We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 23 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was only able to stay one night at the Dockside in July, but the room was quaint and comfy. The view was so pretty I didn't want to leave for the wedding. The food was very good (NOT a la Hampton Inn as another reviewer suggested) and the staff were efficient and helpful. It was pricey for my budget, but worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02bwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Still our favorite in southern Maine. Took mother-in-law. Again - great food, excellent service, reasonable price.

Nice dining in quiet, well appointed dining area with magnificent view of harbor.

Maine at its best.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Edward653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We came to the Dockside in June 2012 for our 30th wedding anniversary and we completely enchanted. It is only about 40 minutes from home, but being on the island felt like worlds away. Our room was perfect. Second floor, deck, view of the harbor. Staff helpful. Buffet breakfast was wonderful and afternoon snacks delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonefishing2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were one of six couples who recently spent 2 nights at this exceptionally well kept and delightful property in York, Maine. Our visit was quite memorable thanks to the professional staff including Innkeeper Eric Lusty. The Dockside Guest Quarters offers not only breathtaking views of the York River, a Marina, Boon Island Lighthouse and the Atlantic Ocean but a handful of fun amenities like boating, fishing, biking and numerous outdoor games. The morning buffet was plentiful and delicious. Afternoon bakery goodies, tea and coffee were very nice. The on property restaurant is certainly recommended - don't forget to save room for the the blueberry and or apple pie!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEBARN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The dockside was a really nice place to stay. Breakfast was enough for our taste and was really pretty good. The room was clean. The bathroom was a little small but pretty clean. The staff was friendly and you just can't help but be at piece staying so close to the water. The view was awesome. You feel very secluded staying here as it is on its own island.

This place really gets 5 stars with respect to the restaurant food. It was really great. All meals were good as everyone has said. That being said, the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the price. $250 per night is a little steep and $100 for two for dinner seems like a week of groceries. It would be perfect if this place was around $175 per night during peak season.

All in all if you want to spend that much money it is well worth it if you want to spend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perkij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestquarters, Owner at Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Dockside and hope you will return soon.
Unfortunately, the economics of running our business do not allow for $175 rooms. I am confidant that if you compared other waterfront accommodations offering amenities, service, food and location comparable to the Dockside you would find that our rates are very competitive. If you are looking to pay about $175 in the height of the summer season - the Best Western motel on Route One in York, has an average room rate of $180.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We just returned from a weekend trip to York, Maine for a wedding and stayed at the Dockside. What a wonderful place. Service was very extremely friendly, despite the oppressive heat of the weekend. Our 1st floor queen studio(in Lookout building) with alcove was attractive with an incredible view of the water from the balcony. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely come back. My only disappointment was not seeing a moose, especially after Eric's story about a moose swimming in the water by the inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

From the moment we arrived and saw our lovely room with its amazing view over York Harbour and went for a walk along the coastal path, we felt that we had made the right choice for this part of our honeymoon
A charming INN , rightly not claiming to be an hotel, DGQ welcomes you with tea and cakes, and helps you relax with its charming and beautiful lawns over- looking the much under-proclaimed York Harbour, For Art-lovers like us, the coast has much to offer within an hour's drive: the Ogunquit Museum of American Art in its cliff top setting with stunning gardens. Then, the biggest surprise: the Portland Art Gallery. in a not particularly lovely area of Maine (sorry Portland), has some of the world's great art- Picasso, Sisley and a stunning Renoir.
Ogunquit itself is a charming seaside town in which Edward Hopper and many other Artists painted
Relaxing, romantic, quintessentially New England: we will definitely return!

Room Tip: ask fora room in the MAIN Inn overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
716 reviews
0.5 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
805 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
0.4 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
416 reviews
3.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant

Address: 22 Harris Island Rd, York, ME 03909-5091
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £97 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dockside is a special place on the Maine seacoast offering distinctive dining and lodging overlooking picturesque York Harbor. It captures the essence of Maine with its natural beauty, gracious hospitality and abundant activities. Accommodations are in the Maine House, a quintessential "New England Cottage" and multi-unit buildings at the water's edge, most with a private deck and water view. Our restaurant shares the same magnificent views while offering a truly enjoyable dinning experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant Hotel York
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant York, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing