a parking lot view room. They did nothing about this besides to say, "we would never have promised you that."

2. Went to go to bed the first night and our bed was covered in sand. We asked them to change the sheets the following day: they were still covered in sand.

3. Went to take a shower the next morning, the water came out brown. Their response, "just let it run and it will be fine." Fabulous.

4. Room barely went below 78% humidity the entire time we were there.

We would immediately leave if we were not in town for a wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cswartz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megciamomwells, General Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

I am so sorry that you are disappointed in your room. We have a variety of room types here with many different prices. Some of our rooms are on the water and others are in the back without a view. I checked with the front desk and you were offered a different room but you choose not to change.
I checked with the housekeeper who cleaned your room each day and she has changed the bedspread, the blanket and the linens every day. I do not know why there would continue to be sand in your bed.
As you know, the weather has not been great the past two days and the humidity has been high because of the rain and the temperatures. The air conditioner in your room can help to control the humidity in the room. It is a new air conditioner with a temperature setting that you control. If you should need assistance operating it, please call the front desk and let us know.
I checked with maintenance about the water and the water company had done some work in the area which caused some water discoloration. Usually, running the water allows it to clear and we have been assured by the water company that it is safe.
We saw many of the wedding guests getting ready to leave for the wedding and everyone looked beautiful. We hope that everyone had a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews