We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place for the money”
Review of Wilson Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wilson Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wilton
Certificate of Excellence
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice little place for the money”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Beautiful lake and gorgeous gardens. There were kayaks and life jackets available for use of the guests, and the lake looked clear and inviting for swimming off the dock.

The overall atmosphere was more a bit more motel-ish than Inn-like, (at least in the section we stayed in, though there were some more private, away from the parking area rooms in another building.)

However, the rooms were quiet, clean, and well kept, the front desk staff (Judy and Crystal) were wonderful, giving helpful suggestions for the days activities. The continental breakfast featured delicious blueberry muffins and a yummy looking glazed berry coffee cake. There was also yogurt, oatmeal, and plenty of coffee, tea, and ice.

Not the most romantic place I've been, but wonderful for a quiet, clean (family friendly) place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a more secluded room, opt for the (slightly) higher priced rooms in the back building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    83
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
166
166
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I take vacation every summer and stay here at the Inn/hotel. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The lake and its surroundings are beautiful. We stay here for 8 days and ALWAYS dred leaving. We stay in one of the cabin rooms that has a living room, a full kitchen, a bathroom, and two bedrooms. Big enough for me and my 2 children and my parents. The staff are very good and accommodating. We go kayaking, even the children, and have a blast while doing it. If I had all the money in the world, I'd stay the whole summer :) Forget Florida, Hawaii, or where ever else. It feels like you're breathing fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Okay for the area. On the plus side, very clean, beautiful setting on the lake. Friendly, helpful staff and affordable. Downside, very small awkward bathroom, noisy air conditioner. First thing we saw when we arrived were men lounging on their beds with doors open, and others outside of rooms drinking. Not quite what I expected.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marybee522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca de Iganas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Never did I anticipate the transformation after my previous stay 10+ years ago from a 1 story motel to a fabulous inn. The rooms may be small but the bed was more than enough to make up for room size. The pillows, duvet and linens were divine. The continental breakfast yummy but the gardens were what floored me the most. Stunning! Property location none to shabby either. I am recommending to my family and friends in Wilton and anyone who is within a 50
Mile radius. I especially liked Chrystal and hope when
I stay next I will get to meet the owners

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a beautiful property..it is an older motel so the standard rooms are a bit smaller then your chain hotels but they so make up for it in the hospitality. The staff are so very accomodating and knowledgable about the surrounding attractions..the rooms are so clean and well maintained..my only complaint would be that the air conditioner was right above our bed and being an older model was a bit loud making it hard to hear the t.v...that being said , in my opinion if you are in this area for a vacation you will not find a better or more comfortable hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maliavicars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This little motel is hidden away off Route 2 in Wilton, Maine. Sits on a small lake, with canoes, etc. for the use of its customers at no charge. Rooms and beds are VERY comfortable, with land around the lake to walk. Nice thing is that it is very affordable compared to the chain motels in Farmington. You just have a short drive longer, and well worth it. Only place I'll stay when visiting my son at UMF!

Room Tip: ry to get a room on the 2ND level in the back near the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HUNTRACING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were heading to Northern Maine and decided to cut across Rt. 2. This was the perfect place to stop and spend the night. When we arrived there was a major thunderstorm and the power went out, but the back-up generator was on within seconds. The air conditioning worked, the beds were comfortable and because of the location, the area is extremely quite. In the morning we took the short walk to the lake, what a beautiful sight! My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer and enjoy the grounds and the lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.4 mi away
Colonial Valley  Motel
Colonial Valley Motel
#1 of 3 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mount Blue Motel
Mount Blue Motel
#2 of 3 in Farmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
The Perennial Inn
The Perennial Inn
#2 of 2 in Rumford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
16.1 mi away
Echo Lake Lodge & Cottages
24.2 mi away
Memory Lane Vacations
Memory Lane Vacations
#1 of 2 in Andover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lake Inn

Property: Wilson Lake Inn
Address: 183 Lake Rd, Wilton, ME 04294-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Wilton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lake Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilson Lake Inn is located on the shore Wilson Lake, in the Western Lakes and Mountain region of Maine. Ideally suited, for the corporate traveler as well as families. You will feel at home at our unique and charming inn with affordable rates. Open year round. Call today for the best rates. Located only 3 hours from Boston, MA, 1.5 hours from Portland, ME, two hours from Bangor and 4 hours from Burlington, VT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wilson Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lake Hotel Wilton
Wilson Lake Motel
Wilson Lake Inn Wilton, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing