We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of USA Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
USA Inn
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a room in the front, we got to sit on the balcony and watch all the old time cars go by. Also watched the people play mini gulf across the street, the gulf area was very pretty with waterfalls and neat attractions, the mile long rd was right there and let to the beach areas on the ocean, and the beach was beautifull. Can't wait to go again. Thanks USA for being right were you are.

Room Tip: My daughter and I stayed here,and we're very satisfied, I can't stress enough how clean it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. Our proximity to everything is a great asset.
We have shared your comments with our housekeeping staff and they appreciate your acknowledgement of their hard work, as do we. See you in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    70
    17
    5
    11
See reviews for
54
126
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the USA Inn for the first time last weekend. It reminded me of a "throw back" to an earlier time. Maybe it was the real key to the door instead if a swipe card. Not a bad thing, butmy wife was still able to lock it in the room. The manager was very gratous when he came down to let us in.
The room was clean and recently remodeled, mattresses were comfortable and the microwave and fridge are a nice touch. Defiantly a good choice.
If you have the option, stay in the rear facing rooms. Route 1 is a pretty busy and noisy road.

Room Tip: Stay in a rear facing room. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your nice review.
Our housekeeping staff appreciates the nice comments.
Key card locks are in our future, no doubt. Most recently we have prioritized our available resources into things that we feel will have the biggest impact on guest comfort. New furnishings, bedding, carpeting and lighting, strong internet and lots of hot water.
The rear of the building is quieter. At the same time, about half of our guests prefer the front because they like people watching and the front quiets down early in the evening.
Thanks again for taking the time to write such a nice review. We really appreciate that you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the USA INN in May 2013 for a week.....never had any trouble or problems.........We booked another week vacation this year May 2014...We left one day early to Wells Maine.....called USA INN to add an additional night...Was told will be $70..........$60.00 was on their sign when we arrived at the motel.....Guess What????Got charged $85.00 on my final bill for this extra day....My wife was told $70.00....other charges were never more than $70.00 per day......mostly $60.00 per day....This additional $15.00 had to be credited back to my account by my credit card company in a dispute...found in my favor....People at the USA INN were rude and crude about this $15.00 extra charge...refused to refund.....Please watch these money hungry people...My advice.... BEWARE....STAY AWAY!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdsigler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Wow!

Always read your confirmations....

1. This guest was given the correct rate and a confirmation when they made their reservation.
2. They were got a 2nd confirmation with the correct rates when they updated their reservation.
3. They reviewed and signed for their charges at check in.
4. They got $40 of dinner gift cards as part of their package.
5. Our rates are on line at our website, www.usainn.com for all to see, very transparent.
6. I will be happy to email anyone a copy of their folio / confirmation to prove my point.

In spite of their obvious failure to read their confirmations, they were offered a $15 credit and they refused it saying that we were dishonest and that they would discredit us on the internet.

And they did.

All this for $15....Really?

Please read their 2013 review of our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just home from Maine. We have stayed several times at the USA Inn and have always enjoyed it. Since our last stay it has been redecorated. It is a beautiful room and so nice to have the fridge, microwave and a modern television. The rooms are bright and clean and the hotel is located in a great area - within walking distance of restaurants and the beach. We like to sit out on the balcony and watch the mini golf and the cars going by. The people who run it are always very friendly and helpful. It is a great place and we look forward to visiting again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our property. It was nice of you to make note of the new decorations. We have received many positive comments regarding the new furnishings, bedding and carpeting. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicok
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had the pleasure to stay 2 week-end inmay and june, driving from Québec City!
We tried a couple of places in the last 2 years around Wells, but we are really happy to have tried this one!
We stayed both time in the 2nd building next to the main one, and we immediatly liked the fact that it was really clean AND without the strong smell you often find in some motels in the area...
The rooms in that building were big with nice balcony, and really quiet even if the motel seemed full...Matress were also really good, just firm enough and not sagging!
And the location is perfect if you want to get quickly to the beach (for a morning surf especially!), basically 1 minute from Wells beach (free parking near the casino if you are really early!) , nice grocery store/liquor 1 minute walking, and around 5-10 minutes driving from downtown ogunquit...

And the icing on the cake, the owners are so welcoming, and helpful! On our second trip, our car broke one morning in the parking lot and we had to find a garage open on a saturday morning around Wells! Even the AAA guy didn't know of an open garage when he showed up, but the owner (i'm so bad with names i forgot her name!) made a few calls and found this local garage that put our car back on the road! Wow!

So overall, really it's an excellent choice, and the pricing is excellent for the quality you get! Really hard to beat in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing the property. We were happy to help. We really appreciate our Quebecois guests who travel so far to spend their weekends and vacation time with us. A la prochaine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Reception like Home. We are from Québec province, Repentigny subbard of Montréal. Very clean, very good service, Quit place. We will return next year for sure. Great service even got a rebate for restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: No pool but middle of all spots to visit. One minute by car to the ocean... Why spend $100.00 more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for pointing out that the USA INN is a good value and very clean. Many of our guests are from Quebec and travel a long distance to visit. We are thankful that you choose to stay with us and will always do our best to make it worth your trip. Merci beaucoup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights just to visit the Maine coast and beaches - perfect location, friendly owners and staff. The motel is always clean and comfortable and easy access to all beaches and restaurants - right on Route 1. Can't beat these accommodations for the price.
Thanks for a relaxing visit to your beach area. We will be back come Fall !!!!

Room Tip: We were on the back on the third level - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. Spring and Fall we have a loyal following of guests who appreciate the quiet beaches, shops and restaurants and we appreciate that you choose to stay with us .Hope to see you in the Fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.2 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
0.8 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Inn

Property: USA Inn
Address: 1017 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4154
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your USA Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hotel Wells
Usa Motel Wells
USA Inn Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing