We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Squire Tarbox
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wiscasset Woods Lodge(Wiscasset)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast(Wiscasset)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$190
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagate Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
US$1,089
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mid-Town Motel(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Gate Resort(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
63
25
12
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
25
12
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestport islandoff the beaten pathfresh eggscrab cakeschef mariofrench onion soupscreened in porchyogurtcomfy bedbooth baystayed two nightsshort drivegoatsmarshtownsroute
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Historic building is very interesting but would not recommend the inn. The website gives the impression that food is gourmet and locally grown/organic but we didn't think it was that good - it just seemed heavy with only a few items from their local farm.

There were large dogs in and out of the kitchen and dining room. We didn't realize that pets were encouraged - but they do state that on their website - we just missed that. We also missed the notice of a 13% gratutity on all food and lodging. And there was an additional charge for coffee and tea.

The genre of music was irritating rather than relaxing.

Although the location is remote (the road isn't the best), there were quite a few cars speeding past waking us during the night.

The honor bar was locked up in the evenings which we thought a little funny. There were notes in various places telling guests how to behave - so maybe they have a lot of people who are new to the B&B experience. The guests we saw were not very friendly, which is not our usual experience.

They have chickens and a few skittish goats but they are nothing like the herd of dairy goats and baby goats that were there with the previous owners over ten years ago whose pictures are featured on their materials. I

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SquireT, Owner at Squire Tarbox, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

Trip advisor is tough....any one with a computer can type a review even if they are next to impossible to please! In this case the reviewer wrote two other reviews about nearby places, and one review was titled Red's Eats: No one goes there anymore, its too crowded. Huh??? If no one goes there anymore, then how is it so crowded?? The other review was for an inn that had hundreds of excellent reviews, and many good, and only 7 total that were average or less??? Not sure what the reviewer expects from an inn experience. The reviewer complained about the other guests at our inn, how can we be expected to control this? The reviewer complained about the noise from traffic waking them, yet never asked to be moved to the backside of the inn, which we gladly would have done if we had known there was a problem. The reviewer also complained that we advertised our food as being organic and it wasn't enough...well on our website all it says is that we use organic vegetables whenever possible, and being the height of the season, almost all the vegetables were organic. The reviewer also felt that the chef's creations were not "gourmet" enough, but the Chef has worked at Tavern on the Green, Four Seasons, and Rockerfeller Center to name a few...do those qualify as gourmet??? The reviewer also complained about music selection, and we just can't please everyone...our music ranges from opera, jazz, classical to light pop...what more can you do?? Finally, the reviewer complained about the food, yet ate here two nights in a row...there are many other restaurants around, why return if you don't like it??? All in all I am confused about the standards that this reviewer has for evaluating hotels and restaurants...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Very nice hosts (family run businiess, Swiss quality), excellent food (dinner & breakfast) and wonderful old B&B - and liberal attitude! Go there and enjoy your life in New England! Small rooms are even nicer than the big rooms as those go the front while the smaller rooms have a small view to the garden. We would go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

For several years my wife and I had stopped in Wiscasset on our way to our annual trip to Monhegan to enjoy a wonder full dinner at the Squire Tarbox Inn. Mario,a Swiss chef with stints in New York and New Jersey, has brought a Swiss ambiance - including good Swiss wines - to his dining room. Reservations required. This year we decided we would spend the night there. A full breakfast that is also prepared by Mario is included. The great cooking is matched by the well appointed rooms that Mario and his wife Roni maintain in the Inn.The first floor room we had was large and airy with a very comfortable bed.The building is a historic site set on 13 acres of farm and woodland running down to a saltwater marsh where there is a row boat for guest use (with oars, personal flotation devices, and a screened hut overlooking the marsh. Most of the vegetables come from the farm or a further 40 acres tilled by their son. The eggs are from the free-range fowl roaming the area. A small herd of La Mancha ("earless") dairy goats complete the rural atmosphere. Although a bit off the beaten path - 8 plus miles down Maine 144 from Route 1 between Woolwich and Wiscasset (don't miss the 90 degree turn about 2 miles in) - there are no craft shops, fast-food restaurants, and the other kitsch that litters Maine's tourist routes. Before leaving to go back up to US 1, take a few minutes to go another 1/4 mile down 144 to see the two18th century buildings now housing the Westport town hall and community church. They are good examples of the graceful simplicty and architeural clarity of old New England.

Room Tip: Book in advance. Rooms are shown on their website
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dew621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

While I have never stayed at this Inn, I regularly have dinner for special occassions here. It is undoubtedly the best food in the entire Midcoast region, but it is expensive. Limited menu but everything is outstanding. Vegetables and goat cheese are locally grown and made. Meat is of the highest quality. My favorites are the rack of lamb and the creme brule.

Room Tip: Out of the way, but worth the effort.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank retired_travelers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Owners Ronni and Mario, and daughter Laura are warm, helpful hosts at this off the beaten path inn. If you are looking for a peaceful, rural setting with the quintessential Downeast charm, this is the place. Follow the path through the woods to the edge of the small pond/marsh and go for a row in the rowboat. Ducks, osprey, and otters are frequent visitors.
Be sure to request a dinner reservation while you are there. Mario is an accomplished chef, dinners and service are exceptional.
Note: Be advised that a 13% gratuity is automatically added to the room rate.
Wonderful accomodations; highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room #5 can be rented as a single. Sweet room, more than adequate.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidandlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews