We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An evening sail on Auckland Harbour was thrown in”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orakei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nautical Nook Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Orakei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had selected Nautical Nook from the internet because of its location. We were not disappointed when we arrived and stayed for two nights before driving to the Bay of Islands for three nights and back to stay for one night before we departed New Zealand. Keith and Trish were excellent hosts, and they provided much helpful advice about getting about Auckland and its environs. On our last evening in Auckland we were taken for a sail in "Brass Tacks" on Auckland harbour in sailing conditions that could only be described as excellent - 7 knots with only the head-sail. We now have a better appreciation of Auckland harbour, and have seen all the marks. Our room with en-suite at Nautical Nook was spacious quiet and clean. The breakfasts were sumptuous.

Room Tip: When all rooms are full at Nautical Nook there could be an opportunity to sleep on Brass Tacks at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Nautical Nook - Trish and Keith made us really welcome and our room was very comfortable.
The 'a la carte' breakfasts are excellent and the location is very convenient for a bus ride into Auckland or a visit Mission Bay, but the icing on the cake is to go for a sail in Auckland harbour with Keith aboard 'Brass Tacks' ( their Farr 10.2 metre yacht) - brilliant!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnT28103197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We were so welcomed after a very early flight arrival and over 4 days became good friends. Trish and Keith are fab cooks and so gracious, well-traveled, generous and lovely. Ask for a room upstairs. Perfect location on a park on the bay just a short bus trip into center Auckland. They really enjoy B&B and you will enjoy them and their home!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

After a long flight from London, arriving here was everything we had hoped for and more. We were made very welcome by Trish & Keith who filled us in all all touristy things for Auckland, invaluable.

Nautical Nook's large spacious en-suite rooms were extremely comfortable and the wonderful & appetizing selection available for breakfast truly set us up for the day.

Trish & Keith's b & b is comfortably set outside the hustle & bustle of Auckland city centre, but with quick & easy access to the efficient public transport system that takes you directly into the city.

Thank you both very much indeed for starting of our holiday so well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharlot-roos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Trish and Keith were wonderful hosts. The breakfasts were delicious with a range of cooked breakfasts a la carte. The room was lovely and airy with a huge bed. The bathroom was lovely and Trish dried the towels out in the sun each day for us. Trish and Keith could answer any questions about local traveling (and cruising!). A highlight for us was sailing on a slightly blustery morning on the harbour in Keith's 34 foot yacht "Brass Tacks". Despite being pretty much non-sailors, we enjoyed it very much. The walk around to Mission Bay was lovely the first evening. We can thoroughly recommend fish and chips from the Fish Pot Cafe, while sitting on Trish and Keith's front balcony overlooking Okahu Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJRacklyeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Trish & Keith are great hosts. The room is clean, comfortable and lovely decorated. The wonderful breakfast (designed by Trish) and the Christmas sailing we went with Keith are definitely the highlights. Thank you for making our NZ trip memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watermarkcochet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Thanks to Trish and Keith..I had a lovely staying in Auckland. Everything was so cute in this house. Since it was close to Christmas, the whole house was full of xmas atmosphere. At the day of 21st Dec, which was supposed to be the end of the world, my friend and I went to sail with Keith..lovely trip..i missed that aquatic bedroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy_vividodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orakei
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
751 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,877 reviews
4.1 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
325 reviews
1.7 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#31 of 65 in Auckland Central
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautical Nook Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautical Nook Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23b Watene Crescent | Okahu Bay, Orakei, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Orakei
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Orakei
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing