We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this find”
Review of Seahorse Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seahorse Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Last year my husband and I drove to Maine for a couple of days away from the stress of kids and work. We stopped at a nearby hotel it was awful we drove a little further and came across The Seahorse and stayed 2 days. They were in the middle of renovating but they were very respectful not to start to early. The room was very clean and comfortable. Iam very picky where I stay I have walked out of a lot of hotels but this one was wonderful they met all our needs and accomadated all our needs. We definitely will be back. I'm actually trying to plan a trip this July.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Seahorse Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We can all forget at times what vacation means, if you have come to think of vacation as time to be with people you love, in a place that reflects and enhances the joy of sitting around being happy, Seahorse may be your place. I have stayed alone and felt comfortable and at ease, I have MS and have found the cottages and beautiful grounds easy to get around. Being able to have a morning and evening walk among the trees and walkways kept so clean and obstacle free makes this a true find.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annerich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My husband and I made a nice one day trip to Maine and stayed at the Seahorse Resort. We stayed in the motel section which the room was very nice, clean and well decorated. The grounds are very nice and inviting for a family. The new owners are wonderful people and are planning on continuing with the renovations. We plan on staying again next season!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Seahorse's new owners did a great job improving the place. The rooms and cottages are clean ans spacious. Kitchen well equipped with pots, pans, dishes and coffee maker (filters included). Grounds with amazing mature weeping willows. We stayed in cottage 71, 2 adults and 2 childrens, just in front of the very safe kids playground. We had a great week end.

Room Tip: Charcoal barbecue on site, no problems sharing with other parties.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jinny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It appears the new owners who have taken over are trying to make improvements and update the rooms. The room was clean and and well kept. I would stay here again and I am considering renting a cabin for next summer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathryn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spent a few days at the Seahorse, and it was wonderfully comfortable and relaxing. The new owners are turning this quiet little place into one of the best values in the area. The rooms and grounds have been dramatically improved. Forget about what you've heard about the old Sleepytown, this is an entirely new experience with new people in charge who actually care about making your stay a pleasant one. We've found our new summer spot. See you next year, Seahorse!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Girls weekend in a cozy cottage was so wonderful because of new owners! Cottages have been updated ,super comfy new beds. Grounds and pool in great condition. Really a great ,reasonably priced cottage. Best location for visiting near by Attractions without parking issue. All the comforts of home and if you need anything for your kitchen just ask! Very relaxing and a great value. We will be back.

Room Tip: Cottages with small kitchens allow flexibility with families to avoid eating out every meal.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.6 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
3.4 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.7 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drake's Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Resort

Address: 1661 Post Rd, PO Box 97, Wells, ME 04090-4608 (Formerly Sleepytown Motel & Cottages)
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Wells
Price Range: £66 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 10 acres of lush property on U.S. Route 1 in Wells, Maine, the Seahorse Resort, Motel & Cottages is minutes away from four superb beaches, quaint antique and specialty shops, craft and art galleries, professional theaters, golf, fishing, amusements, museums and brand-name outlets. For the convenience of our guests we are located on the Trolley line. We offer grilles and picnic tables for outdoor cooking and socializing and a children's playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seahorse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepytown Motel & Cottages Hotel Wells
Sleepytown Motel And Cottages
Sleepytown Hotel Wells
Sleepytown Motel Wells
Seahorse Resort Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing