We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Katahdin Inn on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stage Neck Inn(York Harbor)
US$227
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands by the Sea(York Beach)(Great Value!)
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Harbor Inn(York Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Union Bluff Hotel(York Beach)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff House Maine(Cape Neddick)(Great Value!)
US$357
US$304
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Inn(York Beach)
US$152
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Motel(York Beach)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
15
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

As far as I am convinced, this is the best place on earth! Imagine laying in your bed, your head on a super comfortable pillow, gazing out your window, watching the ocean waves lapping at the shore. Exceptionally clean, charmingly decorated, gracious generous hosts, reasonable prices...what's not to love. This was my second stay, but it will certainly not be my last.

Room Tip: Every room is great and most have stunning views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spudzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The Katahdin Inn is a very clean inn located within walking distance to Short Sands Beach. Rooms are small but tastefully decorated with a shared bath plus1 room with a full private bath and another with a 1/2 private bath. Coffee and tea are available in the morning with a microwave; also rooms have a small 'frig so guests may bring their own breakfast and lunch. Beach chairs and toys are provided. There is a comfortable porch, sunporch and living room with TV, CDs and games. Unlimited towels are provided except for beach towels. Hosts Bob and Rae are very welcoming and make you feel like family. A charming inn suitable for all - singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatGlory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My family stays at the Katahdin every summer. The location is excellent; you can walk from your room to beach, which means no expensive beach parking.

The rooms are cozy and each one is unique. Sharing bathrooms might be hard for some, but there are rooms with private facilities, so no worries there. All rooms have mini-fridges and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank knobhdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We loved our quick stay at the Katahdin Inn and only wish we could have stayed longer. We had a pristine room with a full and twin beds, en-suite bathroom, refrigerator and a view of the ocean. Everything about this property is charming---the exterior, the decor, the owners. The location (and the price!) can't be beat. You practically fall out of the front door onto the beach. A great playground, arcade, shops and restaurants are just a short walk away. The only tiny difficulty we experienced was that the windows (3) in our room had the old-fashioned pull down shades that didn't keep out much light. Our little one was up at first light (5:30), but that just gave us more time to enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A lovely guest house well situated right on York Beach. Spotlessly clean with mis-matched colour towels and linen and handmade patchwork quilt - nice break from the uniform white of hotels and motels. We had an en-suite but some rooms had shared bathrooms so worth checking. Those without may have had best sea views. Guests have their own lounge and you can sit on the terrace and watch the waves roll in, or take deckchairs down on to the beach. The owners Rae and Bob (?) recommended Fox's restaurant down by the lighthouse. We went and had a great lobster dinner - but closed from mid Oct for the winter. This Inn was our absolute favourite out of all those we used in New England. A restful home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lazydaisical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews