We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Our "cottage" was really an efficiency motel room with maybe a bigger kitchen- It is attached to another unit and very cramped for space "Cottage #1" sits on the parking lot with a dumpster in front of it( a fence is in front of it) and then the main road- Our picnic table was on the parking lot- Our heat did not work the first night but was fixed- It really appeared that things have been let go... towel bars not replaced, toilet paper holder falling off the wall, grounds in front of the cottage not weeded
There are other cottages available that sit in the back that seem a little better- we asked to move to one and were denied on the basis that they were booked later in the week however when we left several were still open.

We looked at several other places in the area and found many in the same price range that were much nicer location ,faciltiy and amenities...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blenhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed there for one week ,but it was not the thing i thought,pictures in the internet dosen't show the reality of the area.

Rooms and cottages are old and small although they are renovated.

pool is not clean to swim.

Internet is not accesible although it is written internet is available!

The thing that i was really happy about it ,was the air cindition ,that it worked well and quite.

In a short review there is a lots of place with the same price or less and better location in wells ,even in Ogunquit.

If somebody wants to go to Maine for beach I recommend stay in Ogunquit, the city with nice area and amazing boutiques.The city that ia alive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hakim53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

If you want clean motel with conveinances and closeness to beach and restaurants
plus short travels to great activities then this is the place. Nice heated pool, clean,
clean rooms and easy acess. Close to some great resturants and a short drive to
Oqunit center, Wells Beach, Oqunit Beach, and Perkins cove. Nice drive to Boothbay
Harbour and its nice little village shops on the harbour.
Jerry Cox Norwood Ma I stayed a year ago and this time was even better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerimiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Owners are warm and welcoming and go out of their way to offer assistance. My husband and I just returned from a quick get-away to visit friends in Maine & spent 3 nights (Wed-Fri) in the motel section with a small kitchenette with coffeemaker, toaster & mix & match supply of glasses, cups & utensils-great for families.. Unfortunately we never had a chance to try the pool or hot-tub that looked immaculate & well kept; Wed-Fri we enjoyed some pretty heavey rains, including heavy flooding Friday while attempting to visit LL Bean in Freeport!-sun finally started to break thru as we left on Saturday...
Hotel is convenient to everything; Room was very clean on arrival, but admit I was disappointed that room was not vaccumed during our stay; after 1st night when bed wasn't made up, we realized we had to make it ourselves and bed linens were never changed during our visit (not a big deal, just wish we'd known) - Also surprised that the rooms didn't have irons or ironing boards... Not sure we'd go back, there are so many other choices; we just need to book sooner tan 3-4 weeks for the busy summer season.. D & C from Arizona

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsapassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

This is a clean and comfortable place to stay with very friendly owners. We tend to stay at top hotels & inns but this time we refused to pay the outrageous room rates that some places were charging. The Carriage House fit the bill very nicely for the two nights we were there. You won't get a piece of chocolate or a mint on your pillow but you will get a restful night's sleep and a pleasant place to relax after sightseeing, shopping, beach going, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

Wells, Maine: The Carriage House
Date: 17 April 2008
Reviewer: Family McGann's, Montreal, Canada
You won't meet better owners than Sally and Bob! Superb central location. Great clean accomodations. As well, it seems that a good mix of guests are attracted to the Carriage House. A great place to bring your family and make memories. We aim to be down a long Canadian weekend this summer. Rambo Smacky wants to give up a trip to Ireland to go see you.....

Stayed: July 2007
Thank McCanadaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

In September 2007, we stayed for 5 nights at The Carriage House and Motel in Wells, Maine.

Absolutely clean, well taken care rooms and grounds.

Excellent and warm welcome by the owners, Sally and Bob Subilia. Treated as part of the family.

Dreaming to go back.

Annette and Cliff

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sainte-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.1 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#6 of 29 in Wells
444 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.2 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
USA Inn
USA Inn
#17 of 29 in Wells
239 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rhumb Line Resort
Rhumb Line Resort
#6 of 6 in Kennebunkport
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

Address: 1404 Post Rd, P.O. Box 988, Wells, ME 04090-4508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: £62 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Wells
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing