We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 23 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The dockside was a really nice place to stay. Breakfast was enough for our taste and was really pretty good. The room was clean. The bathroom was a little small but pretty clean. The staff was friendly and you just can't help but be at piece staying so close to the water. The view was awesome. You feel very secluded staying here as it is on its own island.

This place really gets 5 stars with respect to the restaurant food. It was really great. All meals were good as everyone has said. That being said, the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the price. $250 per night is a little steep and $100 for two for dinner seems like a week of groceries. It would be perfect if this place was around $175 per night during peak season.

All in all if you want to spend that much money it is well worth it if you want to spend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perkij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestquarters, Owner at Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Dockside and hope you will return soon.
Unfortunately, the economics of running our business do not allow for $175 rooms. I am confidant that if you compared other waterfront accommodations offering amenities, service, food and location comparable to the Dockside you would find that our rates are very competitive. If you are looking to pay about $175 in the height of the summer season - the Best Western motel on Route One in York, has an average room rate of $180.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We just returned from a weekend trip to York, Maine for a wedding and stayed at the Dockside. What a wonderful place. Service was very extremely friendly, despite the oppressive heat of the weekend. Our 1st floor queen studio(in Lookout building) with alcove was attractive with an incredible view of the water from the balcony. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely come back. My only disappointment was not seeing a moose, especially after Eric's story about a moose swimming in the water by the inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

From the moment we arrived and saw our lovely room with its amazing view over York Harbour and went for a walk along the coastal path, we felt that we had made the right choice for this part of our honeymoon
A charming INN , rightly not claiming to be an hotel, DGQ welcomes you with tea and cakes, and helps you relax with its charming and beautiful lawns over- looking the much under-proclaimed York Harbour, For Art-lovers like us, the coast has much to offer within an hour's drive: the Ogunquit Museum of American Art in its cliff top setting with stunning gardens. Then, the biggest surprise: the Portland Art Gallery. in a not particularly lovely area of Maine (sorry Portland), has some of the world's great art- Picasso, Sisley and a stunning Renoir.
Ogunquit itself is a charming seaside town in which Edward Hopper and many other Artists painted
Relaxing, romantic, quintessentially New England: we will definitely return!

Room Tip: ask fora room in the MAIN Inn overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Arrived on a Saturday morning and although we were not going to check in until 4 PM we walked around the property and enjoyed watching the boats while we were sitting in the gazebo. What a lovely area in such a quiet secluded area. When we did check in and were shown to our rooms we were thrilled that they were in the Captain's Quarters - the main building. Our rooms were absolutely spotless and so inviting. The owners- Eric and Carol -told us that each afternoon there would be refreshments set out. They certainly were and so delicious along with the very welcoming cool drinks. The staff was so welcoming and helpful by helping us with our bags. We were very lucky as there were fireworks scheduled for that night and we sat on the lawn and were able to watch them over the water. We could not have asked for a more lovely place to spend a night and will certainly plan for a longer stay the next time. Thank you Eric and Carol for your hospitality. You were so lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefrbpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Located on a secluded penninsula, this lovely B&B is our favorite stop when visiting Maine. The accomodations are neat and inviting, and the views of York Harbor are beautiful from anywhere on the property. The restaurant is truly exceptional especially considering that it is only open seasonally. The staff both at the inn and restaurant are very welcoming and helpful. A must stay if you are in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We did not pick this place. Our group was put here by our host and hostess for the weekend reunion. We didn't receive a very warm welcome from anyone, and no one offered to help us take our bags upstairs. There was nothing in our room in the way of water or soft drinks, and no one told us if those things were available elsewhere in the inn. We travel a great deal, and this is pretty unusual treatment. The breakfast was a buffet a la Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites minus the eggs. It wasn't a huge deal for us because we were spending most of our time at a local residence, but for people who are making this a special weekend or something, I would stay elsewhere. Our room was not anything special, a little dated! And the water flow in the shower was very weak. We had a beautiful experience in Kennebunkport. Our dinner at the Dockside's restaurant was very enjoyable although the service was very slow. Yes we had a large group, but they were expecting us for weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestquarters, Owner at Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

I was most distressed to read the comments posted above. The entire staff at the Dockside works very hard to make all guests feel welcome and comfortable and answer any questions they may have about the Dockside or our area. Our normal orientation for guest when they check includes pointing out our afternoon tea treat, where to get iced or hot tea and coffee as well as information about breakfast the next morning. We do not put any bottled water or soft drinks in guest rooms as our local tap water is excellent. In addition, our staff is always available to answer guest’s questions – they just have to ask. I do apologize that no one offered to carry luggage to the second floor, unfortunately there was only one staff member on duty at the time of their check-in and she was not physically capable to assist. Again, if they had asked she could have located some help very easily. I take exception to the description of our breakfast being similar to Hampton Inn. I too have stayed in many chain hotels and I can assure you that the only thing our breakfast shares with them is that it is served buffet style. Everything is homemade, fresh and delicious! I sincerely feel the root problem of all of these problems was the fact that their host choose the Dockside for them and that we were not a good fit for them. They clearly were expecting something that we are not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Captain's Quarters Suite. The staff were courteous and accommodating. The suite was equal to renting a cozy home with a private deck overlooking a beautiful cove. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot & steamy. The room was clean, nice and secluded - what more can you ask for? We plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMaineCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Morning Glory Inn
Morning Glory Inn
#2 of 23 in York
106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
882 reviews
2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
3.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant

Address: 22 Harris Island Rd, York, ME 03909-5091
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £96 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dockside is a special place on the Maine seacoast offering distinctive dining and lodging overlooking picturesque York Harbor. It captures the essence of Maine with its natural beauty, gracious hospitality and abundant activities. Accommodations are in the Maine House, a quintessential "New England Cottage" and multi-unit buildings at the water's edge, most with a private deck and water view. Our restaurant shares the same magnificent views while offering a truly enjoyable dinning experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant Hotel York
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant York, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing