We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Saint Georges, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I went there last summer with friends. Everything was pefect. We had the room in the roof with air conditionning. The pool is clean near of the steak house. We went to the Moody beach, the place beach in wells and ogunquit. This hotel is nice, friendly, quiet, clean and not too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verovx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    25
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

What a quaint place to stay. The owners are so nice and took care of everything we needed. My husband and I had such a great time in Wells. Thank you for having us we can't wait to come back! We will see you in September.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This motel is dated but clean. We stayed in the motel part but there are also small cottages on the premises. The main room is in good shape but our bathroom disappointed us. It was in serious need of an upgrade. The floor looked original to the building and was coming apart from the tub, the radiator was rusted, the tub was discolored and it was just unappealing. The sink has a very small area for necessities if that’s a concern for you. Bed was comfortable. It was inexpensive and the owners gave helpful suggestions for touring, and if it weren’t for the bathroom I would give it more stars. Unsure if I would stay again because of the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great location on Route 1 just north of Wells Beach. I stayed in a suite for 3 nights the week after Labor Day. Very clean and extremely comfortable. Husband and wife, Bob & Sally, are the owners who are ready and willing to help you with anything. Looks like a great spot for families with various sized cottages available. Great location for daytrips or just staying local.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at the Carriage house this weekend with the kids, it is located right off of Rt 1 so it's easy to find. When we first got there we were very early so after talking with Sally, we headed down the road to Kittery to do some shopping. When we got back we checked in and Sally was there again, she's one of the owners and was very nice. She told us where we could eat and things to do around the area, maps included. The hotel itself is well kept and very quiet. They had a small swing set which the kids seemed to like. The room had two queen beds and a small kitchenette, with a small TV. It was perfect for what we needed it for, which was just a couple of days, if we were staying for a long period of time I think we would have looked for a place that was a little more modern. The bathroom was very small and the beds seemed on the hard side, the decor was very dated, and the pool was small, but we we knew what we were renting so it didn't bother us to much. I think if your looking for just a quiet place to hang out for a few days this would be great, but if your planning an extended stay you may want to search else where.

Room Tip: It looked like cabin number 5 seemed to be newer and bigger then the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNNYB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just returned from our fifth stay at the Carriage House. Bob and Sally, our hosts offer great hospitality and value. Our accommodations were spotless, the surroundings quiet and restful, the staff were attentive and friendly and once more we found the site a perfect 'jumping-off' point for exploring the southern Maine coast. Can't wait to return in 2015 .

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness facility, but the owners can offer great referrals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACanuckToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Sally and her husband were amazing hosts. They made our entire wedding weekend stay perfect, accommodating a large group, and taking everything we asked for in stride and with a smile. Could not have asked for better hosts, they repeatedly went out of their way to create an amazing experience for us.

Room Tip: The suites above the office are beautiful but the motel rooms are clean and well cared for as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.2 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.2 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

Property: Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Address: 1404 Post Rd, P.O. Box 988, Wells, ME 04090-4508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Wells
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing