We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, amenities, comforts of home so close to the beach”

Bellevue By The Sea
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellevue By The Sea
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We've stayed at the Bellevue a few times over the years and tried some other spots as well, but we keep coming back and always have the best time here. The price is amazing for what you get. It's so nice to be close to the ocean even in the cooler seasons and the indoor pool makes you feel completely on vacation no matter the weather. It also saves a ton in the summer when parking is at a premium; it's even closer to the beach than one of the town beach parking lots. There is only one parking space per unit and definitely no extra spots, so plan accordingly.

All of the front desk people we've encountered have been very nice and accommodating, especially Donna stands out, as others have mentioned. The lobby is beautiful and every room we've stayed in reasonably current looking and perfectly clean. I've stayed at much higher-end hotels when traveling for work that weren't as updated. The rooms here are each decorated very differently but I rather like a little variety instead of the institutional hotel decor. It feels much more like the comforts of home at the Bellevue and the kids always settle in quickly, especially with the chance to play in the pool!

We most recently stayed in 202 upstairs in the main building and were delighted to find it had a pull-down ("murphy?") extra twin bed. Like a pull-out sofa, it doesn't have the thickest mattress, but it's great for kids and they love that it folds up. I think that was our 7-year-old's favorite part of the trip! That plus the full sofa bed meant each kid got their own sleeping space and us parents had a quiet bedroom all to ourselves! There was even an air mattress in the closet, which we didn't need, but I guess a big group could get 6 people in there if they wanted to. The two TVs were really nice so everyone got to watch their favorite show in the evening, and we had DVDs for the kids as an extra option. I love the little charms of having board games and books available in the room, you just don't get that at a lot of places.

The kitchen was pretty functional for a small space and we found everything we needed to make a few meals. The cookware and even plates can be a little mismatched but it kind of added to the charm of the place. I imagine a lot gets broken and replaced over time and at least we weren't short on anything.

Our kids' favorite part is the pool and I rather like the hot tub. The pool area has gotten a lot nicer than I first remember it (it was okay back in the day, but now is cleaner and brighter). I think they refinished the inside of the pool itself, too. It's just big enough for the kids to play in the shallow end and adults to swim laps through to the deep end. No diving. It's nice and warm even when you can look out the windows to snow or rain, which is kind of neat. I always feel badly for the people walking by that don't get to enjoy the pool! There's also a sauna although I haven't used it myself.

There's also a room downstairs with space to play games, with more books and videos for everyone. There's even a pool table we could use for free. The kids thought that was pretty cool until they realized they needed to get a little taller to play effectively! I like that you have plenty of privacy but also the chance to meet other people and get the kids out of the room even if you're staying in for the night. I'd love to come back a few mores times with just my hubby for a couple's weekend, and I think it would be just as enjoyable if not more (but don't tell the kids)!

Room Tip: 202 is great with the extra space and even a tiny ocean view from the balcony! I can't remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rina581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Four of us stayed at one of the cottages at the Bellevue. The resort has a main complex with motel/hotel room, as well as a few cottages. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

The cottages are typical for the area, in that they are quite cozy (small), but have everything you need. There is a bathroom with shower, full kitchen, small living room and two bedrooms (one with one queen bed, and one with two twin beds). Some people complain

Staying at a cottage within a resort has a few benefits that one doesn't get at other small cottages in the area. At the Bellevue, everyone gets maid service daily. There is also a nearby office that is open everyday until 9pm, should you need anything. There is coffee offered in the early morning. There is a pool, jacuzzi and sauna area you have access to. You don't have to bring your own sheets for the beds, toilet paper or towels for showering. There is no commuting between cottage and office to pick up/return keys. It's all very convenient.

The only drawbacks to staying at a cottage in a resort compound, are that there is not as much space. There is no barbecue, and the parking space/parking area is a bit cramped. I think you could fit two small cars in the spot, but there is no additional parking available to you. The cottages also didn't have any of the beach items that other cottages we have rented have had lying around (beach chairs, parasols, etc.), but we always bring our own anyway.

As for anything else....Wifi was available, but often down. Those who are familiar with the area, know that the resort in general, is a few minutes walk to the beach. It is within walking distance to the beach shops, snack bars, etc. but driving is required to get to the grocery store (you could walk, but with grocery bags in hand, it would be awkward), and most area restaurants.

The beach is the main attraction, but outlet shopping in Kittery is a must, and about 20 minutes away.

Any questions...just ask.

Room Tip: Cottages can accommodate 4 people comfortably. All cottages seem to be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anamebyanyothername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just got back from a wonderful one night stay at the Bellevue. The room was excellent & very clean. It had everything we needed & more. A woman named Donna worked the front desk & she made the stay even more enjoyable. She was very sweet & helpful & always addressed me by my first name. She was also very sweet to my children & listened to them tell her stories about their day at the beach. My 5 year old had just learned to swim under water & told Donna all about it & Donna told her when she saw her at the pool she would come in & see how well she could go under water & sure enough she kept to her word & came into the pool area & praised the kids on their swimming skills. The pool was beautiful the Jacuzzi was ok. It is the type of jacuzzi someone would purchase to put outdoors. It is an above ground unit not in ground like most hotels would have but I was happy that they at least had one. It is always nice to be able to soak in the jacuzzi after chilly windy day at the beach.
My only complains would be more about some of the other people staying there. There was a group of 5 Canadian adults ( at least I assume they were since allot of canadians travel to maine & they were speaking french) at the pool while the children were swimming. My daughter is young & wearing arm floaties which makes it obvious that she can not swim well on her own yet. This group was careless of the children in the pool and came very close to my daughter while they were apparently having races swimming back & forth in the pool with no care or concern to look out for the 3 children that were in the pool. My other complaint was at 1am the people in the room above us sounded like they were rearranging furniture. The noise continued for approx. 20 mins. I guess no matter where you stay you never know what type of people will also be there at that time & you just hope they are respectful. Last minor complaint is there is a very late check in time! The check in time is 3pm & check out is at 10 am.
All in all I did enjoy my stay at the Bellevue very much & absolutely plan on returning! Excellent place to get away. We were all sad to leave & head back home. Thank you Donna for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessMommy306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just came back the other day. Stayed in room 106 with husband and daughter. It was much more spacious feeling than most motel rooms. Clean room with just a few
out dated fixtures. Could use a new bathroom floor and rug. Other than those small
things, I must say it had everything you need for a nice getaway. Good size refrig, and stove if you wanted to cook something. Toaster and microwave were very useful. We are already talking about going back next year and staying longer too.
Beats other newer hotels that are not as close to the beach. Being able to walk to the beach in 2 minutes was the best!!!! We enjoyed our little porch at night as well. I Suggest you stay in the main building. Just seems like a better feel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Checkout website to pick your room before booking. Every room is slightly different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Good size rooms, fully equipped kitchenette, very nice staff, steps from the ocean, you can't do any better! I love going there during winter or spring or summer.... The ocean is always beautiful, the people fabulous. I just love it!

Room Tip: Rooms are very different from each other - please take the time to ask questions when making reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MALLARD22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Very unreasonable cancellation policy. You can't book a room without paying for at least one nights stay. I needed to cancel 2 weeks before my visit and even though it was 2 weeks away they kept $50 of my deposit!!! Don't risk it unless you have trip insurance!!!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This place was recently renovated. The new management was a definite improvement over the previous one. It's true that some of the rooms are smaller, but all are in various stages of improvement. If you can, stay in a loft unit. We stayed in #203 which was very comfortable. Front desk and housekeeping were outstanding.

Room Tip: See review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paladin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.2 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 29 in Wells
440 reviews
1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
885 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Misty Harbor Resort
Misty Harbor Resort
#2 of 29 in Wells
736 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 29 in Wells
369 reviews
2.5 mi away
Majestic Regency
Majestic Regency
#16 of 29 in Wells
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue By The Sea

Address: 376 Mile Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4131
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
Price Range: £44 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bellevue By the Sea Condominiums is located on the southern Maine Coast, less than a block from Wells Beach, one of the nicest beaches on the East Coast. The Bellevue offers an indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna for you to enjoy and relax. The Bellevue is under new management and will endeavor to make your stay a most pleasant one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellevue By The Sea Hotel Wells
Bellevue By The Sea Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing