We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't get closer to the Beach than here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Can't get closer to the Beach than here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Spent three days in low season May looking at the sea (too cold for swimming) and going to sleep to the sound of the surf. A very clean well situated motel on Wells Beach. Rooms very well equipped, comfy Queen beds, fridge & microwave, separate WC-Bath from sink. Lovely balcony overlooking beach. Pool and sunning area behind motel.

Room Tip: All but very few rooms are oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandNMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    37
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Husband and I stayed during a recent off-season weekend for one night. Hotel room was clean and had a fabulous view of the ocean. We had a 3rd floor room and really can't complain about anything, except, it was a third floor room - no elevator! Ordinarily, this would be a turn-off, but for only one night, we had very little luggage. I would not want that room if I were there for a week with heavy luggage.

The exterior of the buildng leaves a little to be desired, but all is well when you reach your room. We arrived at high tide. When we stepped onto the balcony, it was amost as if you were actually in the ocean. This is what you come to Maine for!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisingaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Conveniently located a few extra miles from Maine Shopping Mall, Portland, this hotel has become a favorite! A walk on the beach at sunset relieves accumulated stress. It is worth the extra miles and expense; especially out of season rates attract.

Room Tip: Room #9 had a balcony looking over the sea. There was a stairs to climb (second floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graceNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed the last week open for the season. Outdoor pool closed, no big deal since it was very cold. Indoor parking a bit tight and low clearance for my pickup, not a big deal but worth considering, especially during crowded dates. No coffee service available in the lobby, no breakfast and such. What you pay for is a very nice, very clean room overlooking the Ocean. Even in the off season, these rooms are not cheap. A better price than the Lafayette just up the street, but, given the amenities, and the very low occupancy, it seemes to be a little much to me.. Friendly staff. Good beach access.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnyvous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We love the location of this motel it is right on the beach in Maine and October weather is usually nice enough for beach strolls close to many antique shops and good restaurants so go and enjoy! Also not too far to Portland which has a great shopping area on commercial street

Room Tip: Again second floor. Nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linkphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

We found the Atlantic Oceanfront Motel to be a great place for our family of four. The two boys - and we - loved the wonderful beach. Once high tide was coming in, we grabbed our stuff and rushed to the nic hotel pool. Our poolside room was nice and big, spotless clean and even had partial seaview ;-) We are definitely recommendinqg this place. Lucky us we found it!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank telemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agawam, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is a very convenient spot to stay because it is directly on the beach in Wells, Maine. The room was very clean and the doulbe beds were small, but very comfortable. The ladies we met that cleaned our room were fabulous; friendly and helpful.

They have one parking spot for each toom here, and the parking is VERY tight.

The front desk was less than helpful. The lady who checked us in was grumpy, at best. She was quick to let me know how much she works and does not get to enjoy the beach. Not a happy person at all....

Do not talk at the top of the stairs to the beach from the second floor of the motel, or you will get yelled at. Same grumpy front desk lady told another person and I to move along. We were having a five minute conversation; exchanging pleasantries and being nice to each other. It was about 8:30 pm. We were not being loud, we were talking in normal voices, outside, at the top of the stairs to the beach. The grumpy front desk lady was rude and it was rather upsetting.

Other then the grumpy front desk person, which truly bothered me, this is a nice spot.

Room Tip: We had room 21, not an ocean view, but just steps from the stairs to the beach. We had two windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.2 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#10 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Motel

Property: Atlantic Oceanfront Motel
Address: 37 Atlantic Ave, Wells, ME 04090-0386
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Oceanfront Motel is a direct oceanfront motel on beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Watch the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean without ever leaving the comfort of your bed. Enjoy spectacular ocean vistas from your own private balcony, cool-off in the outdoor pool with expansive sundeck or relax on 7-miles of sandy beach. Spacious wonderfully appointed and renovated guest rooms and suites with air-conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, balconies and more. Family-friendly, family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing