We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, and the food was really great, but not 5 stars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiscasset
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Wiscasset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

True, I am picky. Lovely place, great hosts, the breakfast was really out of this world. But the location is not 5 star--noisy road, not a very interesting walk into town. Our group had two rooms, the one in the main house was a bit musty smelling, which went away with the windows open, but then the highway noise was an issue. We had the red room. The furnishings were nice, but not 5 star (e.g., plastic surrounds in the shower). My two girlfriends were upstairs, and it really is more for kids than adults. Not as spacious as it looks in the pictures. May not have helped as we were coming from huge rooms in a 5 star hotel in Bar Harbor, but honestly we all felt we should have stayed an extra night there. I am not a big bed and breakfast customer, but have been to a few, including some I would give 5 stars to, this was really more of a 3 to 4, but the breakfast was definitely a "5".

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 786AnnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

If there were a rating above 5 stars the Snow Squall Inn would deserve it. Paul and Melanie are gracious and made my stay memorable. The food was extraordinarily delicious and presented exquisitely.
I was in a party of six photographers for five days and all our needs were met and surpassed. Can't wait to go back, Barbara DeCesare

Room Tip: HIgher floor has steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

What a wonderful weekend we had at Snow Squall. All the reviews are true - lovely inn, lovely rooms, great food, and charming and friendly hosts, Paul and Melanie. We can't wait to go back. We've stayed at a number of B&B's and this was by far our best experience ever.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Hillary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We could not have picked a better place to start our wedding trip and then end it. Paul and his wife were most accomodating. The first night we were exhausted from our flight from Missouri to Boston and then the drive. Paul settled us in and then suggested places to find something to eat.
The morning meal was almost too beautiful to eat. He then gave us suggestions of sites to visit to see on our drive to Camden and Rockland. The sites were breathtaking. After returning from our Windjammer cruise 4 days later, Paul knew we were exhausted and knew what we needed. That started with a hot shower, and a massage by his wife and a easy light evening meal. The next morning we hated to leave. We wish we had given our timeframe of travel another day and night to stay in the area just so we could have had another relaxing evening at Snow Squall B &B. We know we schedule another vacation around the Snow Squall B&B and recommend it to our friends and family. David and Shanna Johanning, Columbia Missouri

Room Tip: The two rooms in which we stayed were both lovely. One had a private bath in the room. The other o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding night, in the charming Golden Horn room. I would probably have given this B&B a 5-point rating if we had actually seen more of the site or eaten breakfast. Needless to say, our wedding party arrived at 1:30 a.m. and we missed breakfast later that morning. The co-owner, Paul, welcomed us as we dropped off our keys and simply put, his great attitude and generous spirit definitely made us want to stay there again and this time, enjoy the delicious breakfast our guests were raving about!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meduza1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a lovely B&B. We stayed in the Flying Eagle room which is very cosy and "woody" but nontheless ideal for a holiday break. It should be noted that access is via some narrowish stairs which could be a problem for some people but I'm sure that Paul would be there to help as he did for us.
Breakfast as prepared by Paul featured the most wonderful blueberry pancakes-if I had been offered more than one I wouldn't have refused! Also available were homemade scones (delicious), fruit, yoghurt and juice. If you spend long enough over your breakfast you will almost certainly be entertained by Paul's humorous tales and anecdotes-and very British sense of humour! Coffee is available around the clock on the ground floor and a nice touch is the bowl of Lindt chocolates at reception.
An indication of the helpfulness of the hosts is that Paul went out of his way to find some pain relieving gel for my wife to use for her sciatica for which she was most grateful.
This is undoubtedly somewhere that we would return to if we needed accommodation in the area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Flying Eagle room which does have a very small shower which may be a challenge to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49-States-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Snow Squall Inn is a lovely, serene B&B in the sweet village of Wiscasset, Maine. My husband and I have been coming here for over five years and it is now the place we first think of coming when we look to "get away from it all." Paul is a true hostler, in the very traditional sense of the word. He is a great host, filled with suggestions for touring the area. He is a great cook, whipping up delicious breakfasts each morning. And, he is a wonderful raconteur, who can converse cogently on almost any subject. What a delight! His wife Melanie is a great Yoga teacher and I urge anyone visiting to try her classes which are run in the restored "barn". Together they provide their guests with an unsurpassed b&b experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiscasset
10.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
88 reviews
6.7 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Squire Tarbox
Squire Tarbox
#2 of 4 in Wiscasset
103 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Bradford Rd, Wiscasset, ME 04578-4456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Wiscasset
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiscasset
Price Range: £71 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Snow Squall Bed And Breakfast Wiscasset, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing