We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Maine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiscasset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Wiscasset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise in Maine”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at three different inns during our trip to Maine. Each had its charms, but this was our favorite. The hosts are so warm and friendly, and we loved the thoughtful amenities they provided, from the delicious chocolates laid out in various places, to the outstanding coffee and shortbread cookies available throughout the day, to the bottled water and robes in our room -- everything a traveller could desire. The inn is spotless and nicely decorated. The vases of fresh flowers from their garden were beautiful. In the morning, Paul served us a fantastic breakfast, including plates of pancakes with a sauce of fresh berries that were almost too beautiful to eat. We were sorry that we could only stay the one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
115
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and were very happy with our choice. We used Wiscasset as our base for daytrips to Boothbay Harbor and Pemaquid lighthouse, etc. Paul and Melanie were not-at-all stuffy like some B&B hosts - very gracious and friendly. Our room was very spacious, the bed linens were sumptuous.

Paul demonstrated his culinary skills at breakfast. Presentation was perfect.

We will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manhattan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

As we were driving up the coast of Maine taking our daughter to a summer program in Rockport, we saw this lovely B&B in Wiscasset. On the grounds was also a sign that there was yoga taught on premises. My husband practices yoga so that kind of made it even more attractive. Having a smart phone was so great on this trip, because you can pass this town in the blink of an eye, yet I had a reservation before we exited the town line. We returned to Wiscasset the next evening, later than we had planned. No matter, the host, Paul greeted us warmly, showed us where we could go in the breakfast area if we wanted tea or coffee at "off times"; and made us feel at home immediately.
My husband woke up super early for power yoga class in the converted barn that has been made into the studio for Paul's wife and partner, Melanie to teach. We then had breakfast out on the porch looking over a beautiful garden in comfy chairs.....The breakfast...Or should I say The Breakfast....was perfect. Of course they offer the dried cereals in the canisters such as offered in other B&B, hotel set ups, but ALSO...there was really good yogurt, a gorgeous melange of seasonal berries, seriously great blueberry buscuits, and to top it off Paul made me a perfect omelet (to order- with a variety of fillings to choose from. I chose mushroom/cheese) with diced chives and tomatoes 'hovering' over a lovely burre blanc. Paul, originally from England, trained as a chef in Paris; and hotel and restaurant management in Switzerland. He ran bars in Bermuda for many years, where he met Melanie and they came up to Maine and bought this inn from a former owner in 2005. To assist with breakfast, Melanie quickly shifted out of her yoga duds into a long lovely skirt and was a warm presence at the breakfast table as well.
The garden and grounds are pristine with lovely planting beds here and there dotting the premises. Paul tends to this as well. Wiscasset itself is a wonderful little town and a fun way to spend a day or two...lots to do...antiques, lobster roll at Red's, hip little boutiques, and other little shops. The Snow Squall Inn is a terrific place. It offered us the R&R that we so greatly needed.

Room Tip: Oh...forgot to mention...our Queen bed room with private bath was $139. ALL INCLUSIVE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank projectgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I stayed at this B&B 9 years ago and was pleased with the stay. When an opportunity arose for a 'girl's' vacation to Maine, I naturally thought of repeating the experience. I learned that the inn changed hands about six years ago, but had faith that the quality would still be there. Happily it is even better. Paul is a truly wonderful chef; the food was excellent and, like really exceptional cooks, he made it look easy. His attitude, no matter what the service he was providing, was done in a friendly, accommodating manner. His wife was so relaxed and laid back, she made us feel like we were visiting family rather than a business. Our room was clean and comfortable - and large enough for four women! The location is a convenient base station and a welcome sight at the end of a day of sightseeing. We highly recommend this B&B for anyone visiting the area. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LmpKlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelling dds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Snow Squall Inn at the end of June 2011. Paul and Melanie run a lovely B&B. Wonderful ambiance friendly welcome and great breakfast each morning.
Perfect location to explore midcoast Maine and shops of Freeport - LL Bean especially.
Thanks Paul and Melanie

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2thdk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Thanks for a great stay. We were traveling with my parents and our two boys and this was a perfect place for us. Breakfast was yummy and Paul the inn keeper sent us to a great place for dinner as well. Good location and felt like home!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuckme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Every time we go away, there's always something that could have been better. When you stay at the snow squall inn, you never think that. We had a great stay; nice hosts, comfy beds, spotless rooms, fantastic breakfasts. Will return again and again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebalazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiscasset
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
10.1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
526 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
117 reviews
7.3 mi away
Squire Tarbox
Squire Tarbox
#2 of 4 in Wiscasset
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Bradford Rd, Wiscasset, ME 04578-4456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Wiscasset
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiscasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Snow Squall Bed And Breakfast Wiscasset, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing