We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 23 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very accomodating”
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We were scheduled to arrive at Dockside around 5:00 p.m., but plane cancellations resulted in our arriving at 10:30 p.m. The hosts at Dockside managed to reach us and made arrangements to wait for us until 9:00 p.m. When we were lost in the dark, they reached us by cell again & left directions for us to get in and directions to our room. They could not have been more helpful and caring. The room was ready & welcome after a long day. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful with all kinds of homemade rolls, muffins, breads and delicious egg dishes. We wish we could have had more time there. It was so good to treated so kindly when you are so stressed and tired.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank marilynvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    55
    19
    1
    9
See reviews for
65
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Four of us decided to celebrate our 60th birthdays by taking a weekend trip to maine. We stayed at the Dockside for the views, and were extremely happy with it, especially for the sunrise. The staff was great, even offering us wine glasses and wine opened so we could enjoy having wine in our rooms in front of the fireplace. We made sure our rooms were next to each other. They also offered tons of privacy. Our whole weekend was great, especially with the cleanliness of the rooms and scenery. The owner usually does a morning boat ride, but since it was full, he offered to do an afternoon one. We are considering leaving our husbands home and doing another weekend again next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForgetfulMom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
707 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This property is beautiful. We arrived for a weekend stay. This resort does a wedding business and all the service that was available was for that. No one offered us any help at all and our room was at the top of a long flight of stairs. We struggled with the bags
going up but we let them slide alone down the stairs when we left. There was very little service at breakfast and the food was very average. In addition, the resort sits by standing water and we all got eaten alive by mosquitos. Stay somewhere else or don't go on a weekend.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank larrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This was our first trip to Maine and our first stop. We spent one night at the Dockside and wished it could have been longer. The property sits on a small cove and you have a great view of this cove, the marina and some of the ocean. The property is well kept and the rooms are spacious, clean and have a deck with great views. The staff was very friendly and couldn't have been more hospitable. They were great with suggestions for things to do, places to eat and directions. I would definitely stay here again. We had a great time. Be sure to go see the lighthouse!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenmlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We spent 3 nights at Dockside in September. The grounds were immaculate and were well provided with croquet, badminton, shuffleboard, adirondack chairs and a gazebo. The room was like an adorable little seaside cottage white paint and painted wooden walls. Our room had it's very own deck overlooking the river out to the sea. We watched Great Blue Herons feeding right in front of us. Each morning came with a lovely buffet breakfast that could be eaten inside or on the beautiful front porch of the main house. We had dinner at the adjoining restaurant one evening and I had the best Tuna dinner of my life- with local tomatoes and beets on the appetizer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoozieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

The Dockside Guest Quarters is located on a beautiful, very scenic piece of property that overlooks a small marina / harbor, looking out to the ocean. Enough can’t be said about the views! We had 2 rooms in the Lookout buildings. Each room has its own small, private deck looking out towards the harbor and ocean. The rooms are not fancy, but comfortable. Each room has a TV (if that’s important to you) and a standard size bathroom. The breakfast was very good with a nice variety.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likestotravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

The Lusty family and Staff at the Dockside are wonderful! My family and I ate at the Restaurant twice and both times we were not dissappointed. The food was absolutely delicious! Service was excellent! The breakfast in the morning at the Maine house was plentiful. Cereal, Yogurt w/fresh Maine blueberries, O.J. & Cranberry juice, Coffee,Tea, assorted muffins,breads, egg casserole & danish. It was such a great way to start our day! On our 2nd day at the Dockside, My husband and 2 sons took a Harbor Cruise offered by the Owner of the Inn, Eric Lusty. My boys absolutely loved it and have been talking about it for days! I can't say enough great things about the Dockside. It's a gem, tucked away from all of the hussle on Long/Short Sands Beach.

We stayed in a Queen w/Alcove in one of the waterfront buildings. The view was beautiful and it was great to hear and see the boats coming in and out of the Harbor. During our stay however, I encounted very rude neighbors! This couple just got married on the grounds. After their wedding, they decided to have an "after-party". The party became very loud. We could see people walking over from the dozens infront of the property bringing their own beer. The partying began before 8:00 p.m. and by 11:30 p.m., I couldn't take anymore of these people swearing and being loud & beligerant. Not to mention inconsiderate. I opened my front door and sternly but politely told them to stop. After about 10-15 minutes, everyone left and the next morning I got an apology from the Father-of-the- Bride. It's just rude! I didn't go on vacation to pay
$240/ night to listen to that! Don't get me wrong, I was married once too, but I never acted immature like that. If your're going to get married at the Dockside, then be respectful of your neighbors! This goes for the people that commented earlier too about their own wedding!

I would definately go back to the Dockside. However, I would plan to go in the middle of the week to avoid Weddings and After-partys.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank effie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.1 mi away
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
#1 of 5 in York Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant

Property: Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
Address: 22 Harris Island Rd, York, ME 03909-5091
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dockside is a special place on the Maine seacoast offering distinctive dining and lodging overlooking picturesque York Harbor. It captures the essence of Maine with its natural beauty, gracious hospitality and abundant activities. Accommodations are in the Maine House, a quintessential "New England Cottage" and multi-unit buildings at the water's edge, most with a private deck and water view. Our restaurant shares the same magnificent views while offering a truly enjoyable dinning experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant Hotel York
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant York, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing