We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a very clean and pretty room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great price for a very clean and pretty room.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at how cute our Queen room was. Looks like they've been updating. The colors were very pleasant and fresh. Bathroom was a good size and the shower was bigger than most I've seen at similar places! They just got Direct TV installed when we got here so that was another great surprise.

Walls are thin, but that's the same at most places and the bed had a soft spot in the middle but I find that in many places too.

The service is excellent, owners are super friendly, location is great the price was excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VCRiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the kind words. You are correct, we've updated the "front five" bathrooms will all new showers, sinks and toilets and expanded the space. Also added flat screens to all the motel rooms this year. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    72
    28
    15
    3
See reviews for
81
92
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great price. We were just "passing-thru" on our way to Acadia. It was conveniently located and very clean. The rooms are dated and basic, but I understand it was new owners this year. I will state again that it was very clean. Nice pool and very helpful owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for the review. We appreciate you noticing the the work we put in to ensure the cleanliness of the rooms. I hope you have a chance to return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a very clean, well maintained property with very personable owners who seem to be truly interested in their lodgers receiving value for their money. Our room was basic but had everything necessary to make our stay enjoyable. The bed and pillows were good as were the linens. The bathroom was dated but in excellent repair. My only complaint is that our room had a stall shower that was so small that it was impossible to get out of the shower spray to soap up but that was a minor inconvenience.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
What a nice review. Thank you so much for noticing so much of our property. Some of the rooms do have smaller showers (this is an area we are looking to improve). Hopefully there will be some pleasant surprises in the near future for return guests in our king or queen rooms in the front motel. Hope to see you next year! Kind Regards, John & Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A truly wonderful place! Planned to stay only for one night but extended it for 2 nights due to the great place, atmosphere, location, and people. Upon check-in Cynthia was very helpful and provided lots of information as to places to go, see, and eat. They have REAL non-smoking rooms (not like some motels that just cover up the smell). The rooms, bathroom, and towels very clean and in good condition. The husband/wife own this place and take great care of it. This was the best place I have stayed on my trip and will come back here the next time I am in the area. Great price, place, and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
MichaelA ~ I'm glad that you waited to post your review. Your review makes me feel good because I know you have other locations to compare us to. So, thank you for taking the time and for your kindness. We have been working hard these past few weeks, and I have fallen somewhat behind on my responses to guest reviews. It is a blessing to read such positive feedback from our guests...hard work does pay off :-) We try to do right by all our guests and to get to know them while they are here. A few come and go quietly and others we get to know a little bit. Glad we got to chat when you were here and that you enjoyed your stay. John & Cynthia'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Originally booked for two nights but ended up staying an extra night as felt so comfortable here.

The room we stayed in had two double beds, table with two chairs , microwave, fridge, free wifi, TV and clean and tidy bathroom.

The owners couldn't be more helpful giving us maps and recommendations. The only problem we had was the fact we were using public transport and this stops in wells at the beginning of September but we soon got round that by hiring bikes at the shop opposite for two days. we managed to see both local towns and everywhere we went had bike racks. There is a supermarket very close and also a pizza and pasta restaurant opposite. Honestly can't fault this place, a brilliant stay :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank westhamutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Originally booked for two nights but ended up staying an extra night as felt so comfortable here.

The room we stayed in had two double beds, table with two chairs , microwave, fridge, free wifi, TV and clean and tidy bathroom.

The owners couldn't be more helpful giving us maps and recommendations. The only problem we had was the fact we were using public transport and this stops in wells at the beginning of September but we soon got round that by hiring bikes at the shop opposite for two days. we managed to see both local towns and everywhere we went had bike racks. There is a supermarket very close and also a pizza and pasta restaurant opposite. Honestly can't fault this place, a brilliant stay :)

There is nothing more I can 'add' to your reivew - you've hit every 'nail' on the head. We enjoyed meeting you both and did see you riding those bikes around town! Not only did you get to see the beauty of Wells and the surrounding areas but you also got some good exercise while you were at it. That just means you can eat more delicious, local food while you are here! Happy travels, as I know they are continuing! Warmest wishes ~ John & Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and were pleased with our choice. Although in need of modernisation our cottage was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable and for the price it was well worth the money. Cynthia couldn't do enough for us and gave us plenty of tips on where to visit and where to eat. Highly recommended and we hope Cynthia enjoyed the English tea we left for her!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Over the course of your stay we got to know each other pretty well. You know I DO LOVE TEA. Thank you for remembering that and for leaving me some robust English tea! I appreciate when guests notice the cleanliness. Our floors are all hand-washed / sanitized upon new guest arrival. Glad you ventured out and about to see the beauty which Wells, Maine has to offer! Thank you again for your kind review. Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Not the fanciest place but clean and comfortable we got a good night sleep for a reasonable amount of money and I was satisfied
Had a nice chat with the owners at check in and they were very pleasant and interested in our comfort
It is a good location and I would not hesitate to go back.
I did stay in the newer 2 story building in the back and not in the cottages at the road side and can not comment on them

Room Tip: try the rooms in the back building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I appreciate your direct, and balanced approach in your review. We try ourselves to balance the value for the traveler's dollar with what we have to offer. We are a solid choice for staying in Wells, Maine and hope to see you next year! ~John & Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.1 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#13 of 28 in Wells
152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Majestic Regency
Majestic Regency
#17 of 28 in Wells
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast Village Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Property: The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Address: 876 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4106
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coast Village Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 3.5 acres of beautifully landscaped property, The Coast Village Inn & Cottages is located in the quaint seaside town of Wells, Maine. A short trolley ride from Wells Beach, we offer a range of accommodations including guest rooms, vacation suites and private cottages. Our beautiful gardens feature a zero entry outdoor pool as well as a picnic and grilling area; the perfect place to gather and relax with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Coast Village Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Village Inn And Cottages
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Hotel Wells
The Coast Village Hotel
The Coast Village Motel
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing