We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in Maine”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long Weekend in Maine”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I took a trip for a long weekend to Maine, the weekend after Labor Day, 2011. The Atlantic Oceanfront in Wells, ME, has a terrific beachfront location. We opted for an ocean view, rather than ocean front room. The view was really better than we'd expected, and although we probably would have rather had a balcony, it was nice to be able to open the windows and hear the sound of the surf at night. The room was a decent size and quite comfortable, and we enjoyed it. We also found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating, providing extra towels when asked and giving restaurant recommendations that were right on the money. Now, I must admit that parking was sometimes tight, and we were not there in the height of the tourist season, so I cannot speak to conditions then, but, for an early September long weekend, we were quite happy.

Room Tip: Unless you're really dying for an oceanfront, balcony, the ocean view rooms on the top floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    38
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gansevoort, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We left our room for lunch, came back after housekeeping staff finished cleaning our room. Gifts we bought for our family were stolen, owners notified, no apology offered, no further correspondence from owner as promised. Lock up everything if you stay at this motel.

Room Tip: lock up your personal items
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancnurse109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The hotel is in the absolute best spot right on the beach in all of Maine. We go there every year and will continue to do so, although it is very taxing at times. The young couple who own it are great, but they have a nasty old woman straight out of a B movie motel murder scene work the desk most of the time, so whatever you do you better not have a complaint. The rooms are small, the eletrical service needs a complete upgrade to code and the air conditioners never work. I tried to complain to the nasty lady at the front desk and she basically hung the phone up on me. In room temperature with the AC working at day reached 81 degrees, thankfully there was a slight ocean breeze that allowed the heat to dissipate at night. I understand the pressures of running a small business, but they never put any money into the place. Again the location can not be beat. They do have a pool but the energy saving level of temperature they set the pool at, you might as well swim in th eocean. The eastern European maids they have do a adequate job cleaning, but never expect your sheets replaced no matter how long you stay. The bath towels are few and very small and they do not offer any pool towels. They distribute insignificant bars of soap and shampoo. With rates being close to $300 a night, I just do not understand why they don't add $5 or so on the nightly to at least make it look like they are thinking of you wiht regard to the little things. Again if you have Spartan needs when traveling and our simply focused on staying ON the beach in Maine this is a great place. Again the young couple hwo bought it are great, but its been a while since their purchase and their focus on client needs versus there needs has shifted quite a bit in last few years......

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The rooms are a bit small and dated with a cramped bathroom, but the location is awesome. We enjoyed people watching from our balcony!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wimberleydlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a reservation for two nights in August with a deposit for the first night -- decided a few days before our trip to let the second night go and sent an e-mail to that effect. Then another e-mail the next day when there was no response. When I got through on the telephone I learned that the line on the web site reading, "reservations cannot be shortened after arrival" actually means that reservations cannot be shortened within ten days of arrival. My mistake, apparently, and we will be shelling out over $400 for our one night (or forfeit the $200+ deposit) to pay for that error. Wish it was at least a beachfront room! It's my husband's 50th birthday and I plan to pay the balance in cash so he doesn't find out as this would surely ruin the day for him. Since I write and edit for a living I thought I'd better let others know as this policy just wasn't clear to me from the web site.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dublinsabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We generally stay in higher end places so my review may be skewed. Friends rent a house in Maine. In order to stay on the beach in wells you have only two choices: atlantic and Lafayette.

The Atlantic has a stellar location but the place is run down and dumpy. 3 threadbare towels a day, dollar store shampoo and soap, very dated bathroom. For almost 300 per night it's a no go in my book. Lafayette is nicer all around.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdubb518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshires
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We arrived on our 46th anniversary, May 22. We have been coming to this motel for 40 years, and excited moe & more!!! The hosts, Kevin&Deidre are very caring people &
really make us feel welcome. They always ask if there's anymore they can do. We used
to stay on the second floor which has a private balcony. Since my wife's stroke, she
can't climb the stairs, wa stay on the ground floor,oceanview. We can sit at the table &
see the ocean, in fact, high tide, we are around twenty feet from the water. Can't beat it!
We highly recommend this location. Mary Lou & Alan Daly

Room Tip: Reserve very early.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brusty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
756 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Motel

Property: Atlantic Oceanfront Motel
Address: 37 Atlantic Ave, Wells, ME 04090-0386
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Oceanfront Motel is a direct oceanfront motel on beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Watch the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean without ever leaving the comfort of your bed. Enjoy spectacular ocean vistas from your own private balcony, cool-off in the outdoor pool with expansive sundeck or relax on 7-miles of sandy beach. Spacious wonderfully appointed and renovated guest rooms and suites with air-conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, balconies and more. Family-friendly, family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing