We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orakei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nautical Nook Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Orakei B&B and Inns
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great hosts!”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Keith and Trish were very warm and welcoming! We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and the experience of going out into Auckland Harbour on a sailboat! Thanks, Keith, for the thrilling and spectacular trip! The location to Auckland city was perfect as we only had a few minute drive into the city, parked, and travelled on the bus routes to explore the museums, etc. Close by were many restaurants to choose from. They were situated along the bay and in this quieter area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb07_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
45
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Thanks to Trish and Keith for their wonderful hospitality, super muffins and a great sail. the location is ideal for exploring Auckland and the hosts are very helpful in ensuring you get the most out of your stay. We would not hesitate to come your way again. All the best.

Room Tip: The king room with the ensuite is most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I chose this place for it's reasonable tariff and location adjacent to the Triathlon cycle course. I was pleasantly surprised to find it so good. I stayed for 8 nights including the week before the Triathlon World Championships on 22 October 2012. My wife joined me for the last 3 days. We received excellent service - beyond that normally expected The beds are comfortable, the rooms nice, the view of the ocean from the large living room and balcony is superb. My triathlon bicycle was safely locked in the garage. Thanks Kieth and Trish, we'll be back at the next opportunity.
The purpose of our trip was for me to race in the Triathlon. I was able to ride the cycle course 3 times before the race.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in October 2012. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits even when arriving at 11pm. Nautical Nook is very comfortable and Trish and Keith are great hosts. The breakfast set us up for the rest of the day. It is very conveniently located in Okahu Bay within minutes of central Auckland and attractive surroundings (Mission Bay etc). Trish and Keith managed to include a sailing trip around Auckland Harbour which was a great experience.
Nautical Nook felt like home from home for us. We highly recommend it as a place to stay and relax when visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robd1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

What a grand welcoming to NZ! Trish and Keith treated us with warm and welcoming atmosphere.
Nice and comfortable room and beds this place is ideal for exploring Auckland and its surroundings with excellent bus connections to downtown city. We were also trated with a fantastic sailing tour of the harbor towards Brown Island and back. Good winds made this quite a treat. Sadly we have to continue our trip, but hopefully we will return! Definitly recommendable.
Mats & Jana from Sweden

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mats_N1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kagoshima, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed our last 2 nights in NZ at Nautical Nock B&B. Keith and Trish were kind enough to teach us how to spend in Auckland . It seemed they really love Marine life. Color of our room was unified into blue and there were many decorations related to the sea on a breakfast table.(Fish decoration,menu, and even dishes).When breakfast was served , artificial decorations like penguin, kiwi ,captain named after menu choice were put aside on a dish. It was fun.
By a lucky chance we could experience sailing.(although they haven't go out sailing in those 2 weeks because of strong wind .) Weather condition was not so good,but our fist sailing was wonderful. At second night we enjoyed chatting with keith and Trish and keith friend's couple.it was also lovely experience. Thanks to Keith and Trish, We really could relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirari_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just spent a couple of nights at Nautical Nook with my wife and kids over the Xmas period. Trish and Keith welcomed us as only Kiwis know how to do: simply and nicely, with their unique kindness.
Nautical Nook is comfortable and ideally located to discover Auckland and is surroundings (Mission Bay, among other things).
Trish's breakfasts are among the best we had in NZ. We also spent a fantastic morning in the bay of Auckalnd on Keith friend's boat (special thank to Mark).
Don't miss this address if you happen to spend a few days in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moukx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orakei
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,200 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,174 reviews
3.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautical Nook Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautical Nook Bed and Breakfast

Property: Nautical Nook Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23b Watene Crescent | Okahu Bay, Orakei, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orakei
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Orakei
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing