We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, friendly service, one pet glitch”

Le Garage Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Full service, casual restaurant overlooking the Sheepscot River
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
182 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“great view, friendly service, one pet glitch”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was there for the first time with a friend who goes often and likes it. Curiously, the bar is on a lower level along with a more casual dining area, I am told. We didn't visit it, but ate on the main level. Even at low tide, the view is atmospheric and lovely. The server was cheerful and friendly and prompt. The food was very good, perhaps the best ever Cole slaw I have had. It had some mystery bits in it that were delicious. The crab mac and cheese tasted great, but needed a soup spoon to eat easily, more a thick soup than your usual mac and cheese. This was midweek in slow season, so not many tables were taken, which was nice. My pet glitch is that their laundry is not serving them well. The napkins smell like they are from a cheap commercial laundry that doesn't care - they have that too-many-times washed, old food smell to them. That is not a problem at all if you don't smell your napkins, but management should find a new laundry asap. I'd go back any time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnH1892DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    74
    41
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memory maker”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were there on weekend night for a very special birthday celebration with distant relatives and new friends. When we realized that party has grown by couple more people than expected the manager and staff very gracefully arranged for additional table. We were seated in a secluded area, where conversation over 9 people were easy and audible. The various apps and first course were delivered swiftly and in well paced interval main course arrived. Food and service were all that we could have asked for and extra service for the celebration was expertly executed and with kindness. This was a memory maker.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moinoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdoinham, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and superb food”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Perched overlooking the water just off busy Route 1, Le Garage served us one of the best meals we've ever eaten in an American restaurant. My husband had the pan seared Salmon served over peas and red skinned potatoes with a lobster cream sauce. It was out of this world. All ingredients were perfectly cooked and the marriage of flavors was delectable. My Paella was equally superb, a classic served with Maine seafood cooked to perfection. There was more food than I could eat in the "light" serving. It was asparagus week and we began our meal by sharing a lovely asparagus tempura that was piping hot when it arrived and nicely accompanied by fresh greens and diced tomatoes. We will definitely go back. My guess is that reservations are advisable during busy times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
2 reviews
“Our Favorite”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I love this place - except at rush hour during the holiday season. The surroundings are very pleasant and its situation on the shore gives marvelous views. The menu is varied and the specials are always creative and seasonally appropriate. Servings are generous. Makes sure to leave room for a piece of one of Daphne's pies. Service is excellent except at rush hour in holiday season.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenfield
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consistent goodness!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Nice restaurant..great view and friendly staff. Local foods. Good quality. We always
have a pleasant meal here. We go back often.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenfieldVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Garage Restaurant also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Le Garage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing