We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit here in 3 years, AMAZING everytime!”

Dock Side Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 110 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 103
Description: The approach to the Dockside Restaurant is all part of the Dockside’s charm. You are treated to views of the York River and the grand “summer cottages” as you turn onto Harris Island Road to reach Dockside Restaurant. The view is quintessential Maine, people hustling up and down the docks, gleaming yachts and colorful lobster boats in front of a rock and pine-tree shore. Dockside’s recent renovation is perfect, warm and comfortable. Hardwood floors, European style lighting floor to ceiling window and a new mahogany bar with an adjoining outdoor cocktail deck. During warm months seating is available on our harbor view screen porch. The atmosphere is casual but the food is serious. Chef Dennis la Planet has been recognized as a “chef’s chef”. North Atlantic seafood prepared with a northern Italian influence and aged steaks are just the start. Lunch features organic salads, creative sandwiches and traditional favorites; fish and chips, chowders and fried clams too.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I am floored at people that don't have a great experience here. This place is top notch and delicious! We came into town, made a reservation and had a wonderful night! The views are great and the food NEVER disappoints. The service was impeccable as well. The baked lobster is to die for! I had a shrimp linguini that was great! We always come here every time while in town! Thank You again for a great meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travelingirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLust, Owner at Dock Side Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you! and thank you for the business.
The staff at the Dockside does it's level best to deliver a consistently nice experience for our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The first two times, I tried to eat lunch at this picturesque restaurant, I was turned away due to a private function. The third time, we started on the porch only to find it a bit cool. We moved inside. We waited and waited for someone to take our order. After 10-15 mins., I finally had to ask someone to wait on us. We then noticed that two other parties who came in after us were served before us. After 30 mins., I asked the waitress about our order, she said she would check. When it came, my fish sandwich was dripping in grease and the fish inside was very dry. My companion ordered the baked haddock which was supposed to be breaded. It was not and it was dry. This is the first bad review I have given and I have been putting it off. The setting was quite lovely but the service and food were not what anyone would expect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLust, Owner at Dock Side Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

It can be frustrating when a facility such as the Dockside has 2 identifies; one of a restaurant and a second of a wedding and banquet facility. The Dockside hosts some 75 banquet events a season, brides and grooms from all over the country seek out the Dockside for their wedding ceremonies, receptions, showers and rehearsal dinners. Guest's anticipate the Dockside's lovely view and tasty cuisine only to arrive and find we are closed yet again for one of these wedding events.

You are correct in your assessment that your food experience was not what one would expect, we are highly rated by all accounts, (open table, yelp and Trip Advisor) because we deliver a very nice dining experience, clearly we were not on top of our game for your party and I apologize.

The porch can be cool at times but is quite wonderful on most occasions and is highly sought after as evidenced by our advanced reservations for our porch.

It is my suggestion for anyone reading this response to simply give us a call before coming down to the Dockside just to make sure we aren't hosting a large banquet and you can also reserve a porch or window table while you are on the phone.

All the best...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Went there for lunch with friends. This was not our 1st time at the Dockside and prior times were enjoyed. Beautiful location with great views of the harbor. We choose to have our lunch on the screened porch as it was a beautiful day.Views from inside are also very nice.
Food, however, was average. Three of us had chowder and one had onion soup for starters. . Haddock sandwiches were okay. The Ruben sandwich ordered by my friend was very disappointing. The corned beef was in thin, very dry, shreds and although there was cheese on it there was no Sauerkraut. Advised waiter and he spoke with manager, however the manager never came over to speak with us. Poor customer service. Maybe this is why the restaurant was not at all busy. Several other restaurants in the area with great views and good food to visit.
.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 603hapytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLust, Owner at Dock Side Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am happy to know you have enjoyed your previous visits to the Dockside Restaurant and you are indeed correct the view of York Harbor and all its nautical activities is unbeatable.

I am distraught at the average food quality you received on your most recent visit, we strive for excellence in our food quality and by all accounts do a good job of it, clearly we were not at our best that day.I apologize and hope you will visit again, I'm confident you will enjoy your lunch experience.

All the best....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner at the Dockside and everything was great.

The food and drinks were delicious and reasonably priced.

The restaurant is a very comfortable setting with great views even from inside. It was too cool to sit outside the night we were there, but that could have only made it better.

On a one night stop in Maine, this was the ideal place for dinner.

Thank jmarcincavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLust, Owner at Dock Side Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for having dinner with us at the Dockside Restaurant and we are very pleased you enjoyed your dining experience. The staff of the Dockside is a very conscientious group of hard working men and women giving their best so all our diners enjoy their meals at the Dockside.

All the best...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

On a nice evening you can dine on the screened porch and look out over York Harbor. It's really a delightful, relaxing place to eat. The food is good. The wine list is pretty sparse. But be prepared for a leasurely evening because the service is SLOW. It took us two hours to dine last night and that's without coffee or dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 58313Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLust, Owner at Dock Side Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for dining with us to celebrate the 4th of July, one of the busiest tourist days of the year in Maine. We are equally happy to hear you enjoyed your meal too, Chef La Plante and his culinary crew make every portion of your dinner from scratch, no processed anything appears on a Dockside Plate.

As you mentioned the screened porch is a lovely place to relax and enjoy all the nautical activity people enjoy on a summers evening of what could be the prettiest harbor in Maine. For those of you who would like to dine on our screened porch, a reservation will be necessary; we have seatings, 6:00pm and 8:00pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dock Side Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dock Side Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing