We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine Getaway”
Review of Majestic Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Regency
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent three nights and all went well. We even had unexpected company and they let them stay in the room on cots for only $10.00. Breakfast included donuts from a local bakery filled with real blueberries. Nice pool and tennis court and with so much to do with a hop on the trolley to the beach or stores.

Room Tip: There is a restaurant and bar next door behind the north wing and if your a light sleeper or don'...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwestTraveler644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Majestic Regency
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had stayed here years ago so thought we would try it again. But never again.

Doors to room could be picked with a hairpin. No chain or security locks. Bulb in lamps could not have been more than 40 watts. TV was probably 10 yaers old. Bed was about the best thing, but linens were old and yellow looked like flour sacks sown together. Bath was ok. If you used your roll of TP that was no backup had to use tissues. Towels were like hand towels and you could see thru them. Had to rquest an iron and the one thing missing was a hair dryer of all things.

The worst thing was the carpets. After walking on the barefooted feet were black and I mean black probably have not been vac'd in quite a long time.

Pool was ok. Breakfast was muffins, bagels, from market basket. Butter etc sat for hours not covered nor keep cold.

We checked out on 09/02 and sign said $49 don't even think it was worth that. Some posts say room was clean

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhtravsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stopped for two nights at this well-situated motel. Excellent position by main road through Wells - 15 minutes from beautiful beach.

Bedrooms straight out of the '70s - avocado suite included. Spotlessly clean but looking tired.

Free breakfast of satisfactory quality. Donuts, bagels, coffee and juice etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Leamingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I spent three nights at the Majestic Regency, and it was worth it! The room was clean, breakfast was free and the trolley afforded the access to all areas of Wells and Ogunquit. The staff of the Majestic were very accommodating with my requests. Although the motel is older, it was perfect for my long stay. I will be back!

Room Tip: First floor rooms had easy access.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hickyburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. While it is an older hotel and could use some updating it was very clean and convenient to everything. The pool area was nice and also had a good tennis court. There were picnic tables and a row of gas grills. Complimentary breakfast was offered and included juice several selections of cereal, bagels,English muffins, toast, coffee and tea..and the most delicious donuts. We were able to bring our small dog with us for just $10.00 extra a night. I know other people have written disparaging remarks about the hotel but we did not find it musty or dirty. One of the best things is the trolley that stops right in the complex that takes you to Ogunquit and also Wells beach. If you have trouble with stairs make sure you ask for a first floor room. Don't go if your expecting luxury..but if your looking for a reasonably priced hotel, give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that may have been more recently updated
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I needed to stay in Ogunquit for one night and picked this hotel because it was less expensive than others available and had everything we wanted. We were not disappointed. The room was clean and the grounds well cared for. They had free Wi-Fi and a large heated pool. A nice breakfast was included in the price. My only complaint would be about Ogunquit itself. The traffic is horrible especially going north.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This place is Horrible! Don't do it. Everything is broken. The rooms are very old and musty. The pool is murky and unkept. There is a little coffee pot which is filthy. We will not be back, this place was so so disappointing. Don't be fooled by the website.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.2 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
337 reviews
3.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.7 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#12 of 28 in Wells
161 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Regency

Address: 102 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-3802
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: £38 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best value on the Southern Maine Coast! Pet Friendly and Kids Sleep for Free! Five acres of summer fun right on Route One. Basketball, shuffle board, tennis, large heated pool, outdoor fire pit, and outdoor movies. Free continental breakfast with freshly-baked donuts and apple fritters from Congdon's. A short 3/4 walk to Moody Beach or take an Ogunquit or Wells trolley to beaches and other attractions. Several types of rooms and suites with kitchenettes available. Come on in for a some Irish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Majestic Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Majestic
Majestic Regency Motel Ogunquit
Majestic Regency Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing