We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Reliable Dining”
Review of Sarah's Cafe

Sarah's Cafe
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
191 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Reliable Dining”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Sarah's is not fancy, but if you like tasty, well-prepared meals served by a courteous and efficient staff, and a splendid water view, this is the place for you! The menu is extensive, and the seafood selections are numerous, and none of it is fried. The homemade soups, breads, and desserts are delicious! Well worth a visit to busy and picturesque Wiscasset!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    164
    60
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Probably the best Wiscasset has to offer!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Sarah's is always a good place for a fun meal. Being from the Wiscasset area we frequent this restaurant. The service is usually good...the food is always good. Try the soup and bread bar!!
Invest in some local art while your there.............

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dry, gross”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was told this was a really good place to eat and it had amazing pies. So going into the restaurant I had high expectations. I ordered a burger and my grandmother ordered the reuben. She was pleased with her sandwich and just said it was very large. My burger on the other hand, was so dry it was hard to chew. I felt like it was a frozen burger and the cook just threw it on the grill. I didn't finish the burger. I had a chocolate creme pie, the crust was very thick and at first the chocolate tasted like coconut and then became this dark chocolate taste. It was decent but, I wont be coming back for it. The coffee was very watery and burnt, like it was made two hours prior to my attendance. The service wasn't bad, but there was nothing special about it. The scenic view was nice though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“nice to come back”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We like it here. It is nice to go back to a place after a few years and find it as you remember. The food is always good. The staff is always friendly even those who are not serving you. (Mathew is a delight) This time we did just the soup and bread bar. It was great: haddock chowder, turkey vegetable, and a curried Brussels sprout soup (wow) and all the bread stuffed or plain. It is still a deal $5.49 for your 1st bowl then a dollar for each refill. Thanks . It was nice to go back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlefield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My family and I were staying at the Cod Cove Inn when I asked what was good to eat in the area. The owners instantly said Sarah's. We ordered takeout lunch for 4 adults and 4 kids. The food was reasonably priced and tasted fantastic. We got macaroni and cheese for the kids that was homemade, baked and fantastic, they also got a delicious cinnamon applesauce. The adults had calzones with a large garden salad, with house vinaigrette. There are not many restaurants that give you such a great salad with mixed greens and even sprouts. I would highly recommend. It was such a quick trip from the Cod Cove Inn to just grab takeout and take it back to eat too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sarah's Cafe also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Sarah's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing