We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Accomodations & Excellent Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 9 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Van Nuys, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Accomodations & Excellent Hosts”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is my 4th stay at this charming Bed & Breakfast. The rooms are tastefully appointed and it is small enough so that you feel at home. The freshly made cooked to order breakfast was delicious along with an assortment of home baked goods was wonderful. The location is perfect, far enough out of town to be quiet but only a few minutes from all the activities. Michael & Bill are so welcoming and made sure my stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
160
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mass
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I would highly recommend the holiday guest house bed and breakfast. It was beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean, and conveniently located. The room was spacious enough, beds comfortable and shower had plenty of hot water and pressure. The inn keepers were extremely gracious and did everything possible to make sure we were comfortable. The price of the room included a delicious hot breakfast, served in a sun room overlooking the garden. There were even baked cookies in the dining room every day. My husband is a light sleeper and the noise from the road kept him awake the first night. I didn't find it to be a problem and had a good night sleep. The second night, my husband wore ear plugs, and slept soundly. If one is a light sleeper, I would recommend ear plugs, or request a room in the back of the house. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salbanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Michael and Bill are gracious hosts. From the homemade cookies to the delicious breakfast, we couldn't have asked for more. The room was immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. We highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville Valley, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at Holiday Guest House. Bill and Michael were incredibly nice and attentive to our every need. They made us feel right at home. The rooms are immaculate, the bed comfortable, the breakfasts perfectly delicious. At their recommendation we had dinner at Joshua's in Wells which turned out to be the best meal of our entire trip, despite that we stayed at (and ate at) the overrated Samoset Resort in Rockport, ME on this trip. We highly recommend Holiday Guest House!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creaky_Kneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I highly recommend the holiday guest house to anyone looking for a romantic place to stay while in the Ogunquit/Wells area. Bill and Michael are exceptional hosts, from the delicious baked goods (cookies and banana bread and coffee cake, oh my) to pointing out great places to visit and arranging transport to same. The Eleanor Roosevelt room was beautiful, and I really appreciated the private pool area, which was immaculate. We were well taken care of and also in close proximity to too many wonderful restauraunts--we will have to return for more soon! Thanks also to Snickers for our enthusiastic greeting.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleeniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the charming Holiday Guest House. The room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. Bill and Michael were gracious hosts who made us feel right at home. The gourmet breakfast was a daily treat. The house is lovely and conveniently located. We travel a great deal and have seen the very best and the worst - Holiday Guest House ranks among the top B&B's we've visited. We were just a short drive to beaches, shopping and theater. Terrific restaurants abound. You could not ask for nicer hosts/innkeepers than Michael and Bill. I certainly wouldn't want to leave Snickers out of the review - he's a little charmer! I can see why other guests return time and again. We surely will do the same. Anna M., New Jersey

Room Tip: The Littlefield room was large and beautiful. Rooms in the back of the house would probably be a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My visit to the Holiday guest house was an absolute joy. The owners treat you like friends and are so helpful in directions, shopping, sites or just good conversation. The BB is lovely and the room was beautiful. Had a wonderful night sleep and only the aromatic smell of a breakfast got me motivated to leave the most comfortable of beds. The breakfast was fantasic. Must try the cinnamon cake and banana bread. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,025 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haven By The Sea B&B Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holiday Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 68 Post Rd, Rte. 1, Wells, ME 04090-3801
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Guest House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your visit to Maine in a 19th century guest house full of tradition & elegance. Holiday Guest House, built in 1814, has a long distinguished history of offering travelers exceptional accommodations and convenience to all of southern Maine's attractions. Eleanor Roosevelt was a guest here in 1947 and we have named that guest room after her. All of our rooms are clean, spacious and offer Private Baths, a/c, flat screen cable TV, Ceiling Fans, Mini Fridge, Iron/Ironing Board, Luxurious Bedding and furnishings. Every morning you'll be served a full, home cooked, Delicious Breakfast in our glassed in breakfast porch over looking the gardens. Whether your vacation includes lying on the beach, fishing, antiquing, restaurants, or night life Holiday Guest House is centrally located to enjoy them all. We are a short walk or trolley ride to, shopping, restaurants, the beaches, Perkins cove, the Marginal Way, the Ogunquit Playhouse and the Ogunquit village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Guest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Guest House Bed & Breakfast Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing