We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiscasset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Wiscasset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Every time we go away, there's always something that could have been better. When you stay at the snow squall inn, you never think that. We had a great stay; nice hosts, comfy beds, spotless rooms, fantastic breakfasts. Will return again and again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebalazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

My wife has planned some amazing trips for us. I wanted to plan a birthday weekend for her that included inn style lodging, great food, yoga, massage and snow shoeing. I Googled "Yoga Bed and Breakfast Maine" and The Snow Squall Inn was the first hit. I read the description of the inn and yoga studio...and the reviews...and thought "this is probably too good to be true." I called the Inn and spoke to Melanie who is the owner/innkeeper with her husband Paul. Melanie also created and runs the "Wicked Good Yoga" studio at the inn. Melanie helped me pick the right room (based on what my wife likes). Over the next few days Melanie and I traded a few emails...and in no time at all she:
-Had us signed up for 90 hot power/vinyasa yoga classes on Friday afternoon, Saturday and Sunday mornings
-Made arrangements for us to do a guided afternoon/sunset snowshoe trek at Morris Farm in Wiscasset
-Made dinner reservations for us at both Solo Bistro and Damariscotta River Grill. She also made sure that Solo Bistro knew that our Friday night dinner was a birthday celebration and to put a candle in my wife's dessert.
-Made arrangements for both of us to have one hour massages in our room on Sunday after the yoga class, including late check out.
-Recommended Sarah's Cafe in Wiscasset as a great place to have lunch.
-Offered to incorporate some of my wife's favorite music into the Friday afternoon yoga class as a birthday surprise.
-Invited us to attend the Lululemon trunk show at the yoga studio on Sunday.

Our room was perfect. Claw foot tub. Sitting area. Fantastic bed. Beautiful decor. Robes. Light blocking shades. Nice toiletries. Hair dryer. Very nice bed linens and pillows.

Breakfast at the Inn is world class. Paul's culinary training in Paris and Switzerland...and ownership of a restaurant in Bermuda are more than evident. Velvet like hot oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, scones (blueberry on Saturday, gruyere and ham on Sunday), cereals, juices and more on the buffet. Saturday a mushroom and ham omelette with a butter and herb sauce and diced smoked salmon (on top). Sunday...blueberry pancakes with blackberries, blueberries and raspberries and a berry sauce. And excellent coffee.

Paul and Melanie made us feel completely at home all weekend. And they are both a lot of fun to talk to.

We just can't wait to return.....

Thank you Melanie and Paul. We are grateful to you for helping us plan what turned out to be a perfect weekend.....start to finish.

PS
Whenever we mentioned where we were staying and the yoga studio, people from the community commented on how nice Paul and Melanie are and what a wonderful addition to the local community they are. We experienced this first hand...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comaradity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Snow Squall was a great place to stay, very comfy, clean and welcoming, close to some great places to visit in New England, including national parks, the coast/sea, sweet little seaside towns and other quaint areas.
Only down the road is Reds Eats, famous for its lobster and now we know why – it was great! The people of the area are so friendly and welcoming, as were our hosts at the Snow Squall. Paul is English and an ex chef. You can certainly tell when you arrived for breakfast. It was the best breakfast we had in New England. There was great variety and excellent cooked food. Plenty of seconds and coffee top ups. Our hosts kindly booked restaurants for us in advance and recommended which to visit (great choices in the Robin Hood Free meeting House and Daramscota River Grill, thank you!). They also lit the open fire in our bedroom and put wine on ice for us for our return. This was so kind and made our holiday a bit more special. There were little chocolates placed around the Inn which were a nice touch. The room next door also had them, but we didn’t – not sure why? The bathroom was very small (and smelt a little musty); with just a shower however it served its purpose. We were too late to book one of the bigger rooms. The bed was very comfy (with new sheets both days) and the room was very clean.
The lounge area was very welcoming and cosy. After a night out (we spent 2 nights total) we met some other guests there and got talking, it rounded off our night nicely. Apart from one of the guests calling the Inn from their room to complain about the noise from other guests. We were hardly rowdy, purely talking and laughing, however the message was passed on to us. Fair enough.
It’s a beautiful Inn which I would recommend. Good value for money and very welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizabethGClaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We've been to many different parts of Maine for casual getaways over the years but the Snow Squall Inn in the charming town of Wiscasset far exceeded our expectations and was well worth the price. The inn is immaculate and our room was spacious and comfortable (and we liked that the rooms didn't have TV, though "addicts" can find one downstairs.) Our hosts, Paul and Melanie, were great conversationalists and most knowledgeable and helpful about things to do in the area. The breakfasts are to die for, owing to Paul's background as a restaurateur. Wiscasset itself is an excellent base from which to explore the southern coast of Maine: the gorgeous beach and rocky coastline at Reid State Park near Bath, Portland, Camden, the superb Farnsworth art museum (for fans of the Wyeths and Louise Nevelson) and many galleries in Rockland, all within easy driving distance. Again, Paul and Melanie will steer you to these attractions, and you'll be pleasantly surprised by the high-caliber restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitgangsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I have stayed at this B&B three times. It's conveniently located, the breakfasts are to die for, and the hosts are congenial, helpful, interesting, and funny -- all without being obnoxious! I have stayed in the two suites and they are wonderful: having the extra 1/2 bath really makes it easy to share the space with your fellow travellers (husband, or daughter, or sister and brother-in-law). I can't say enough about the Snow Squall Inn. You will have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janerboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Paul and Melanie are wonderful. It felt just like being at home. We stayed in the Windward Suite with family and everything was spotless, fresh and the brakfasts to die for. Everywhere Paul sent us was also perfect. We will definitely stay here again. Go before Columbus Day though because Red Eats closed on us that day. :(

The Renns

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We had a lovely, quiet room with a den. That was worth a little extra.
The Eggs Benedict were the best we've had. Perfectly done.
Would have loved to stay and take a yoga class with Melanie, but we had to leave...
There is a yoga studio behind the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjottoross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiscasset
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
10.2 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
2.5 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
121 reviews
7.3 mi away
Squire Tarbox
Squire Tarbox
#2 of 4 in Wiscasset
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Bradford Rd, Wiscasset, ME 04578-4456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Wiscasset
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiscasset
Price Range: £72 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Snow Squall Bed And Breakfast Wiscasset, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing