We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Tucker

Castle Tucker
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Wiscasset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 1807 mansion maintained by Historic New England; extraordinary furnishings and design details.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
273 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A nicely restored house with a very well informed tour guide, who had lots of stories to tell. The house is on a hill overlooking the Sheepscot River.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Facinating piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We arrived on a very rainy day, so we got a good idea of what it must have felt like in the early days, a bit dark and dreary. Our tour guide was wonderful, and so knowledgeable about every aspect from the furnishings to the families that lived there over the years.
Definitely worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goldenboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very interestig history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

From the outside this looks very run down and unappealing, with limited parking. However, once you get inside , the interior and furnishings are amazing. Our tour guide was wonderful and so knowledgeable of the history of the architecture and the two families who lived here. The view from the back yard over looking the harbor is very nice. Our tour only had four people and was supposed to take 45 minutes but took over an hour. Only cost $4 or $5 . If you're interested in history, I highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dglong0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“luvtotravel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Tour was excellent! It's the first home that I have toured that actually had most of the original furnishings still intact. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting site - recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Very interesting Historic New England property, particularly the background of the family that lived there until quite recently. We had an excellent tour (the only ones on it) and weren't rushed through. Fascinating mixture of furniture tying in with the family history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NEReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Tucker also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Castle Tucker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing