We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Heaven”
Review of Morning Glory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morning Glory Inn
Ranked #3 of 23 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Country Heaven”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The name of this inn speaks to a fine feature of this inn. Garden plantings of every kind beckon you to stroll among the grounds of this well-kept inn after breakfast. In fact, having that breakfast in the courtyard is simply is as nice as it gets. Attentive service and delightful, creative fare make that an experience one won't soon forget. Margie's talent in the kitchen is absolutely amazing.

The innkeeper hosts work hard as a team to make the stay a special and lasting experience with little touches like cookies, teas and coffee available at our arrival. The rooms are beautifully furnished, comfortable and clean. The inn itself is tucked away on a country side road making it very quiet and private. Access to fine restaurants is very close to the inn.

This was our first stay on a 4 B&B foray on the coast of Maine, yet the pleasure of it lingered throughout our vacation and will for a long time thereafter.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartman1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Doug and Margie have certainly found their calling. Their Bed and Breakfast is inviting, linens are excellent quality, service is beyond exceptional! The gardens encircling the buildings are luscious and the private patios are tranquil. The homemade granola is amazing and breakfasts were delicious, made by Margie and served with flair by Doug... We stayed for 3 nights during our visit to the York area while celebrating our son's wedding...We will be back for sure. I cannot say enough about this charming Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: I loved them all...4 gorgeous and charming rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I were on a weekend getaway that was planned months in advance. We found the inn to be quite charming because of all flowers in their beautiful garden, specially the white lilies. The weekend was restful and tranquil, the breakfast was delicious and different each day. Margie makes amazing chocolate chocolate chip cookies, in addition to her other baking and cooking skills. Doug is very attentive and able to gives us tips in where to go and visit around York. Now... The best part was when we left... White Lillie's hold a special meaning for me and my husband , so Doug printed us a perfect picture of a white Lillie for us to take and remember our time there and Margie gave us a bag with my husband's favorite granola and chocolate chocolate chip cookies! Of course the cookies did not make it back to Boston but it was a very nice gesture that sealed our weekend and what it meant! The morning glory inn ... It is a must and would certainly should not be missed!

Room Tip: The Rachel room was perfect ... Fresh and bright !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We spent 5 wonderful nites at this Special B and B. the owners, Margie and Doug are fantastic hosts. Having a fridge right in our room and glasses, dishes, silverware, ice etc at the bar in the common area were just some of the appreciated amenities. Having Margie's creative and delicious breakfasts on the common patio surrounded by a gorgeous garden was one of the highlights of our stay. We enjoyed conversations with people from all over the country and world. My husband used a walker due to recent surgery and Doug was such a help. Over the course of our stay we had two different rooms both of which were delightful with their own private patios. We're lucky to have seen Doug's album of his awesome photographs. The B and B is a beautiful meld of 1700's cape with a newer post and beam addition. All that York has to offer was conveniently closeby. Can't wait to repeat our wonderful experience.
Linda and Elliot. Delmar, N.Y.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 268April
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Morning Glory Inn. Doug and Margie were incredibly hospitable and very accommodating. They went out of their way to make us a vegan breakfast!
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The house has a lovely old vibe. The gardens are something to behold! The inn is 1/2mile to the beach and town. Make sure to stop by When Pigs Fly bakery for pizza and bread on the way home!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldgalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Morning Glory Inn the weekend of our daughter's wedding, July 18th-July 20th 2014. After traveling all the way to Maine from Hawaii, it was just what we needed! The owners, Margie and Doug, are the perfect hosts. We stayed in the Heron Room on the first floor. The bed was so comfortable, we had lots of space with skylights, a huge bath & stall shower and even a private outdoor patio off our room. Margie's cooking is to die for…..scrumptious breakfasts and home made goodies in the afternoon. Doug lovingly maintains the gorgeous perennial garden. The inn is peaceful, cozy, immaculate, and full of family heirloom antiques. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. A million thanks, Margie and Doug, for the perfect weekend! We hope to return to see again you in the future and have recommended you to many of our family & friends already!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauaigirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived on Saturday afternoon after spending a great deal of time in traffic. It was like coming to an oasis. Our room was great, very comfortable and we loved the skylight window over the bed. Breakfast was a feast for both the eyes and stomach. If you want a great get-a-way in Maine, this is the place

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
0.9 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
3.9 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Property: Morning Glory Inn
Address: 120 Seabury Rd, York Harbor, York, ME 03909-5103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morning Glory Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morning Glory Inn is a beautiful, peaceful & special treat. As you enter the driveway you'll find yourself surrounded by lush gardens and your vacation begins. The rooms are gracious and comfortable, and there are large common areas to enjoy, including a library with cozy chairs & lots of good books. The gourmet breakfast is a highlight, made with care & expertise. Everything is homemade, from granola to muffins, and afternoon cookies. Located on the quiet side of York Harbor, a short walk to river, harbor and open ocean views, and just a mile to the nearest beach. Each guest room includes; private baths, flat panel TVs, Wireless Internet Access, a mini-fridge and a private outdoor deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Morning Glory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Inn York, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing