We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Inn and Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Katahdin Inn on the Beach
Ranked #12 of 23 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The Katahdin Inn is a very clean inn located within walking distance to Short Sands Beach. Rooms are small but tastefully decorated with a shared bath plus1 room with a full private bath and another with a 1/2 private bath. Coffee and tea are available in the morning with a microwave; also rooms have a small 'frig so guests may bring their own breakfast and lunch. Beach chairs and toys are provided. There is a comfortable porch, sunporch and living room with TV, CDs and games. Unlimited towels are provided except for beach towels. Hosts Bob and Rae are very welcoming and make you feel like family. A charming inn suitable for all - singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatGlory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for Katahdin Inn on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

My family stays at the Katahdin every summer. The location is excellent; you can walk from your room to beach, which means no expensive beach parking.

The rooms are cozy and each one is unique. Sharing bathrooms might be hard for some, but there are rooms with private facilities, so no worries there. All rooms have mini-fridges and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank knobhdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We loved our quick stay at the Katahdin Inn and only wish we could have stayed longer. We had a pristine room with a full and twin beds, en-suite bathroom, refrigerator and a view of the ocean. Everything about this property is charming---the exterior, the decor, the owners. The location (and the price!) can't be beat. You practically fall out of the front door onto the beach. A great playground, arcade, shops and restaurants are just a short walk away. The only tiny difficulty we experienced was that the windows (3) in our room had the old-fashioned pull down shades that didn't keep out much light. Our little one was up at first light (5:30), but that just gave us more time to enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A lovely guest house well situated right on York Beach. Spotlessly clean with mis-matched colour towels and linen and handmade patchwork quilt - nice break from the uniform white of hotels and motels. We had an en-suite but some rooms had shared bathrooms so worth checking. Those without may have had best sea views. Guests have their own lounge and you can sit on the terrace and watch the waves roll in, or take deckchairs down on to the beach. The owners Rae and Bob (?) recommended Fox's restaurant down by the lighthouse. We went and had a great lobster dinner - but closed from mid Oct for the winter. This Inn was our absolute favourite out of all those we used in New England. A restful home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lazydaisical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The Inn is virtually on the beach! The location can't be beat! You get a parking spot too which is key in the busy Maine beach towns.

We had a lovely view in a shared-bath room. Room was spacious and the bathrooms were immaculate.

We travelled with a young child and this is a fantastic budget option. In addition to being virtually on the beach, there is a hugh wrap around porch, a stocked game room and a large living room. It is a great place for kids.

It has a very cozy slightly step-back-in-time feel.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DreamingofHorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I have been to Maine many times and the Katahdin is a fantastic place. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the views uncomparable. Owners Bob and Rae are wonderful hosts. Staying with them is like visiting family. The inn is perfectly placed, only a quarter mile from the shops and restaurants yet right on the beach. We had a room overlooking the beach and slept to the sound of the surf.

The living room is big and airy, a great place to be if the weather keeps you in. There is a large porch that just begs you to sit and look out over the beach with your morning coffee, or relax with a book.

The Katahdin is a piece of Maine history. It is over 120 years old, with all the charm that brings, yet is modern enough to be comfortable with cable tv in the living room and wi-fi access. The furniture and decor are perfect. The moment we steped inside, we knew we had found true Maine.

This was the second visit for my wife and me. Our first was July 4th weekend. We had such a good time that trip that we had not been home for an hour when we decided to book this one.

Room Tip: Book early, and ask. The hosts will do their best to accomodate.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBlaisdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Never been closer to a Maine beach than this little no-breakfast B&B that's a stones throw from Short Sands Beach, a gentle stretch of clean sand that is ideal for family fun.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the sea are recommended!
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selectorD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Long Beach Motor Inn
Long Beach Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in York Beach
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand View Inn and Cottages
Grand View Inn and Cottages
#3 of 4 in York Harbor
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
0.2 mi away
Sands by the Sea
Sands by the Sea
#5 of 9 in York Beach
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katahdin Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katahdin Inn on the Beach

Address: 11 Ocean Avenue Ext, York, ME 03909-6903
Region: United States > Maine > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Katahdin Inn On The Beach York, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing