We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little gem.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winterport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Winterport Commercial House
Ranked #1 of 1 Winterport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have visited this place twice in a couple of months, beautiful antiques everywhere. The owners are the best, Homemade breakfast. very acommodating, called them from Bangor one night after long day of shopping and Ann just gives us the best route to get back to the B& B. In the mailbox was a letter for me welcoming us back and the directions to get to our room. Lovely. We felt like we had come home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnRonco, Owner at Old Winterport Commercial House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our first experience at a B&B and we didn't know quite what to expect. We arrived right around 6:00 PM and found a note for us at the front door with a code for letting ourselves in. Once inside, just a simple "Hello-o-o" brought Ann right out to great us, get us checked in and show us to our room. The room was pleasant and comfortable, but not elaborate; the bathroom was clean and well-functioning but not “updated” (no granite counter tops and no spiffy sinks and faucets); but it easily met our needs and everything felt clean (I felt comfortable walking around barefoot or in white socks). Breakfasts were good with several options to choose from. Along with quiche, muffins, and bagels each morning there were generous portions of fresh fruit available (pineapple, grapes) along with apples and bananas, and there was a small refrigerator with water and juices which was accessible at all times, and coffee starting early morning. Ann was very accommodating and was able to make good recommendations of restaurants and interesting places to visit in the area (really need to visit Fort Knox and go up in the tower of the new suspension bridge). The inn is on the main street of Winterport and our room was on the front side, just off of the street. Since the weather was perfect with warm days and cool nights, we slept with our windows open at night. Of the three nights we stayed, I got up and closed the window about 6:00 AM when traffic noise started to pick up.
If you are looking for elegant and elaborate furnishings and sumptuous breakfasts this is probably not the place for you. But if you want comfortable, clean, and good value I recommend you try this B&B; we certainly found it more to our liking than another place at which we stayed later in our trip at a significantly higher price. We enjoyed our stay at the Old Winterport Commercial House and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jerrya6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette114, Owner at Old Winterport Commercial House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This B&B is above an antique store, same owners. The rooms are filled with charming antiques and the whole place has a lot of old-flavor Maine items. The hospitality was outstanding. The rooms were very comfortable. The breakfast was good, but not great. Could hear people talking in the nearby rooms and breakfast room, but all in all quiet. A cute town with a few really good dining options. Not too far from nearby spots: Orono, Bangor, the coast. Highly recommended for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette114, Owner at Old Winterport Commercial House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed our area and appreciate you staying with us. Hope you'll come back and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were first time Common Ground Fair goers. I started in January looking for a B & B close to the fair and came upon Old Winterport Commercial House. There was one room left in a double bed. My husband is 6' 4" and when I asked about another room, Ann said she would make a phone call to see if another guest might switch rooms. SCORE! I was Impressed with the hospitality and caring that guests are happy. The Commercial House was built in 1833 and is a historic landmark. The Innkeepers are avid antique dealers and antiques, OLD antiques and clocks are everywhere! The bottom line is, it was very clean, very affordable, VERY comfy beds, nice breakfast and our gluten-free diet was also accommodated. Would we stay there again? YOU BET! Think European B & B and enjoy the quirkiness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhlt8753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette114, Owner at Old Winterport Commercial House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We always try to accommodate our guests as much as possible. Glad your stay was enjoyable and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I absolutely hate leaving a bad review, especially when the owner really was incredibly nice and courteous. In general I don't really blame the owners for this but I feel like the previous reviews people left were miss leading. I almost didn't leave a review due to how wonderful the hosts were but I truly feel like others should be warned. With that being said......

When we first arrived at the B&B the first thing you see is what looks like some run down tents with some old run down 'stuff' underneath, I have no doubt this 'stuff' really was antiques and could be found priceless to many people in the world, but it did not give a great impression when we first came up to the building. It looked as if someone collected too much stuff to fit into the building and it leaked into their parking lot and they weren't sure how to disguise it to not look that way.

We had gotten to the B&B a bit later than we had anticipated and I must admit we did not give them a call to let them know this was going to be the case. Somehow though I still thought we would be greeted by someone when we got there. We instead received a note in the mail box letting us know the code to get in the door and how to find our way to our room. This was a bit disheartening to begin with because it just felt as if we were a second though in the owners agenda. The front doors security code is convenient for the people staying there to get in on their own but I have never stayed at a B&B that even locked their doors. The community I am sure is quaint if you live there and are familiar with it but it was a bit creepy with too much concrete and no grass or 'country' in site, the coded entry made it seem even more creepy.

The bedrooms are not as large as they appear, the photos were taken with wide angled lenses. I am sure their antiques are nice but the bedroom we stayed in had some furniture which was from before the 20th century but had 1980's fabric which was just tacky looking. I feel like with so many antiques downstairs they must have had even just a better chair to put in that spot.

The floors in the pictures, even looking at them now I don't know what I thought they were but they really don't seem to pop out as painted ply wood. Which is what they are.

The bathroom was very clean and well kept but incredibly outdated (in a bad way) with formica flooring and 2X4's holding the sink up. I am really sorry but please be aware if you are looking for a real New England Bed and Breakfast in the country setting which most people imagine when they are driving hours into New England to stay at a B&B this is NOT the place for you. We had reservations for 3 nights we left after the first, and that was mostly due to a lack of other places to stay at that point in the evening.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a classic New England get away, Stay away from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnLikeOtherSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette114, Owner at Old Winterport Commercial House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We appreciate all of our guest’s comments but would like to address some of your issues so that others will also understand our facility.

We are sorry you did not find our place as charming and beautiful as the rest of our guests do, hence the previous positive reviews. There are also reviews via bedandbreakfast.com which have us rated at 4.6 out of 5 which we are proud of after 10 years of running our inn. Perhaps if you had investigated our website better, you would have had a better understanding about what we offer.

Our first floor is an antique shop which means we also sell things outside of our building. We do set up our professional canvas tent during the summer in order to protect certain items from the elements, not to disguise it. Our overall impression from your review is that you do not collect antiques. People visit us year after year specifically on the weekends when our tent is open to see what goodies they can find.

We apologize that we were not here to greet you, but as you stated, you did not call, and therefore, we did not know what time you would be arriving. As stated on our website, we do not have staff at a front desk 24 hours a day and many small b&b’s do not either. As you know, when we are not here, we leave directions for our guests on how to let themselves in and where their room is. You did not have a problem getting in nor finding your room, so we know this system works well. Many of our guests comment that they love this feature so they don’t have to worry about coming in too late and can arrive at their leisure. Yes, we do lock our doors as we do not want people just wondering in who do not have reservations as we are by reservation only. As far as never staying at a b&b that never lock their doors – that’s the innkeeper’s choice. But this is also our home and we have a choice of who we let in.

Winterport is a very quaint and terrific place to live. Regarding your comment about too much concrete and no country – again, if you have visited our website, it does say we are right downtown on Main Street. The picture of our b&b does not show grass frontage, but shows our building right on the Main Street with a sidewalk. Not sure what you mean by “no country” or what you had expected. But we cannot change the landscape.

Regarding the bedrooms, yes, the photos were taken by a professional photographer and did use a wide angle lens. It is the best way to get the entire room in one photo. The room you stayed in measures 12’ x 12’ plus it has a foyer. We do not have suites in our facility. We are sorry you found the chair in your room tacky and not to your own taste, but it is a functional piece of furniture for the room. If it bothered you that much, we would have been happy to switch chairs for you. In fact, we have actually moved furniture around in bedrooms to better accommodate our guests.

Regarding the floors – like many other historic buildings, the flooring is many times plywood and painted. Having a painted floor makes it also easier to clean up after some guests rather than having the carpets cleaned on a weekly basis. No, we do not have wall to wall carpeting, but there is a 7’ 10” runner as well as an 8’7” x 5’9” area rug in the room.

Regarding the bathroom – Glad you found it clean. The formica, again, just not your taste, but functional due to the amount of guests we service.

On a personal comment, we wish you had told us the truth about why you had cut your stay short with us. Not sure we could have solved the issues, but at least could have discussed it so maybe you would have understood better. We also did a favor to you by not charging you for the other two nights which was lost business to us.

We would also like to add that just because some of the items in your room were not to your taste, we do not feel it is a reason to berate a business or tell others not to come here. Please remember that everyone has different tastes and just because it is not to your taste does not make a b&b a bad facility. As we write this, there is a couple in that same room who asks for it twice a year. It also sounds like you wanted sprawling countryside, but that is not who or where we are. We would suggest maybe doing Google Earth prior to your stay elsewhere so you know where you will be. If you wanted a high dollar experience we are not the place. Our rooms are clean, comfortable, and affordable. The great amount of repeat business we have every year says a lot for the building, area, furnishings and the management.

We are EXTREMELY proud of what we offer and hope to continue doing the same for years to come.

Ann & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have stayed at this B&B numerous times over the years when driving to New Brunswick. Love it every time. The rooms are completely charming, the place is clean, the breakfasts are fine and Ann is always a very welcoming hostess and has good tips for the area. Prices are reasonable too for the value received.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shenatoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette114, Owner at Old Winterport Commercial House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We enjoy seeing familiar faces year after year and we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The overhead canopy was waiting for our R1200RT BMW, along with a wonderful room and breakfast in the AM. The BBQ place near by is worth the trip. If you like antiques, this is a place for you, as Ann and Ray have every item for sale and a wonderful antique store to browse through.

Room Tip: Blueberry room is great...shower too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette114, Owner at Old Winterport Commercial House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

It's always been a pleasure having you here. Hope you'll keep us in mind the next time your traveling through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Winterport Commercial House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Winterport Commercial House

Address: 114 Main St, PO Box 589, Winterport, ME 04496-3228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Winterport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Winterport
Price Range: £39 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Bed and Breakfast was originally built in 1833 as a Stagecoach Stop. There are 5 distinct rooms to choose from, all decorated with tasteful antiques and all with private full baths. Room rates include a breakfast each morning consisting of hot & cold cereals, fresh fruits, bread basket of English muffins/bagels, yogurt, and a hot egg dish such as omelets or quiches. Check out our yearly specials. We do offer discounts to Elk Members, cash payments, and 3 consecutive night stays. After breakfast bring your coffee or tea downstairs and wonder through our our 4,000 sq. ft. antique shop. Guests receive an automatic 10% off purchases. The wonder through out town and visit Team Maineia (a great tea lounge) and The Winterport Winery/Penobscot Bay Brewery. Need other suggestions of what to do? That's what we are here for. We would be more than happy to help you plan your day! We also have plenty of brochures to give you ideas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing