We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billy's Chowder House

Billy's Chowder House
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Meh....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Billy's is consistently consistent. I only ever go off-season, but the service is always mediocre and the chowder acceptable. This year, we so split a huge salad and some remarkably fresh and tasty fish and chips. Generally, I'm a steamers-in-Maine kind if girl, but l choose Billy's when I want a simpler dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Bojap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    311
    143
    56
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
conn
Level Contributor
141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Seafood was just ok, for the price I expected more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went to Billy's on a recommendation and was slightly disappointed. Enjoyed the clam chowder. Ordered the baked stuffed lobster, it came to the table cool, stuffing was mushy and lacked any real taste. Baked potato was good though. For the steep price I didn't feel it was worth it. Had Maine blueberry ice cream which was good. Waitress could have visited the table after we started out entrees, maybe the baked lobster could have been corrected. Service wasn't as attentive as I would have liked, needed more drinks and was unable to order before the end of service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddavep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The name says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

By the time we ate at Billy's chowder house, we were 5 days into our New England trip. So we had already dined on Chowder and lobster in Boston. Billy's chowder is by far the best. Huge pieces of clams in a delicate chowder and not overly thick. Perfect, is my assessment. In fact, my husband refused to order chowder for the rest of the trip because he knew he would be disappointed! The lobster was cooked to perfection and the coleslaw was a great addition. Our waitress was so friendly, which added to the whole experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stopped by this restaurant on my way to the beach late in the day. The menu is primarily sea food but there is also a bar for cocktails, beer, and wine. It appears this is a usual stop for locals in the area. The restaurant is located on the water just before Wells Beach . Nothing fancy but it does have a good flow of customers. Possible wait for a table. Food was good and prices fair. The chowder was excellent. Service in the bar area was good. No complaints, and I would go there again on my next trip to the Maine coast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Seems like a place for locals and visitors. Food was very good and we enjoyed our night.
It is a very busy place and parking it at a minimum but you can use their valet service

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Billy's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing