We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roost Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Winthrop B&B and Inns
North Bay, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Dave and Shirley were extremely gratious hosts and made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home. We stayed for two nights while attending a family wedding in the area. Within minutes it felt like we were in the company of old friends. They certainly went the extra mile to meet all our needs and even provided a heated rice bag for a strained muscle in my lower back. Breakfast both mornings was incredible with a wide variety of fresh fruit and home baked dishes.
Our rooms were perfect.
An added bonus was watching a flock of wild turkeys in the rear yard.
I would highly recommend the Roost and look forward to returning to spend more time in th area.
Thanks again Shirley and Dave.

Room Tip: We had diner at Sully's in Winthrope and enjoyed a very good reasonably priced meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Dave and Shirley owners of The Roost were wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable in their home. They even let me bake a birthday cake for my daughter during our stay! While we were there another guest dropped her diamond earring down the sink, they took the drain apart and retrieved it for her! They were a good location for us as we were visiting my daughter who is working at the theater in Monmouth. The breakfasts were awesome, fresh fruit, homemade baked goods, waffles one day quiche the next! It was all very good and large portions, more than we could eat! It was so nice, clean, and reasonable that we are staying there again on our return trip to pick up our daughter.

Room Tip: The up stairs room has an air conditioner that might be important to some, we didn't have one do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Dave and Shirley have made their home into a welcoming retreat for people traveling in Maine.
There are three rooms for rent. We stayed in the Hide-a-way, which is upstairs. It is a lovely, clean, well-appointed room. We came and went through the living quarters of the hosts. It was like seeing good friends and they never seemed to mind our comings and goings. We could visit briefly as we went through, or we could just say "Hello" and be on our way.

The room was very quiet and we had our own air-conditioner, which we needed to cool the room in the evenings when we had been gone all day. Eventually each night, we were able to open the windows and enjoy the cool Maine air.

We were guests there for two weeks. Other friends from our state were renting the Loft, which is a private efficiency apartment with a separate entrance. We had breakfast with them each morning on their deck and even cooked a dinner or two there.

Both our room and the apartment were extremely clean and well cared-for. I have never stayed anywhere that I felt so comfortable about the cleanliness.

We certainly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a nice, comfortable and reasonably -priced place to stay. It is not in a tourist area, so each tourist destination requires some driving, but places like Camden and Booth Bay Harbor are certainly reasonable day trips. If you want to go to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, you will want to stay overnight at least one night there.

Room Tip: If you prefer more privacy, choose the Loft. The Hyde-Away is very private, but you do have to ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, MO USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Dave and Shirley were enthusiastic hosts. Breakfast at the Roost was a gourmet event - home cooked and fresh and plentiful. Our room was nicely decorated and the attached bath was large.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orchard Lake, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in the "loft" room located over the garage. It has a living room and fully appointed kitchen. There is also a separate inside and outside entrance with a small deck overlooking a beautiful meadow. Shirley and Dave, the owners, are wonderful hosts, providing delicious breakfasts, interesting conversation and hummingbirds outside your kitchen window. Plenty of soft towels in the bathroom, even a washer and dryer! Everything was very clean and nicely decorated. Our every need was met when requested. We didn't want for anything. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast, its a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillh928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and I spent a lovely weekend at The Roost in mid-July, 2011. We were looking for a little getaway and couldn’t have found a better place for it. It’s out on a lovely country road, near lots of interesting Maine places. Our hosts, David and Shirley, were friendly, cordial, and hospitable. The house and our room and bath were spotless, neat, and comfortable. The breakfasts were to die for. Pancakes with local maple syrup topped the list, along with some amazing baked goods--all provided by Shirley--plus lots of fresh fruit, bacon and sausage, excellent coffee, and more. Get David to serve you some of his moose sausage, produced from his own moose kill--if you’re lucky and there’s any of it left! It was really special. On top of everything else, they provide the friendliest house cat I’ve ever come across. I found it hard to resist smuggling Zoé into our car to take back home. To conclude: you won’t regret planning a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarlat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Brook, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Hosts Shirley and Dave could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Their spotless home is very thoughtfully equipped and prettily decorated. Everything is done with the comfort of guests in mind. Breakfasts included fresh fruit, homemade scones and muffins, fresh eggs and the list goes on. We were treated to our first taste of moose sausage (delicious!) and left with a bag of fresh lettuce from Shirley's garden. You feel really pampered here. It's a great base for touring the area or just relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejm1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winthrop
7.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
799 reviews
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel
7.3 mi away
Axell's Scandinavian Inn
Axell's Scandinavian Inn
#1 of 1 in Manchester
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roost Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roost Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Roost Bed & Breakfast
Address: 195 Annabessacook Rd, Winthrop, ME 04364-3832
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Winthrop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Winthrop
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roost Bed & Breakfast is located in the beautiful lakes region of Winthrop, Maine. Situated on 16 acres of open fields, The Roost is the perfect place to visit for recreation or relaxation. Come enjoy our private patio, or venture out to one of the three lakes within a 5 minute drive. Your hosts Dave Jeffe and Shirley Hyde look forward making your stay unforgettable. It's worth the ride to the countryside! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Roost Bed & Breakfast Maine/Winthrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing