We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of paradise in Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 23 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise in Maine”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

In all the years we have traveled we have never found someplace as relaxing as the Dockside. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the grounds inviting and the views beautiful. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. In the mornings there is breakfast at the main inn and a great restaurant on the premises. This is not a party place rocking all night, the evenings are so tranquil you can listen to the tide or star gaze from the deck. There is no place in the northeast that can compare to the Dockside and it will be our only vacation destination for years to come.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61sarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    55
    19
    1
    9
See reviews for
63
140
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Was so nice. I want to go back! The staff was very nice, the lady at the desk went above and beyond by showing us to our room and telling us all the things we could use on the land. There were bikes to ride, beach chairs, shuffle board and other games. We ate dinner at the restaurant looking out onto the water, it was soo nice. A great birthday. Only thing was some snotty lady was driving me crazy sitting at the next table over. We only stayed one night and we asked to stay one more… they were all booked up. And I definitely understand why. They only thing that I can say that would make this place a little better would be to put shampoo and conditioner in the room instead of having to go to the front desk and ask for some. Also upgrade to a flat screen TV.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2010

my husband and i have been married for six years. our weekend away was a gift from my mother who goes to dockside every summer. it was truly one of the best weekends i have spent. we borrowed the bikes and took a day trip up the coast to the light house. and had a wonderful dinner at your restaurant. we were also lucky enough to watch a wedding on what was our six year anniversary. the people who work there were helpful and so nice and down to earth. having two young children i don't often have time to read, but read a whole book in two days! yay me! haha! but i hope to visit again soon. thanks to my mother and you it was one of the best weekends away I've ever had:)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennife044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This was my fourth or fifth stay at Dockside. I was there with friends and family for a wedding. The place is beautifully laid out, with plenty of rooms that overlook the harbor, and lots of space to walk around and enjoy what Maine has to offer: great summer weather, salt water, and sea air ! Breakfast is excellent and enjoyed from a sunny room in the main house. The restaurant and bar are a perfect retreat if you don't feel like going out to eat. Service at the bar was excellent... we owe a shout out to the staff at the restaurant, who accommodated a hungry guest just a little after closing time, and apparently entertained my husband, brother and cousin very nicely at the bar ! All staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are immaculately clean, bedding is very fresh and comfortable. Come to think of it, I slept quite well here ! We were there four nights and would have been happy to have four more. Rates are very reasonable. The entire Dockside experience, from reservations to checkout, is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyn78655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This place is wonderful. You just feel at home here, but a much better home. The scenery, atmosphere and surroundings are out of a story book. it is all just too good to be true. Our room was soooo comfortable and homey. If it was not so beautiful outside you would never want to leave it. I have 2 young children who were accomidated above and beyond!!! This is our second trip of hopefully many. A great,great place!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The Dockside was truly a beautiful place to stay. Our room was ten yards from the water. The main inn makes you want to just sit, relax and enjoy the view. Service was excellent and breakfast each morning was something to look forward to. Our room was simple, yet very clean and comfortable and the grounds had enough to do to entertain children. Town was a short, scenic drive and we would truly return in the future

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcolombini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomall, Pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We've stayed at the Dockside each summer for the past ten years because of its' peaceful, southern coastal Maine location, friendly and attentive staff, clean rooms, and stunning views of the ocean and York Harbor marina. Breakfasts couldn't be better because there's a varied buffet with healthful choices. The complimentary late afternoon coffee, teas, and snacks are perfect after a long drive, or day of local activities. The separate restaurant on the grounds has delicious food, a gracious and friendly atmosphere, and great harbor views. Beach chairs, bikes, and lawn games are available at no charge; and there's a swing set for kids. Harbor boat tours for a nominal fee are a nice option . The location is close to busier public beaches and shopping, yet provides a nice respite from the summer York Harbor crowds. Don't be put off by the temporary detour to Harris Island for bridge repair. It's a short and clearly marked detour with blue and white Dockside/York Harbor Marina signs. Just print directions from the Dockside website, and follow them and the blue & white signs, instead of your GPS, which might not know the detour. This is a wonderful Inn at a lovely location in southern Maine. Bring binoculars for birding. You'll see herons, egrets, Eider ducks, cormorants, terns, gulls, and many more species.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaC037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
378 reviews
3.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#1 of 9 in York Beach
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
1.1 mi away
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
Inn at Tanglewood Hall
#1 of 5 in York Harbor
187 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant

Property: Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
Address: 22 Harris Island Rd, York, ME 03909-5091
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dockside is a special place on the Maine seacoast offering distinctive dining and lodging overlooking picturesque York Harbor. It captures the essence of Maine with its natural beauty, gracious hospitality and abundant activities. Accommodations are in the Maine House, a quintessential "New England Cottage" and multi-unit buildings at the water's edge, most with a private deck and water view. Our restaurant shares the same magnificent views while offering a truly enjoyable dinning experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant Hotel York
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant York, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing