We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for sub-par conditions”

The Ledges Golf Club
Ranked #5 of 10 Outdoor Activities in York
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ledges Golf Club offers the finest golf experience on the seacoast. William Bradley Booth designed 18 memorable holes that offer a fair and demanding test throughout this beautiful New England terrain. Become a member or just play for the day and you’ll see how The Ledges earned its reputation for genuine service and superior course conditions.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Expensive for sub-par conditions”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Course was in fair shape considering the price charged ($92). There were dead spots around the “frog hair” and some greens had areas of dead. Here and there on the fairways was also dead patches. That being said, I gave it 4 stars because it was a very challenging course, what I would consider mountain golf, great scenery and undulating greens, but some of which had unrepaired ball marks that appeared to be there over time. We would play again when in the area but only if the price is reduced. For $92 I expect pristine conditions. Probably 15 minutes off Route 1 on back roads. Only if we found a deal would we consider going again. When we were done and the staff asked at the end how we enjoyed it we commented on the condition and he said all the courses suffered this year. I don’t believe that. This was not a dry summer and we played 2 other courses in the area that didn't have these problems. For these conditions, lower the price!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Weezi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better bring your "A" game!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This track is a test for the scratch golfer and can certainly be intimidating for the high handicapper. The greens are absolutely HUGE and there isn't a flat putt on the whole course. I'm willing to be that those lucky ones who have experienced Sugarloaf should certainly see similarities; number eight at The Ledges will remind you of 11 at The Loaf! Try it, you're gonna like it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DennyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best courses in Maine”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Ledges is easily a top 10 course in the state if not a top 5 course. The greens and fairways were in great shape and each hole is unique. There are only 2 negatives to this course. First, the cart paths are in desperate need of repair. With a little new asphalt, the course would seem all that much better. The second negative is the price. Compared to the other top courses in the state (that all offer discounted rates from time to time) the greens fees seem to be a little high. I would highly recommend playing this course!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hoops2441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taft, California
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fun but wet”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband played this golf course twice. It was a rainy, and stormed both times, but he still loved playing it, because it was so well kept.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What do you get with a high price DISAPPOINTMENT”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

92 Dollars equals great greens pockmarked and ragged fairways cartpaths that need a 4 by 4 cart does nobody work on this track put some money into it. Save your doe this is not worth it

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank claring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ledges Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to The Ledges Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing