We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Clean, Family Run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, Family Run”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just happened to stay here one night back in June on a last minute decision to go to Maine. We were pleasantly surprised that the room was very clean, and the beds had memory foam so were comfortable. We decided to stay again when we wanted to go back recently for a week. We chose a different room as we wanted a kitchenette. We had the Sunflower Suite. This was a very nice unit - again very clean and bright looking. The only 2 down sides were that the mattress was not a memory foam, so we ended up going to get a foam bed topper so we would be comfortable - a personal preference due to past back issues from other hotel mattresses. The other down side was the stairs (this was an upstairs unit). They are steep and narrow, so not recommended for older people or people with hip/knee/leg issues! I would stay at this hotel again, but would forgo the upstairs unit for that reason only.

Room Tip: Some rooms have the memory foam mattresses, some do not. The Pineapple room is overlooking route 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medora58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    64
    26
    13
    3
See reviews for
74
85
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratton, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent one night at Coastal Village Inn this past weekend. I have always wanted to stay at a cottage in Maine. Had no idea what it would be like. We stayed in Cottage #5. I think it was being renovated and still needs a few things. I believe when the renovation is complete, it will be a nice place to stay. It had a kitchen with a table that you could watch the tv that was sitting on the refrigerator. In the bedroom there was a piece of furniture for the television to be fitted into but they needed electricity. It was decorated in a cottage style. We stayed at this property a few years ago in one of their rooms. It was nice which is why we thought we would stay there again. The grounds are very nice with a pool and nice landscaping.

Room Tip: The hotel is on Rt 1 but our cottage was #5 down a little hill. There wasn't any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We travel to the Ogunquit/Wells area every year and tend to stay in different locations based on price and when we book. This year my wife found The Coast Village Inn & Cottages and shared the reviews with me, we took a gamble that paid back greatly. We booked the Sand Dollar Suite, which was plenty large enough for our family of three. The room was part of the original farm house built in 1880 and had wonderful character. As you walked in to the kitchen it was large with a table in the middle, full fridge, stove and dishwasher. It was an open concept into the living room which had a pull out sofa (didn't use) and in the front of the house was the bedroom with two queens and still tons of space. The suite had a rather small bathroom, but not a big issue considering how much time you really spend in it, and just opposite was the shower stall. Despite the size of each, both were just fine, and worked well for my family. The back had a private deck, and large grassy areas which many families used for soccer or wiffle ball and didn't impact others. There were two grills which we used 4 nights of the 7. The pool area was perfect for after the ocean. We never used the fire pit, but plenty did and looked like fun. The staff was extremely friendly, the owners of two years were wonderful and made our stay in the area perfect. We did have the opportunity to see other rooms based on my mother-in-law stayed for a few nights and they looked fine and she was comfortable in the two rooms she had. She had to move based on full capacity as she came for an extra unexpected night.
I would recommend the Coast Village to anyone, and I think we just found a new place to stay for a while. Despite being 10-15 minutes from Ogunquit Beach, we enjoyed being away from the hussle of downtown, and liked we were close by other activities and our favorite ice cream the Scoop Deck! If you like Wells Beach, its just a mile away.
Thanks for a great week!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have been staying at the Coast Village Inn & Cottages for about 10 years. This year we were pleasantly surprised by the remodeling in our favorite cottage. The old claw-foot leaking tub was replaced with a walk in shower that was lovely. The bathroom sink was repositioned and the bathroom didn't feel as cramped. The beds were comfortable and the cottage was clean.

The owner helped with our requests, such as replacing a missing bulb and cable guide list.

The pool is one of the best features with a gradual (sandy-feeling) incline instead of stairs that someone with a cane could use and cement benches on the sides of the deeper end.

My only request is for some tables with umbrellas or a canopy for shade near the pool such as the bbq area aready has.

Room Tip: WiFi and TV cable went out frequently during stormy days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StarWarsChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here since July of 2008 when we got married and The Coast Village Inn accommodated our wedding party. For the past two years for our anniversary we stayed in the pineapple suite and we love this room! We really enjoyed our stay. Both nights we used the gas fire place that was out back :-)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAAGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 5 April 2015
Happy Anniversary! It is so nice to hear when guests continue to return year after year. We are happy to know that you have such a fond attachment to The Coast Village Inn. The Pineapple Suite is an excellent choice for an anniversary celebration. The fire pit outback was a new amenity for this past season and has really proven to be quite a popular place to make some new memories and meet new friends! Hope to see you this coming season. Kind Regards, Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The folks running this hotel make it extra special...just great people. The hotel itself is quiet and charming. Quilts for bed covers and the New England thing. Really enjoyed ourselves for 2 nights. Would go back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff. Everyone works hard to make our guests stay and experience relaxing and enjoyable. We look forward to your return. Warm Regards, Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WOONSOCKET
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and were very pleased! The room was large and clean, the bed was comfortable, we were far enough back from Route 1 that we didn't hear any traffic noises at all, and the owners were very kind and helpful. They also have lovely grounds, and a swimming pool which looked tempting but we didn't try it out. We had never heard of this place until we read about it here - I love TripAdvisor's feature which finds places with rooms available on the nights you need lodging for - and we were very glad we tried it and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. It pleases us to know when guests take notice to the amenities we offer and the cleanliness provided by our housekeeping staff. Not using the pool area during this stay is reason enough to return to enjoy this area during your next stay. We appreciate you keeping us in mind for your future travel to Wells, Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
721 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.2 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.6 mi away
Belle of Maine
Belle of Maine
#21 of 28 in Wells
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coast Village Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Property: The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Address: 876 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4106
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coast Village Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 3.5 acres of beautifully landscaped property, The Coast Village Inn & Cottages is located in the quaint seaside town of Wells, Maine. A short trolley ride from Wells Beach, we offer a range of accommodations including guest rooms, vacation suites and private cottages. Our beautiful gardens feature a zero entry outdoor pool as well as a picnic and grilling area; the perfect place to gather and relax with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coast Village Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Village Inn And Cottages
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Hotel Wells
The Coast Village Hotel
The Coast Village Motel
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing