We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here during school vacation wk. The setup of the room we had was perfect for our family of 4. The children stayed in the upstairs room, the adults stayed downstairs. The room has a full kitchen, 1.5 baths and was overall clean an comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor of the building. We really enjoyed the indoor pool. It was our #1 reason for the getaway. My only complaint is that the pool water could have been just a little warmer! We were running outside in bare feet to make the pool temp feel warmer! It was very nice to have a full kitchen, we brought groceries and dined out only once. There was a nice big table for dining. The oven door did not open completely, not a huge biggie however one couldn't roast a whole turkey either. The kitchen is a bit cozy, the oven is very close to te fridge which mades it difficult to fully extend the oven door. There wre 2 things I noticed that were a little gross to me: 1. The sinks (bathroom& kitchen) had schmeg near the faucets. 2. Under the kitchen sink, there had been water damage so it was very rotted ( noticed bcuz I used the strainer after washing pots/pans). I did mention this things to the managment ...hopefully now issues of the past! The kitchen had everything one could need to prepare and eat food with, very well stocked. All in all it was an enjoyable family getaway!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadragonfly1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Cadragonfly,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

I appreciate your mention of the issue with the faucet and the area under the kitchen sink. We have addressed those issues.

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool spring specials!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    55
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
198
121
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We really enjoy our fall stays at the Elmwood. Rooms are so nice and cozy and everything we enjoy is in driving distance. Nice and quiet in the fall, don't have to worry about summer traffic and crowds! Looking forward to this years adventure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Deb,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool spring specials!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I found this place when my son was a baby, now on year 5 we are coming back again as we have every year. Everything always looks like it is brand new both inside and out. The outdoor pool, the indoor pool, the rooms, kitchen and bathroom....all spotless. You could not ask for a better value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dirk,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel! We do our best to be the cleanest hotel in Wells!!

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool spring specials!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

excellent staff/, special birthday cake towel arrangement (pleasant surprise) Carlton took care of that. Nancy (the Hostess) was just awesome. Took care of all our needs. Thank You so much.
the indoor pool was wonderful..close to everything! Only wish it was 70 degrees....thats the weather not the pool!

Room Tip: Special packages well worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Deborah,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your birthday weekend getaway to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool spring specials!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Elmwood Resort is a great get-a-way for us and the grandcritters for February NH school vacation week. We have a lakefront house half an hour away, but swimming is tough in the winter! Our grandcritters love the indoor pool. The front desk staff is always so friendly and accommodating to all our needs. The condo units are spotlessly clean and fully furnished. We had a delicious dinner in Kennebunkport only fifteen minutes away. With Dunkin Donuts across the street, and Dairy Queen which reopened in February, we were all happy campers! The location of the Elmwood Resort is perfect for a family vacation any time of year. We love it for our annual winter adventure.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children in the winter, select a room near the indoor pool building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you and your grandcritters enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and facebook pages for some pretty cool winter specials!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We've been coming to Maine for many years, but just discovered The Elmwood. What a find!
It's exceptionally clean, roomy and has a great staff.
The price was a big factor for us. We needed a weekend away with a pool,so this was the place to choose.
Check out the package specials...a great deal.
Every restaurant in the package was better than the last.
There was even a fully equipped kitchen with stove, micowave, dishwasher, pots, pans, plates.
You name it, they had it
We will surely be back with many of our friends.
You're too picky if you don't find your stay enjoyable..

Room Tip: You can choose from one-three bedroom arrangement for reasonable rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank logcabin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Logcabin,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and facebook pages for some pretty cool winter specials!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My family and our friends head up to the coast of Maine every year at the beginning of February to stay in a hotel with an indoor pool just to escape the cold weather and enjoy some R&R. We chose Elmwood Resort Hotel based on trip advisor ratings. Often times ratings can be deceiving and we weren't sure we would get the high quality results others have raved about....well....I can attest that not only were the ratings right on point, but our stay at Elmwood Resort Hotel surpassed any expectations we had. First, we are a family of 4 and our friends are a family of 4. We stayed in the 2BR deluxe for 4 days/3 nights. Upon arrival, our family arrived first and we checked in with ease. we immediately hit the swimming pool which is housed in its own building and upon entering, you are immediately hit with that Carribean tropical feel. (The Hotel provides you with plush swimming pool towels). We were the only ones in the pool and the kids were able to be kids. We stayed in the pool for 2 hours and then returned to our room/condo.

The 2BR deluxe we stayed in (#148) was beyond clean. We never felt like we were staying in a hotel/motel but rather, we were made to feel at home. The kitchen area was extremely clean and ready for our arrival (which we brought plenty of food and snacks). The bedrooms were more than plentiful for our crew. Each bedroom had its own television, along with a television in the livingroom. This was important because with 4 children in the unit, they kids were able to watch what they wanted while the parents hung out and caught up.
There are 2 bathrooms (one on the main living floor and one full bath on the second floor). Again, both bathrooms were spotless and fully stocked with towles, soap, etc. The livingroom had a 3 seat sleep sofa, a regular chair and a nice recliner which also provided the comforts of home.
My wife enjoys cooking and recently published a cookbook "A Pinch Of German" so she really enjoys cooking. The unit was fully stocked with the utensils needed to make a meals for 8 people. Everything from plates to silverware was more than enough for everybody. Everything was CLEAN!

The front porch area provides a nice area to sit and unwind (albeit we did not do that considering it is the middle of winter), but was definitely large enough to sit outside (weather permitting) to enjoy the air.

The location of Elmwood Resort is paramount. Approximately 7 miles to the North and you are in Kennebunkport......while a few miles to the south you are in Ogunquit and ready to hit the Marginal Way. We opted to walk on Wells Beach with all the children where they spent time running around the very empty beach. lets face it...kids don't recognize cold weather...haha. My wife and her friend were able to make an afternoon of it by hitting a local spa (less than 2 miles south) while the dads took the kids to the pool...which...again...did not disappoint. The water temp was just right....and the cleanliness of the entire pool deck and surrounding area was beyond anything we have visited.

All in all.....we had absolutely no complaints. We did have to call the front desk for garbage bags because ours ripped. The worker arrived in a mere few minutes to assist with additional trash bags and was extremely polite. Often times when you call a front desk you get the feeling you are bothering somebody...but that was NOT the case at Elmwood resorts. The reception we received was friendly and prompt.

We will certainly make the short trek back to Elmwood Resorts in Wells, Maine in the future. Our stay was beyond fantastic and will be sure to tell anybody we can about our positive experience.

Room Tip: Indoor Swimming Pool...huge success...especially with small children!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Sweeney,

Wow! Thank you for your comprehensive review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel. We really appreciate the time you were able to take! The girls and guys in the office are already scouring the internet looking for "A Pinch of German!"

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and facebook pages for some pretty cool winter specials!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
756 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Resort Hotel

Property: Elmwood Resort Hotel
Address: 1351 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wells
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Resort is centrally located on Maine's beautiful southern coast, a short distance to the Kennebunks and Ogunquit and just minutes from miles of sandy beaches, fine restaurants, shops and all the attractions the picturesque area has to present. Ideal for the family needing more than just a hotel room or for the couple seeking extra luxury, our comfortable and affordable one, two, or three bedroom suites offer the ultimate in space and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Elmwood Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Resort Hotel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing