We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Boathouse !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winter Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MainStay Cottages & RV Park
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Boathouse is a secluded 1 bedroom retreat in a small neighborhood on Henry's Cove in WInter Harbor. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Bar Harbor yet only a scenic hour ferry ride away You can see the ferry dock from the cottage and walk to the dock in about three minutes.

Roger and Pearl were friendly and accomodating. Our cottage had a small kitchen fully stocked withe dishes and pots and pans with a small in-kitchen dining table, a stove, oven, microwave, refrigerator and microwave. Shower off the kitchen. Living area with a couple of chairs but we spent out time out on the deck drinking in the smells of the sea, the cries of the sea birds and the serenity of the cove

There are other cottages on the property but we think the Boathouse is the best because your deck is over the water.and when you're out there it seems like you're the only ones

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Off2SeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights during our honeymoon in October 2012, and I would most definitely stay here again. It's only a short drive from Acadia and Bar Harbor.

We stayed in Ledgelawn, and we had a fabulous view off our deck, but we really wished the Boathouse was open because it's literally on the water, and that would have been even more awesome.

Love that it had a living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. They even have dishes and stuff so you don't have to worry about that. The fire place was a little confusing to get started.

Winter Harbor is very small, but I enjoyed taking a run in the the town and ran across town and down a very scenic road along the harbor. Very cool. The shops close early, and there's only two restaurants in town. We didn't go to either. We did go to the grocery store, which isn't far from the hotel, but you would need a car unless you want to carry something for 3/4 mile.

Cons: If you really want the Bar Harbor experience, book a hotel that is there because after the busy season (we were there in early October), the ferry doesn't run often enough for you to enjoy the night life and the drive from Winter Harbor is 30 minutes or so.

Bottom line: I hope to return to this amazing place, and next time, I would definitely book early enough to get the Boathouse. I would also buy fresh lobster and cook it in the kitchen.

Room Tip: Book the Boathouse if you can! Otherwise, the Ledgelawn is awesome, too, but it isn't directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 562gingerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Boathouse which was very unique and cozy! We spent time in front of the fireplace and out on the deck over the water watching the waves and the boats. Not too far from Bar Harbor and so close to part of Acadia National Park and the beautiful Schoodic Point scenic drive. I enjoyed waking up to the sound of the water and seagulls in the morning!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krispears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in "Little Cranberry" with a one year old. PERFECT! Pearl and Roger are the most friendly and fun loving hosts, they make you feel right at home. We loved waking up to water views and walking down to the beach to find treasures. Such a short drive to Acadia's Schoodic Peninsula, which was AMAZING!....and close to so many other Maine "must sees"! Hike Schoodic Mountain!!! Best view!! A steep and short rewarding hike with blueberries to eat along the way!!!

Very Clean accommodations, very comfortable bed. We will continue to come back!!

Go during Lobster fest! So much fun! Arts and crafts, great food, parade!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEA_R2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The RV park has wonderful views of Winter Harbor's bay and Cadillac Mtn. with access to a small beach for sea glass hunting and perhaps a swim. The RV park has only 10 precious sites with nearly all having complete hookups. Some may feel the sites are close together, but rarely is everyone at home at the same time. It is within walking distance to restaurants, a grocery store, the old fashioned five and dime, and the town's wharf. We love going to the Lobster Festival with crafters, lobster dinners, lobster boat races, parade, and this year - fire works. The Schoodic peninsula which is part of Acadia National Park offers trails and awesome scenery. The enthusiastic owners are terrific tour guides for plenty of things to do and places to see in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Honeywood34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in the Crow's Nest room. First when you enter, there is a private staircase up to a private balcony and entrance to the room. The balcony, containing 2 lounge chairs, overlooks the water.

The room is lovely, with hardwood floors, really comfortable seating, and windows on three sides. The small bathroom contains a sink, toilet and shower. There is a fridge and a coffeemaker, with some essential supplies in a cupboard underneath. Everything was spotless, and the room was visually appealling. It seems that a lot of care has gone into the property, which includes some cottages and a well-positioned RV park. The owners were friendly without being intrusive.

While in Winter Harbor, we hiked up to Schoodic Head (there are three trails: East trail, Anvil and Alder). We also hiked near Steuben, in the Petit Manan Wildlife Refuge area - up Pigeon Hill and then the 1.5 mile Hollingsworth trail to the ocean. The Petit Manan Refuge area is approximately 20 minutes from Winter Harbor.

We ate at Chase's restaurant in Winter Harbor - inexpensive food that hits the spot - and at Bunkers Wharf, a more upscale restaurant with great servers, in Birch Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musicalclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights loved the location & view.walking distance to downtown near the ferry to bar harbor & right next to schoodic peninsula which is one of the prettiest places to ride a bike! We were there for a family wedding we stayed in the little cranberry cottage & my sister stayed in ledge lawn right next door. Cottage are simple & rustic but clean & fully equipped

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovering5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to MainStay Cottages & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Cottages & RV Park

Address: 66 Sargent St, PO Box 459, Winter Harbor, ME 04693-3434 (Formerly Main Stay Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Winter Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Winter Harbor
Price Range: £61 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Main Stay Cottages offer travelers an opportunity to enjoy modern cabins on the shore of Henry's Cove overlooking Cadillac Mountain and Acadia National Park. The 150-year-old boathouse cottage represents the passage of cultures connected to the sea and your hosts are the fifth generation to make their home on this land. Take a step back in time to enjoy the rhythm of the ocean and cool breezes that have attracted visitors for over a century. Winter Harbor... the coolest place t summer ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Main Stay Hotel Winter Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing