We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for Another Hotel!!!!!!!!”
Review of Tallwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tallwood Motel
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Three Bridges, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Look for Another Hotel!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We just needed 2 rooms to sleep in on the way home from vacation, to break up the trip. When we tried to find a hotel, this was one of only two properties that were A) not sold out for the night we needed, and B) under $300 per room/ night. We went with Tallwood Motel in Wells, because the location was really convenient for us. The location is excellent. It's right on Route 1, just off Route 95. Maine Diner, which was recently featured on a tv special, is just down the road from Tallwood and there's tons of cute little antique shops along that stretch of Route 1. The location offers easy access to Kennebunk, Kennebunkport and Wells Beach, all of which are nice little coastal towns. The pool area looked like it would be nice, if it were open. That's about it for positives.

Our problem started when we tried to book our rooms using Booking.com, which we had not used before, but it seemed fine. They listed a "2 bedroom cabin for 4 people" at Tallwood Motel on their site, which we booked. When we looked up the hotel online, we discovered that it's actually a small cottage with a double bed, a twin bed and a bunkbed. We were travelling with all adults and no one was willing to sleep in a bunkbed, so we promptly called the hotel, who still had many rooms left at that point, and explained the situation. The owner said there was nothing he could do, call Booking.com. We called Booking.com and they called the motel and said they booked us 2 separate rooms, 1 with a king bed and 1 with 2 double beds. They sent us an updated confirmation, which said the same.

When we got to the hotel, the reservation they had was for 1 room with 1 double bed, and the owner said they were sold out. After some negotiations, he got us into 1 "upgraded" room with a King bed and another small room with a double bed. The smaller room was about 8x10 feet and really dark. It was a Non Smoking room, however the room REEKED of smoke. I have asthma and I absolutely couldn't breathe in there. The window was open (letting bugs in) and the batteries had been pulled out of the smoke detector. It looked as though the previous tenant was smoking and housekeeping tried to air it out and hoped no one would notice. After some arguing back and forth with the owner, we were given another non-smelly (but still buggy) tiny room.

The "deluxe" room was bigger and decorated in a more attractive way, but it was absolutely filthy. The shower/ tub and air conditioning unit were covered in mildew and the room smelled strongly of mold. The bathroom floor and mirror were filthy and there were cobwebs on the vanity. Behind the dresser we found crumpled paper, a plastic cup and copious amounts of dustbunnies. Ironically, there was a handwritten note on the table from housekeeping, pandering for tips.

The icing on the cake was all of the noise and lights that kept us awake most of the night. There was loud music blaring from the cottages behind us, a train that went behind the hotel several times whistling loudly, and headlights and highway noise throughout the night.

I would never, ever stay at the Tallwood Motel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone. Tallwood looks attractive enough from the outside, but looks can be deceiving. It's outdated, filthy and the service is terrible. As cheap as it was, I still feel like we got robbed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KL35390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    13
    9
    47
See reviews for
23
38
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I just wanted to clarify, the tital of my review is not 3 stars, it's negative three stars, which may even still be a bit generous. We checked into what was supposedly a non smoking room in the tallwood because it was literally the only room available in the New England area. Looking back I wish I would have slept in the car. The room had an overwhelming cigarette stench, so much for non smoking. They charged $10 dollars for a roll away cot and when it arrived the legs used to support the head and the food of the cot seemed to be broken. I was only able to sleep on it because I was able to tie it together with a bungee cord in a Mcgyver like fashion. Within 10 minutes of laying on the pitiful cot i rolled over in an attempt to find a position that was even remotely comfortable to sleep in and it actually flipped over and dropped me on the ground. The actual bed was no more comfortable than sleeping on a slab of marble. The heater didn't work. We had to kill a slider and a few flies. The bathroom door didn't shut all the way. We tried to go to the office with our complaints but the door was locked as if he knew just how crappy our experience would be, so he didn't want to be around when it was time for people to check out. We tried to contact him via phone and were only able to speak to a voicemail. We left a message expressing just how upset we are and asking them to please call back. As you could imagine we never go a call back. I'm sorry, I know this Is quite a lengthy review but I want everybody to know just how terrible our stay was. I feel as if the Tallwood motel should be forced to pay for a trip to the chiropractor for all three of us. All in all, our stay was just about as pleasant as taking a bath in honey, and running through a swarm of angry wasps.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tpap04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wells hotels

Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Reservation was lost.Switched to a cottage without a smoke alarm.Train went by several times at night tooting whistle.We couldn't sleep.No remote to tv.Giving a hard time when asked for another sheet.Owner rude when I called him.

Thanks,Kathy H

Room Tip: Bad Time.No sleep because of train going by and tooting all night long.No Smoke Alarm or tv remote.L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

When we first arrived at the Tallwood we were greeted by Ralph in his office(the garage attached to main house). We were given #6 across the lot. This was a 2 double bed room for my wife, daughter and myself. Room was very rustic at best. The ceiling was 2 tone white/grey in color. TV was a 19" with cable. Pool had to be filled nightly - by garden hose. Had the basic necessities really.Cons - Low water pressure, lack of towels, outdated rooms- Pros - very clean though. The Motel was within walking distance to the Maine Diner! All in all was a decent place for sleeping after being on the beach all day. Was also within walking distance (short drive 1.7 miles) to Drake Island Beach. Really some of the most beautiful beaches are found right in the area of Wells, ME.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFish1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I normally don't write reviews but feel I have to,given how bad my experience was at the Tallwood Motel. We didn't go into this experience expecting a lavish stay but the room that we were given was atrocious. The room wreaked of mildew, the carpet was soaking wet in spots, the shower/bathroom was overgrown with mold in the tub and shower curtain and the entire room looked like it hadn't been clean in years. On top of this, the guy who worked there was very rude, not very helpful, and was more concerned with the number of guests in our room than whether we enjoyed or were satisfied with our stay. Basically, the experience was so bad that we would probably had preferred to spend the night in our car if we hadn't already paid for the room. Overall, I would definitely NOT recommend staying here and would say beware!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornish, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin and it was so overpriced for what we got. We had no ice, no remote for the tv, ( And the tv's were really old), No table or chairs. The porch was un -useable!!!
The rooms were so out dated and dingy. The only nice thing that I can say is they had a decent pool and a great location!!! Look elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Ask to look at your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were at Tallwood in July and we liked the place. We had the small cabin by the tree very clean. TV, AC , small fridge and free good coffee in the morning. There is a swimming pool in the yard and a BBQ area where you can cook your food. Nice people and good atmosphere. Recommended.

Room Tip: cabin 16 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.6 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
4.6 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drake's Island Resort
Drake's Island Resort
#2 of 18 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.4 mi away
Belle of Maine
Belle of Maine
#20 of 28 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallwood Motel

Property: Tallwood Motel
Address: 2203 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4719
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tallwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tallwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallwood Hotel Wells
Tallwood Motel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing