We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red's Eats

Red's Eats
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were fortunate to drive by Red's Eats late in the afternoon on Memorial Day Weekend and see that there were only about 10 people in line, so we quickly parked and joined them. We're so glad we did. The lobster rolls were delicious, overflowing with large chunks of succulent lobster topped with warm melted butter. It doesn't get much better than that! The whoopee pies are also pretty darn good! Can't wait to return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    216
    105
    39
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth The Wait”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Leaving Boothbay Harbor, we decided to stop at Reds for the lobster rolls. Boy, am I glad we did. We had a 45 minute wait in line, but it was worth waiting. Big chunks of lobster are stuffed into the roll with no extra filler provided. We were in heaven!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jscw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Fried Scallops”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Great food....the lobster roll is plain lobster with choice of butter or mayo...not my favorite style but plenty of meat! Amazing fresh homemade Cole slaw! Superior fried scallops....worth a wait in line for!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fried clams”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Bragged about Reds to my friend on the way to Booth Bay. On the way home we looked forward to stopping there. Although we did not have the famous lobster we ordered fried clams. We "tried" to eat them on the way home. They were the most worst fried clams we ever had. Batter was dark brown and very thick, they stuck together, there were clam bits inside; never a whole clam. No taste of a clam at all. We threw them out. If you are going to sell fried clams, they should be edible. Will not go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Fried Clams Ever!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A friend highly recommended this Lobster Shack so as we were driving toward Booth Bay we decided to get some fried clams. I know this place is known for it's lobster rolls but figured the clams had to be pretty good as well. Boy, we were so disappointed and angry, since clams are not cheap! What we received was clumps of dark greasy batter that was spongy. There were very few clams pieces hidden in the batter and what was there was very chewy. We ended up throwing the whole thing away. They were the worst fried clams I have ever had in my life and I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red's Eats also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Red's Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing