We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when in Maine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elmwood Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
173 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We just visited this hotel on a group tour to Maine. We found this resort to be a perfect place to stay! All rooms are condo accommodations complete with a living room, fully stocked kitchen, full bath and bedroom. One bedroom units are on the first level, larger units are on the second floor. The upstairs units are set up like a townhouse and have a living room, kitchen, bedroom and 1/2 bath on the first level. Upstairs is the 2nd bedroom and full bath. The rooms are spotless, The staff is friendly, accommodating and go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. There are no elevators, so if you need first floor accommodations, be advised there is only one bed in the bedroom. There are no restaurants on the premisis, but vending machines for soda and snacks are by the front office. Across the street is a Dunkin Donuts so you can get hot or cold drinks, snacks and sandwiches if you do not want to drive anyplace. There are some stores, restaurants with in 1 mile of the resort. The Elmwood is located about 15 minutes from Ogunquit and about 1 hour from Portland. Consider this resort for your next trip to Maine, you will love the extra space!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Idatom,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel once again!

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool summer specials as well as some new amenities including a great big new outdoor movie screen and live entertainment every Saturday night this summer!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    51
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
184
119
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
186 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Mid-way between Ogunquit and Kennebunkport ME. Fully stocked kitchenettes. Third night free with two booked. Spacious rooms. Large screen TV's. Free Wifi. We did not use the indoor pool of DVD library. The only disadvantage of this hotel is that you can't walk to any attractions or restaurants. It's on busy Route 1 but a short drive to many restaurants and attractions. Don't know why it's called a "resort". It's basically a motel but nicer than most. We were two senior couples on the ground level in adjacent rooms with one on the end. Maintenance workers were outside the rooms and working very early in the morning. Bedrooms tended to be quite warm at night with no temp control. Units appeared to have adequate noise insulation from adjacent rooms. Friendly receptionist

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philly2VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Philly,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

I sincerely apologize that our maintenance staff disturbed your party during the morning hours. It was quite a long winter and we're busy getting the resort in shape for the summer season! If this should happen in the future please contact our front desk and we will be happy to have our staff work in your area at a different time.

In answer to your question regarding our name; at the Elmwood Resort we are proud to offer our guests much more than is offered by the "typical" motel. Instead of just receiving a standard room with two double beds, our condominium suites include private bedroom(s), a completely stocked kitchen as well as a living room. Each unit is tastefully decorated and equipped with air conditioning (controls are located in the bedrooms), flat screen HD televisions in each bedroom and living room and our kitchens include full sized appliances with Keurig machines. We are also proud to offer some amenities not typically seen at a standard motel, such as indoor & outdoor heated pools, sauna, playground area, picnic area, laundromat, fitness club membership, outdoor movie theater, fire pits, WIFI, live entertainment every Saturday night throughout the summer months, and much more!!!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This was the second time the wife and I have stayed at the Elmwood Resort. When we're in southern Maine, we will not stay in any other place now. Can't wait to bring our grandson up in a month. The layout of the suite is perfect for us and the rooms have been immaculate. They have been very kind to us on both occasions giving the wife and I a couple towel arrangements for my birthday and our anniversary. That meant a lot to us. We have on both occasions gotten the package deal with a king bed. Can't beat the deal. We like to eat good and the breakfast / dinner coupon helps. Very convenient location. Look forward to our next stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Aaron,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel once again!

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool spring specials as well as some new amenities including a great big new outdoor movie screen and live entertainment every Saturday night this summer!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My sister from PA and me from Ct came to this area to visit with my sister and our Mom. We chose this place because of the review and the stay 2 nights get one free deal. This place is wonderful. Clean spacious and get feeling of being home. Decor is just very nice. The beds are very comfortable. This morning we took the short drive to the beach and saw a wonderful sunrise. If you are in the area drive south on Rt 1 and eat at Bessie. They make real turkey and great desserts.
The indoor pool we didn't use but we stopped by to see it and touch water seemed fine. We asked if my niece could bring her children for a swim and they said of course. My nieces baby was sick so they never came.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sewingranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Sewinggranny,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool spring specials as well as some new amenities including a great big new outdoor movie screen and live entertainment every Saturday night this summer!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Unfortunately, we only were able to spend one night here due to other commitments, but I know we will be back for a longer stay. Spacious, clean and comfortable accomodations. Staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions. A great off season getaway awaits! The grounds were well kept, pool looked inviting, and we hope to get back soon to enjoy it!

Room Tip: Very quiet due to the bedroom being in the back of the unit, not facing the driveway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccquohog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
CC,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel. It was great to see your swim team once again!

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool spring specials as well as some new amenities we will begin offering this summer!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The accomodations were great. The rooms, actually condos/townhomes were very spacious and great for families, plenty of space for all. The staff was very accommodating, arranging for my family to stay an extra night. We enjoyed our stay so much, my family decided to stay an extra night, they made room for us. We were part of a group of families from out of state who brought our children to a swim training. The staff made arrangements to keep the pool open an extra hour, so our swim team could relax and have some fun after their training that ended after 6PM. The pool usually closes at 8PM, but the 9PM closing allowed the families and swimmers time to get something to eat and then enjoy the pool and each other. Thank you Elmwood for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Go with the townhome room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Scott,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel. It was great to see your swim team once again!

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool spring specials as well as some new amenities we will begin offering this summer!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I used to stay at a different hotel in Wells during the off season. We camp nearby in the summer, and like the area so much that we come up 4-5 time during the off season.I have since decided that the friendliness of the staff,accommodations and value make this the place to stay. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and always clean., The kitchens well stocked with the basics if you want to cook.

My wife and I have stayed as little as one night and as many as seven. We recommend this hotel to anyone who travels to the area. One great feature during the off season are their weekend getaway specials that include gift certificates to local restaurants for breakfast and dinner. You simply can't go wrong.....

Room Tip: One bedrooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
George,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and Facebook pages for some pretty cool spring specials as well as some new amenities we will begin offering this summer!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.7 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#3 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Resort Hotel

Property: Elmwood Resort Hotel
Address: 1351 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wells
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Resort is centrally located on Maine's beautiful southern coast, a short distance to the Kennebunks and Ogunquit and just minutes from miles of sandy beaches, fine restaurants, shops and all the attractions the picturesque area has to present. Ideal for the family needing more than just a hotel room or for the couple seeking extra luxury, our comfortable and affordable one, two, or three bedroom suites offer the ultimate in space and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elmwood Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Resort Hotel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing