We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard but brand new and updated furnishings and wow wow wow ocean views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I was completely surprised at how sparkling clean and lovely our room was. I was fully expecting sand and 80s wallpaper. Instead I found that we could still see the ocean from our "poolside" room (and hear it! What a sound!) And a granite vanity top/ sink.. And a decent sized mini fridge. Small breakfast table with chairs. Brand new microwave. Flat screen TV. There were so many nice touches like that. The clerk was extremely pleasant on the phone. I'm already trying to come up with an excuse to come back. Room was a little pricier than others we considered but I would not change a thing!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for a getaway in October 2009 and it was great then; the ocean view rooms with their own balcony enable you to sleep with the slider open and hear the waves all night! Access to the ocean is easy and literally just a few steps away! Just stayed this past weekend (Oct. 2013) and were surprised to find the rooms freshly renovated...the beds were soooo comfortable! Covered parking for our Harley was helpful and walking distance to Billy's Chowder House was handy! A little pricey but not too bad off season. Would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Try for oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lady that took are reservation was a little bit rude. Then when we arrived we had 2 other conversations with her. The 3rd she was very sarcastic. Not impressed with her. Gray haired lady in her 60's? Room was clean except for a little hair in the tub. Room was priced higher then most but it was beach front hotel. We did not have a water front room. Overall I would stay agian but next time I am going to try a different hotel.

Room Tip: Dont take any crap from the gray haired lady at the desk. Thats my tip. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place away from home was better than I expected. I simply cannot say just how much I enjoyed my stay at Atlantic Oceanfront Motel in Wells, Maine. The balcony room I had was more than just a balcony. The rooms are so well kept up. There was one service person I will never forget and neither will the entire family. Her name is Stephanie Dorr. She was always so helpful and always had a great big smile. I can't remember the last time I remember a service person with a smile. She went beyond her responsibilities and made our stay so pleasurable that I have to say I will come here again and it is all because of her charm and the way she welcomed the entire family as if it were her own house we were staying in. Thanks Stephanie and thank you all of you that made our stay such a pleasurable memory. Not to mention the view of the ocean was spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Escalade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our family of four just returned home from three nights at the Atlantic Oceanfront Motel. Price is well worth the convenience of being right on the ocean. Beautiful views from the double queen room with the private balcony. Wouldn't stay anywhere else! Very little noise. We we're in room #5 on the poolside. Never heard a peep from people in the pool and the people on the beach below the balcony did not bother us. This is a quiet motel that is family run and orientated. Just about everyone there had kids from babies to teens. The parking is tight but were told this upon making reservations. A nice refrigerator, microwave, and small coffee pot make breakfast and lunch quick and easy. I would much rather pay to stay here than $100 a night up on route 1 with no view of the ocean, trek everyday to the beach by foot with everything we need to enjoy a day at the beach or fight for parking. Atlantic Oceanfront Motel makes your trip to the ocean feel like you're living at the ocean. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Definitely go with the oceanfront private balcony with two queen beds or the corner king oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheererFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

On a lark, we went into the hotel office one day when visiting Wells Beach on a day trip. We had stayed at other hotels in the area with various results. We enjoy Wells Beach because it is, perhaps, the best walking-jogging beach in the Northeast and we wanted to spend a few days there. We also like the fact that this hotel is right on the beach, just steps away from the sand.
We asked the desk clerk to show us a sample room just to see that place. We were both impressed by the accommodations and liked the friendliness of the staff. We found they work very hard to make the hotel a nice place to stay. We immediately booked three nights for the 4th of July weekend after seeing the room. When we showed up a few days ago, we enjoyed the fresh feel of the rooms, having found out that they have renovated every room. The king sized bed was very nice along with all the other extras - the soaps, lotions, coffee and everything else. Some rooms are a little small - some are quite large. And of course, the rooms facing the ocean with a private balcony are simply the best. The hotel seems like a family run lodge and everyone was very helpful.The only negative is the tight parking situation, but this is Wells Beach, and parking is always an issue. But, one of the highlights of the hotel is the outdoor pool, which is shielded by the rooms from the ocean and can be very refreshing when the beach is just too hot.
We hope to visit again real soon.

Room Tip: There are a few larger rooms on the ends of the building, ask about their availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank radio66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

You are on the beach ,the tide comes to your door step,great place out of season more than likely
Would certainly avoid the place in season the rooms are very small,expensive you would have to spend your nights in a very noisy surrounding plus more than likely on a hot summer day you would have to keep both doors open and share your holyday with a crowd that might be surprising .
An image ,Hop in sardine this is your tin can ......

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belette04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
874 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#13 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,050 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Motel

Address: 37 Atlantic Ave, Wells, ME 04090-0386
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Oceanfront Motel is a direct oceanfront motel on beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Watch the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean without ever leaving the comfort of your bed. Enjoy spectacular ocean vistas from your own private balcony, cool-off in the outdoor pool with expansive sundeck or relax on 7-miles of sandy beach. Spacious wonderfully appointed and renovated guest rooms and suites with air-conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, balconies and more. Family-friendly, family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing