We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go with a Lobster roll-fab!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red's Eats

Red's Eats
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go with a Lobster roll-fab!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The best lobster rolls. Skip the fried clams.Put in your order on the off hours in the summer or you'll wait in a long line to order!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cphd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    218
    105
    39
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Lobsta Roll in the World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We walked out of LL Bean and my son asked if we could go to some place that he wanted to go. Of course I said yes. Up the Maine coast we went until we hit Wiscasset, home of the World's Best Lobsta Roll, or so it said on his phone. We played tourist and stood in line for 45 minutes, salivating at the delightful mounds of lobster in a bun as we got closer and closer to placing our order. When it was finally our turn, I had to order two rolls a piece, because one just wouldn't have been enough, or so I thought. After waiting forever, or about ten minutes, our number was called! Pure heaven! A full lobster, tuck in and on a perfectly toasted lobster roll. With a side of melted butter. Oh sweetness! It truly was the best we had ever had!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime lobster roll!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I was in town for a wedding in 2010. My brother in law shoes up at the room with a few rolls from Red's. UNBELIEVABLE. They're huge and delicious. I couldn't eat one on a regular basis, but this was definitely a bucket list item. Fantastic!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bigguynred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenfield
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not what it's cracked up to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Over-rated. Can't believe people actually stand in line and wait, and wait, and wait. They don't even know the lobster isn't cooked there! They must have really good marketing and convincing ads. Very over -rated.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenfieldVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Red's Eats”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Highly overrated .......Traditional Maine Lobster Rolls are made with mayonnaise....not traditional with Red's Eats! Being from Maine I like my lobster rolls with mayonnaise. Local Wiscasset folks are fed up with the traffic jam created by Red's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red's Eats also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Red's Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing