We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little secret B &B in York.”
Review of Bittersweet B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bittersweet B & B
Ranked #6 of 23 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Victor and Ray are great host. Bittersweet is very clean and comfortable. It's a nice location close to the light house and beach. The house and rooms are kept up very well and it shows. The nice porch out front is a nice place to have a glass of wine and it feels like home.
The rooms do not have tv's but they have one in the common area if you need to watch tv . That's ok because it makes it a really quite house to get a good night sleep.
Price is right and the breakfast is good .
Bittersweet is a home away from home and we will be back, hopefully soon because we love Maine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jvspree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

I just finished a 3-night stay here with my wife, sister-in-law and her husband. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We liked the rooms, the owners and the location. It's not right on the beach, but Short Sands is an easy walk down the road and the value for the location was good. The host's were very helpful and friendly. We fully intend to stay there again on our next trip to York.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Tad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We needed a room for one night and I found Bittersweet through Tripadvisor. The grounds are beautiful. Our room was the last available and while small, it was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our hosts were great. Victor makes an excellent breakfast, including homemade blueberry muffins which were wonderful. The B&B is within walking distance of a couple of good restaurants and convenient to many attractions in the area. I would definitely consider returning to Bittersweet.

Room Tip: If your are going to the area during peak season, book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We recently went to Maine for a few days and stayed at the Bittersweet B&B. We had a great experience - the room was comfortable, breakfast was delicious, inn keepers were sweet and accommodating, and the location was perfect. Having never been to Maine, we were also happy with our decision to stay in York. It is such a quaint beach town. We highly recommend Bittersweet B&B!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nautical Room and were happy with our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The Bittersweet is an adorable little B&B. The bedrooms were cozy, clean and comfortable, offering a great night sleep. We were served a scrumptious breakfast on the veranda which included freshly baked blueberry muffins, bacon, scrambled eggs, orange juice and fresh fruit. Victor and Ray were perfects hosts. We had a lovely stay and hope to return in the fall. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A group of us attended a Friday night wedding at the nearby Union Bluff Meeting House and needed a place to stay for only one night - not easy in York in the middle of the summer where most places have two-night minimums. The Chamber of Commerce suggested Bittersweet and from my first contact with Victor, I knew we had a winner! We arrived to beautiful grounds, airy, comfortable rooms (with very nice private baths), and a friendly, pleasant host. We returned from the wedding and spent a lovely hour or so chatting on the spacious porch where Victor joined us for a bit. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful! Homemade banana bread and to-die-for blueberry muffins, cooked to order eggs and bacon, fruit, and coffee - just what we needed! Incredibly clean! Super location just seconds from the downtown area. We're trying to plan a fall getaway. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here for four nights and overall had a pleasant experience. It is a reliable and affordable alternative to some of the chain hotels/motels and beachfront places in the area.

Location: The B&B is conveniently-located and within walking distance to and from Cape Neddick Beach and Short Sands Beach and the Short Sands downtown/shopping area. It is a short 10-15 minute drive to some of the restaurants and sites around York and 15-20 minute drive to the village of Ogonquit. It is also a relatively close drive to the Kittery shopping outlets. The B&B is located along two intersecting roads which can get busy. We did not hear the passing cars or any honking from our room at night but I'm not sure about the other rooms.

Room: We stayed at one of the nautical rooms which was always kept clean throughout our stay. The room itself was basic but had its own toilet and shower. There's no TV in the room but there is one in the communal living area. It's a good size room for a couple. I'm not sure why some people complained about the room size and the layout. When you're in a place as outdoorsy as Maine, you won't be spending that much time indoors!

B&B: It's a relatively small B&B with seven rooms but as mentioned it is well-maintained and kept clean. It has a lovely porch from which you can have coffee/breakfast in the mornings and a nice garden.

Breakfast: Is very simple and basic, consisting of eggs, bacon, English muffin and toast, and blueberry muffin. I would agree with other reviewers that there is not much variety although we did not mind this very much during our stay given the number of dining options in the area.

Hosts: Ray and Victor were both friendly and accommodating, helping us get acquainted with the layout of the area and offering suggestions of places to see and things to do.

For $150 a night, you get what you pay for. It is not luxurious and they don't promise any extra amenities but all in all our stay was relaxing and we would recommend this place to no-frills travelers looking for a quick beach R&R in Maine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.3 mi away
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
#1 of 5 in York Harbor
214 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Morning Glory Inn
Morning Glory Inn
#2 of 23 in York
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
1.3 mi away
ViewPoint
ViewPoint
#5 of 23 in York
53 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bittersweet B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bittersweet B & B

Address: 167 Cape Neddick Rd, York, ME 03909-6126
Region: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bittersweet B & B York, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing