We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, neat, quiet place - just what we needed!”
Review of USA Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
USA Inn
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, neat, quiet place - just what we needed!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife, son and I recently stayed three nights at USA Inn. My wife and I had a room with a king bed; my son had one with two double beds. Both rooms were spacious, well appointed, clean and neat. Our room (in the new building) had a deck extending from the room, which was a very nice touch. We found the hotel to be nice and quiet, and you can't beat the location (one mile from the beach, plenty of restaurants nearby; and there's a Hannaford's in walking distance for those things you inevitably forget to bring from home). All the staff were pleasant and helpful, and we felt very welcome. We've been to Wells on many occasions and always stayed with relatives except for this trip. I had seen the USA Inn while on those trips and always thought it looked like a good place to stay, and now that I've stayed there, I know I was right! I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankees0555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this nice review of our property. We appreciate that you chose us and glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    70
    17
    4
    11
See reviews for
54
125
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We've been coming to the USA Inn for a number of years now, and are usually very happy. Last year we had a King in the new building, that little balcony scared me a bit. BUt this year as usual we had a ground floor room at the back, quiet enough. Occasionally you hear the people above, especially from the bathroom, but we were lucky nobody was rowdy. Service was kind and our room was beautifully renovated. We had another great stay. See you next year USA Inn! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for the nice review and for acknowledging our staff and the recent upgrades. We are fortunate to have a business that is supported, primarily, from repeat guests and we really appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Have been going to the USA Inn for many years (twenty plus). Have never been disappointed or dissatisfied. Have stayed on every floor, front and back and also in the newer building. Consistency throughout. But if you're looking for a "good staff" you might be disappointed.
They're not good, they're "outstanding." They're pleasant, helpful, respectful and just plain nice.
And this year it got even better. The rooms have been refurbished: new carpet, furniture and fresh paint. Stayed again this year and plan to go back next year. Wouldn't make any sense not to.

Room Tip: We prefer the front, preferably the second floor, overlooking Rte. 1. Rooms in the back may be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for the great review and for coming back for so many years. The vast majority of our guests are repeats but 20 years is awesome. Our staff appreciates your nice comments as well. Thanksyour comments on the upgrades and we hope to continue to fulfill your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We go to Wells Maine about 4 times a year. We always stay at the USA Inn. The people are helpful and friendly. It is always VERY clean. The new décor this year was an added bonus. It is close to the beach and Trolley system.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. Our housekeeping staff appreciates the recognition of their hard work. And thanks for noticing the upgrades. We are grateful that you choose us as your Maine destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our overall experience was good, till I got home and thought I would e mail a few issues we found on our stay. We asked general questions, when does the linen get changed, what do the room cleaners do once they go into the room, I can tell you they don't vacuum, don't clean the bathroom sink, don't wipe anything off, and in general don't check the room for any problems. So I asked the owner on the issues and he responded,"If I had told him these problems they would have fixed them? Really, I thought a while on his reply, then said wait, It isn't my responsibility that the slider and screen doesn't close right, a hole in the screen, dirty sink, no vacuuming, bed not changed, bathroom fan sounds like a race car with the throttle stuck, black mold in doorway. The free internet was also only allowing us to be on for 10 or so minutes and then would disconnect and then be back on in 10 or so minutes. Seems to me if the help would inspect the room better than I did then I wouldn't be writing this review in a bad way, sent the reply to the owner, he offered a comp room for one night in late October, but received no response when I asked him if it was my fault for finding things wronig with our room and didn't tell him. Really? Anyway we like staying there, but if we stay there again. I will be forced to ask to see the room before staying. Not a bad thing to do anyway.

Room Tip: Ask to se the room, and check it over good, you will feel good about it after and won't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bushsmith12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Guest was disappointed because he mistakenly put the "Do not Disturb" sign on his door and the housekeeping staff did not go in. Late in the day he asked for his room to be cleaned but the housekeeping staff had gone home for the day. He was offered clean towels and new amenities. He also felt entitled to a discount because he stayed for 5 nights during peak season.

Shortly after his stay, he contacted us to say that he might return in October and that if we did something for him that he would not complain on Tripadvisor. So we offered him a free night to make him happy.

We checked into the fan & door complaints and found no problems. The internet routers were all replaced this year at great expense and this is the only complaint we've had all year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have friends who rent a cottage on Wells Beach so we always stay at USA Inn and visit them during the day and go to the beach. The USA Inn is well located on main road to find restaurants and shops. The rooms are clean and the people who run it are nice.

Room Tip: We pick the first floor because of knee issues. They have a new building next to it that has nice r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. Many of our guests are visiting family and friends at the beach due to our great proximity. One clarification however...the newer building does not have an elevator,. We don't know where it came from but a lot of people think that it does.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Valley, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A friend recommended USA Inn to us for our 3 day stay in Maine and we enjoyed it very much. VERY friendly innkeepers and made excellent restaurant recommendation for seafood dinner our last night there. Rooms are updated, very clean, large fridge in the room, as well a microwave and coffee maker, coin dryers on site for the beach towels, ice machine. McDonald's across the road, Irving station next door for coffee/breakfast, Hannafords almost behind us for our food needs, mini golf across the street and ocean less than a mile away!! What more could you ask for?! Everything you could possibly want and more!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about the USA INN. Over 80% of our guests each year are returning or have been referred by other guests. We are so glad that your friend recommended us to you and hope you can come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.9 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.2 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#5 of 28 in Wells
413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
0.3 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Inn

Property: USA Inn
Address: 1017 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4154
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your USA Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hotel Wells
Usa Motel Wells
USA Inn Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing