We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING TIME!”
Review of U.S. Rafting

U.S. Rafting
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located on the National Scenic Byway, just steps from the Dead River. The West Forks is the center of outdoor recreation in western Maine and attracts visitors each season who come to enjoy the area's many activities.Rafting trips include helmet, PFD, paddle, lunch, & guide! $129 a person and bring a tip for the guide.We can help you find camping or stay at our new location, "The Outpost"!We do birthday parties, bachelor & bachelorette parties, family reunions, kid's camp, and Boy & Girl Scout groups too!We also rent canoes and kayaks and offer over night camping trips and hiking trips.
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My two friends and I decided to take a 4th of July Girls Weekend North - let me just say ... BEST TIME EVER! We had the most incredible time and our tour guide Tom was amazing! The hospitality and friendliness of the staff was off the charts. We can't WAIT to get back at least one more time this year. We are groupies for life!

Thank MsBurns24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USRafting, Manager at U.S. Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Tom will be happy to hear the great feedback! Welcome to the US Rafting Family and make sure you come back and see us real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dead river"
in 29 reviews
"kennebec river"
in 32 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 44 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 21 reviews
"great company"
in 8 reviews
"steak"
in 11 reviews
"great trip"
in 12 reviews
"brought snacks"
in 3 reviews
"wet suits"
in 3 reviews
"great sense of humor"
in 4 reviews
"the entire trip"
in 4 reviews
"second half"
in 3 reviews
"this past weekend"
in 4 reviews
"water release"
in 5 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 6 reviews
"outpost"
in 18 reviews
"blast"
in 36 reviews
Filter

201 - 205 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The whole package was fantastic. The people there were very laid back and extremely helpful. The accommodations were great; we weren't really sure what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. There's a community style kitchen and common rooms which are ideal if you want to cook your own food. One can also just hang out and relax on one of the couches with one of the many books, movies or board games. There's also a very nice pellet stove for when the weather is cool. The raft trip was extremely good and our guide Ryan only seemed to make it better. A great guide who is also a cool guy who really made sure everyone was attended to and had a good time. He even brought some snacks and some much welcomed punch on the trip. We are definitely coming back and a lot of our friends want to come too.

Thank EastonRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USRafting, Manager at U.S. Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Glad Ryan took good care of you! Welcome to the US Rafting Family and can't wait to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very we'll organized from the safety talk to the bar b q. Loved out guide Johnny Mac! We had a blast...lots of adrenaline rushes, stories and laughs. Would go again

Thank Bayview03909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USRafting, Manager at U.S. Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Glad you had fun! Everyone is loving Johnny Mac this season! Hope to see you soon and welcome to the US Rafting Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I went on this adventure as part of a group of 6 teacher's "We survived the school year" celebration. A few of us were a bit apprehensive and most had never done a rafting trip before. I had rafted (not in ME), and had fallen out, so was a bit nervous (about the temperature of the water in particular.) We stayed at the outpost lodge the night before- very clean, beds ok, rooms good temperature, plenty of hot water in showers. A kitchen with everything you'd need if you wanted to cook dinner/breakfast was available, large and clean. A common area had three large comfortable couches, a few tables/chairs, a flat-screen tv and a huge selection of DVD's, books, games, etc. There are five (six?) bedrooms (some seemed to have their own bath/shower). Some bedrooms seemed to have one double bed (when we peeked in upon arriving...no one else was there yet). At least three of the rooms have bunk beds and a double bed, so large enough for 3 (4 if you're small!). We had a room with no bath, but not one of us had to wait for the bathroom/shower.
Now to the rafting- it was fantastic. They were doing the Kennebec and the water was 4800cfs (if that means anything to you), so there were some Class IV rapids. Not to worry- it was fun, safe, scary, and did I say fun? Two of us fell out at Magic (Hole?) but it happens so quickly and you've been prepped by your guide as to what to do, and you're 'saved' so quickly, you almost don't even know you went over (yes,I was one of the two!) It happens so quickly and you're back in the raft so fast you don't even have time to notice the temp of the water or to get cold. As a matter of a fact, later, when we were given the option to jump out and float down a small rapid I was one of those who went for it - fun, but the water was coooold (the raft picks you up right after the rapids). When the trip was over (I think we probably got on the water around 10:15ish and took out around 1:15ish), I would have gone back and done it all over again. Every one of us has agreed that we will make rafting with US Rafting a yearly end of the school year tradition- next year we'll talk more of our staff into coming along. I am also going to give a trip to my husband, brothers and nieces as a Christmas present (I'll go along of course!)
US rafting: guides are VERY personable, safety conscious, and experienced. We all had an absolutely fabulous time.

Thank divetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USRafting, Manager at U.S. Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you had a great time and welcome to the US Rafting family! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Johnny Mac (our guide) made the trip for us! Even my teenager was smiling the entire day! Can't wait to go back!

Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USRafting, Manager at U.S. Rafting, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Glad Johnny Mac took great care of you! He's a fun guide. Welcome to the US Rafting family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U.S. Rafting also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing