We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously Simple- and! Considerate”
Review of Majestic Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Majestic Regency
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Wells
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulously Simple- and! Considerate”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This isn't the Ritz-Carlton, but I'd stay again happily. The sheets smell GREAT, the rooms are spotless. And we came in late, and they left our key, held our reservation, and literally left a light on! We were tired, and then thrilled. I can't recall any business being that considerate in a long time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunrize119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    95
    58
    33
    35
See reviews for
89
105
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed only one night, and it was fine for that. The hotel does show its age, the staff seems to keep everything well maintained and it was very clean. The bed was OK, but not great. Also, it had an older CRT TV and not a flat screen. They had a large breakfast area and it was well stocked with cold items, nothing hot but the coffee. Since we did not stay very long, no rating on the pool and surrounding grounds. We paid about $77 for the weekend night in Oct. The area was packed, so the price seemed fair.

Room Tip: 2 story motel style; so I would suggest getting second story room away from the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hummel_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Before we traveled with our dog, we would have never given this place a second look.
First let me say we have spent time in some of the best hotels in the US, and this clearly is not one of them. Its old, no flat screens, no fancy shampoo, and not at all soundproof.
BUT if you relax your expectations....It is way better than the price would have you think.
Easy in, lots of parking, clean sheets, hot water,TV works, Free coffee and (very good) donuts in the AM.... and they will take your dog!
We paid under $60 including tax.
Last I knew you could pay almost that much to stay in a RV park, and you need to bring your own hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandNLakeGeorge_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Service here was outstanding. I have been to many higher priced hotels that were not even close to being this clean. Yes it is dated, but who cares! Cleanliness, service, and price are what matters to me and they have aced it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellfish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We come up to Maine twice a year and always stay here. Yes, it is a dated older motel, but it is clean and comfortable and the price includes a continental breakfast, which is cereal, juice, coffee, tea and various breads, muffins and doughnuts.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinckneyville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We went during the fall season after lobsterfest and before the leafers come in and take it all over there. Our hotel was nice. Sure, it was and older place, but the people were all friendly from the staff to the people staying there and we had a clean place to stay for 3 days with good beds, fresh towels, and friendly neighbors at a convenient spot.

They have a firepit set up every night along with tennis courts and a swimming pool. They also have several grills if you want to cook up your own food there too. There are also several businesses, shops, and restaurants within walking distance too.

There were 3 of us in our room and we had a fine time. The trolley turns around in their parking lot and comes through every 20-30 minutes to take you anywhere you want to go for $1.50 a ride.

My only complaint was the breakfast building. There was a wide variety of bagels, toast, cereal, and doughnuts along with great coffee. The problem was the families with 6 kids that came through every morning to get a free breakfast when they weren't staying there. There was an elderly gentleman that came in for free breakfast everyday too, but he was clean, friendly, pleasant, and I think he had a deal with the owners of the hotel to get that breakfast. We didn't think it was proper or ok for families to pull up, stop, pile out their 6 kids, and raid the breakfast building with the paying customers staying at the hotel. I understand families struggle and with 6 kids things have to be rough. But that was unacceptable and wrong and I don't think it was so much of the hotel allowing it as it was the family was very fast about running in and loading down with breakfast food everyday.

We are from Southern Illinois and if we ever make it back to Maine again we will definitely choose The Majestic and recommend it to anybody heading out that way. Thank you for a great vacation and wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are great. We had a room on the bottom floor and either nobody above us or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our stay at the Majestic Regency was a pleasant experience.
The grounds were well kept with the grass mowed ,the shrubs neatly trimmed and no trash or litter to be seen.
The room was clean and brightly painted. the walls, ceiling, trim and doors were scuff free. Bed was comfortable.
The furniture shows its age but nothing was broken.
The breakfast is in a meeting room and included several varieties of cereal,
fresh doughnuts, toast, and bagels.
I recommend this motel as a good value for the budget minded traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
1.9 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
0.7 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#15 of 28 in Wells
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Regency

Property: Majestic Regency
Address: 102 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-3802
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best value on the Southern Maine Coast! Pet Friendly and Kids Sleep for Free! Five acres of summer fun right on Route One. Basketball, shuffle board, tennis, large heated pool, outdoor fire pit, and outdoor movies. Free continental breakfast with freshly-baked donuts and apple fritters from Congdon's. A short 3/4 walk to Moody Beach or take an Ogunquit or Wells trolley to beaches and other attractions. Several types of rooms and suites with kitchenettes available. Come on in for a some Irish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Majestic
Majestic Regency Motel Ogunquit
Majestic Regency Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing