We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing special”
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Owners are warm and welcoming and go out of their way to offer assistance. My husband and I just returned from a quick get-away to visit friends in Maine & spent 3 nights (Wed-Fri) in the motel section with a small kitchenette with coffeemaker, toaster & mix & match supply of glasses, cups & utensils-great for families.. Unfortunately we never had a chance to try the pool or hot-tub that looked immaculate & well kept; Wed-Fri we enjoyed some pretty heavey rains, including heavy flooding Friday while attempting to visit LL Bean in Freeport!-sun finally started to break thru as we left on Saturday...
Hotel is convenient to everything; Room was very clean on arrival, but admit I was disappointed that room was not vaccumed during our stay; after 1st night when bed wasn't made up, we realized we had to make it ourselves and bed linens were never changed during our visit (not a big deal, just wish we'd known) - Also surprised that the rooms didn't have irons or ironing boards... Not sure we'd go back, there are so many other choices; we just need to book sooner tan 3-4 weeks for the busy summer season.. D & C from Arizona

  • Liked — having the kitchenette is always a plus
  • Disliked — no daily housekeeping (fresh bed linens, vacuum, bed being made)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsapassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    25
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2008

This is a clean and comfortable place to stay with very friendly owners. We tend to stay at top hotels & inns but this time we refused to pay the outrageous room rates that some places were charging. The Carriage House fit the bill very nicely for the two nights we were there. You won't get a piece of chocolate or a mint on your pillow but you will get a restful night's sleep and a pleasant place to relax after sightseeing, shopping, beach going, etc.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2008

Wells, Maine: The Carriage House
Date: 17 April 2008
Reviewer: Family McGann's, Montreal, Canada
You won't meet better owners than Sally and Bob! Superb central location. Great clean accomodations. As well, it seems that a good mix of guests are attracted to the Carriage House. A great place to bring your family and make memories. We aim to be down a long Canadian weekend this summer. Rambo Smacky wants to give up a trip to Ireland to go see you.....

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank McCanadaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2007

In September 2007, we stayed for 5 nights at The Carriage House and Motel in Wells, Maine.

Absolutely clean, well taken care rooms and grounds.

Excellent and warm welcome by the owners, Sally and Bob Subilia. Treated as part of the family.

Dreaming to go back.

Annette and Cliff

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The bathroom will be remade soon
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sainte-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westerly, ri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2007

Put simply Sally & Bob are just the most wonderful host and there home is down to earth and very well kept. The hot tub was a great experience especially at night. The only negative mark was with myself in that I had to cut short my stay with my girlfriend 1 day due to work and Sally was so great about it and refunded my $$$$ for the final night.
The suite that we stayed in was #26 - the view was beautiful and you can see the ocean in the distance. And yes I am a sports freak and the tv channel selection is incredible. I have stayed in many hotels and no one compares to Bob & Sally in what they offer for tv channels.
AAAAAAAAAAAAA experience and WE WILL return !!!!!

  • Liked — Sally & Bob - great host
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ndbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

I recentley stayed at the Carriage house for a week in a 1 bedroom cottage # 3. I was not happy with the cottage. It was not nice at all and I felt that it smelled funny. The bathroom was very small and near the tolet there was a soft spot and every time i steped in the area i felt like i was going to fall. The resort was ok I think maybe it was just the room we had becase i saw other rooms and they looked good.. The area was great to be in and it was easy to go all over becase of the location. I would not stay there a gain but it's true about the owners they are the nices people in the world

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank plm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Our second visit to the Carriage House was even better than our first. Bob and Sally Subilia welcomed us as they do every guest, with genuine warm and attention. They embrace their role as owners and Innkeepers with a passion, and it shows. The whole Carriage House complex is spotlessly clean, modern and well-maintained. We especially appreciated our stay in one of the newly renovated cottages. The screened-in veranda was a great spot to enjoy late evening reading or a glass of wine.
The Carriage House has appeal for both families and adult vacationers. Visiting kids enjoyed the basketball hoops and a well situated children’s play set while we lounged by the pool, tackled shuffleboard or soaked in the spa tub. There is even an on-site laundry which was handy.
The facility is close to Ogunquit and a trolley line and very driving to attractions along the Maine and MASS coast. We have already booked a return visit next year. I can’t wait. I highly recommend the Carriage House.
Mark Gregory

  • Liked — well appointed, clean, nicely priced, attentive staff
  • Disliked — No issues. They exceeded my expectations
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ACanuckToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.2 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

Property: Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Address: 1404 Post Rd, P.O. Box 988, Wells, ME 04090-4508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Wells
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing