We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Maine Spring Fix !! "”
Review of USA Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
USA Inn
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights just to visit the Maine coast and beaches - perfect location, friendly owners and staff. The motel is always clean and comfortable and easy access to all beaches and restaurants - right on Route 1. Can't beat these accommodations for the price.
Thanks for a relaxing visit to your beach area. We will be back come Fall !!!!

Room Tip: We were on the back on the third level - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. Spring and Fall we have a loyal following of guests who appreciate the quiet beaches, shops and restaurants and we appreciate that you choose to stay with us .Hope to see you in the Fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

This IS the Best Hotel in Wells. There new renovated rooms is really Nice, they made the rooms look very nic Therooms kinda have a hampton inn look to it with the header over the beds and the new rug. the difference between Usa inn and Hampton inn: The Price, the owners and staff are alot nice and caring. Going to bring family and friends up there for sure! Joe

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside facing the oceanside are Quieter you dotn get the traffic from Route 1 but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Joe M,
Thank you for your nice review of our property and for noticing the new furnishings and carpeting.
We appreciate your patronage and that you took the time to post this review of the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for three nights for a shopping and lobster get-away. Both were great as well as the accommodations at USA Inn. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The outdoor grounds are impeccable. Completely renovated rooms with brand new carpeting and comfortable new beds with great amenities such as flatscreen TV, microwave and refrigerator and air conditioning of course. Spotless. Great location, close to shops, restaurants and beach at very competitive rates. I highly recommend to my friends and family. We have stayed here many times and will definitely go back in the Fall. Thank you again USA Inn, we enjoyed another great get-away! Carol Ann from Montreal!

Room Tip: We like the 2nd floor corner units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Carol Ann,
Thank you for your nice review.
We look forward to seeing you again in the fall.
Have a nice summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We go to Wells each year to open our camp for the season. We stay at the USA Inn, we love it there, rooms are clean, people are friendly and it's close to everything. this was our 5th year.

Thanks again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigbirdupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for your nice comments and continued support. May and October are always great months as we see all of our campers and second home owners as they prepare for the summer and close down for the winter. We enjoy seeing all of the familiar faces. We hope you have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed for a three day weekend with my son there. The Inn was clean, The staff was very pleasant. and the location was awesome. I am usually allergic to smells in motels, hotel rooms but this place I barely had an attack. The air in the room was nice. We would go there agian. :)

Thank you USA Inn.

Cindy from Farmingdale, Maine

Room Tip: just ask for away from the road they put us int he back it was nice couldnt hear the traffic. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Cindy,
Thank you for your nice review. We use cleaning products that have a minimal environmental impact whenever possible. Generally, those products are also clean smelling and not overwhelming like some can be. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed in early fall.The room was spotless,two beds and table and chairs still left room to move around .Inn is located in the center of everything,restaurants,lobster shacks, antique shops, Minature golf, trolley stop for around town and beaches.Owner and staff were helpful in everyway.I would recommend to couples and familys.ENJOY!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your nice review. Most of our staff has been with us for a long time and we all appreciate the acknowledgement of our housekeeping efforts. Hope you can come back in 2014 to enjoy the many improvements we've made over the winter including new carpets and furniture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

As soon as we walked into the room, we noticed an overwhelming mildew smell masked with air freshener immediately went to the office to ask if we could have our room switched.,The man in the office said no because they didn't have any rooms available. We went to dinner and came back, the Vacancy sign was on at that point. We went back to the office to ask about getting our room switched since the Vacancy sign was on and the man insisted that they had no rooms available, said we have to wait until tomorrow to talk to the owner. I said we're going to have look for a room somewhere else for the next two nights. He rudely told us to go ahead and find another place to stay you are not getting your money back. Originally, we weren't looking for our money back. We just were looking for a room on one of the other floors that didn't smell like mildew. It states on their website that "We will make your stay as pleasurable as possible." We are currently sitting in our car researching what we could buy to get rid of the overwhelming smell so that we could at least sleep in the room comfortably for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RFiske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

First and foremost - the room does not smell like mildew. Secondly, our NO Vacancy sign had been on since the beginning of the day. The guest arrived late Friday on Columbus Day weekend. We were full for the weekend and everyone was checked in. There was no other room. She was insistent on being in the front of the building, although she made no such request when she booked. She did not want to stay.

Calls were made to find her another place. There were no rooms to be found in the area. She kept the room and said that she wanted to speak with the owner in the morning.

She did, and was immediately given a full refund for the 2 unused nights without hesitation.

This review was posted from her mobile device on Friday evening, before we were given the opportunity to make her happy. Clearly, this review was written an angry person in an effort to be hurtful to our business. Had she cooled her jets and waited until morning for a resolution, I am quite sure that she would not have written this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.2 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 29 in Wells
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
1.5 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#11 of 29 in Wells
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Inn

Address: 1017 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4154
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range: £50 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your USA Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hotel Wells
Usa Motel Wells
USA Inn Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing