We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete serenity”
Review of Seaside Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaside Cottages
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Paul's Cottage this past February. Everything we needed was available to us within the walls of our beautiful cabin. Plenty of firewood, modern amenities in the kitchen (so jealous of the stove!), puzzles and Scrabble and comfortable linens. Each thing we thought "I wonder if..." we found.
The location is truly breathtaking - I took so many pictures my iPhone was full. Whatever the weather there are views to be had. We took many walks to the quiet beach and enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the sun rise and set.
This was our second trip to Seaside, having spent a week several summers ago at Aldernest Cottage with family. This was the perfect place for two families traveling together - as the website had promised. Everything we needed was there, and there was enough separation not to feel like we were in each other's space.
My sister-in-law and I trekked the path to the bay each morning and drank our coffee on the rocks watching the birds and crashing waves.
Really love this side of the island, but if you were looking to be right on top of tourist locations you will have a car ride each time you want to get there.
We are looking forward to using the free island bus next time we are up in the summer.
This is one of those rare places where you will be happy as a family or as a couple.
Can't recommend it enough!
(PS - the hosts are great too!)

Room Tip: Aldernest is good if you are traveling as two parties, Paul's Cottage is perfect for the splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MardiR564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

With the amenities provided, Seaside Cottages feels like it's a home away from home. For the price, you cannot go wrongs, especially since you'd spend several times as much at a comparable hotel. Plus, it's right on the water, a huge plus! The owners are as sweet as can be too.

Room Tip: They have 4 cottages to choose from, one with two separate floors to provide 5 rentals to choose fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cabed622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is a beautiful location with access to all that Mount Desert Island and Acadia National Park have to offer. Bring your bikes, your kayaks, your hiking boots and never lack for new and exciting adventures. The cottages are clean and quite functional, private, comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeKirbyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We've stayed in both Pinelodge and Cedarledge cottages and cannot fault either of them. No rusty can openers or chipped plates here! Jay and Kathy do an excellent job in caring for these lovely cottages and maintain and equip them to a high standard. Our children love to play out on the grass or wander down to the rocks and it's safe for them to do so. And the view! Wow! You cannot beat waking up to seeing the ocean directly out of your window, having your morning coffee or tea sitting on the deck and just gazing at the view.
We like the absence of the tv, the kids didn't miss it. And we appreciate the presence of the ipod speakers and the wi-fi.
We like being on the quieter side of the island. Southwest harbor has some great places to eat, a fantastic library (enjoyed by my avid 9 year old reader!). Plus there's some great bike trails and walking trails too.
Jay and Kathy are great hosts - they are there if you need them, but leave you alone to enjoy your vacation. We are disappointed that we can't make it to Acadia this summer as we're oversees but we'll be back just as soon as we can. Seaside cottages are a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinouPir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremont
3.6 mi away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
196 reviews
13.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,770 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ann's Point Inn
Ann's Point Inn
#1 of 3 in Bass Harbor
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Southwest Harbor
135 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cottages

Address: 41 Gunlow Pond Rd, Tremont, Mount Desert Island, ME 04612-3673
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Tremont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tremont
Price Range: £121 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing